Scheduled Maintenance: We are aware of an issue with Google, AOL, and Yahoo services as email providers which are blocking new registrations. We are trying to fix the issue and we have several internal and external support tickets in process to resolve the issue. Please see: viewtopic.php?t=158230

new debian user

Here you can discuss every aspect of Debian. Note: not for support requests!
dmartinsca

new debian user

#1 Post by dmartinsca »

Hi everyone!:mrgreen:

I've been using linux on and off for about 4 years now, starting with redhat, then mandrake. I tried to install debian about 3 years ago and failed.

Most recently i've been running gentoo but felt i needed to try out some other options so after doing some reading i backed everything up with tar, stored it on a second hard drive, and partitioned to make room for debian as well as a dedicated /home partition so i could share config files between gentoo and debian.

I went with the net install option (just the kernel image and a compressed root filesystem) sice i already had a bootloader. The install went perfectly! I've been working on getting everything working for a couple of days now and I have to say that i'm pleased with how everything is going! 8)

I've updated the kernel to 2.6.15 to remove the extra bulk I didn't need, got alsa and my nvidia card working, and setup udev (if you can call installing the package, purging hotplug and rebooting "setup").

I've been using aptitude to manage packages as that's what the reference material suggests and i'm happy with how it works too. So far, so good. I only wish i had tried harder to get this distro working last time i tried to install it. My knowledge of linux was quite a bit less at that point tho ;)

I have to say, the documetation does seem a little dated in some places, and i hope i can contribute to the process of bringing things up to date once i've found my way around.

Cheers!

Dan

Humbletech99

#2 Post by Humbletech99 »