Why do you use debian?

Here you can discuss every aspect of Debian. Note: not for support requests!

Re: Why do you use debian?

Postby cagehooper47 » 2020-06-18 12:08

Personally I'm old school and I like to keep my old hardware running until it's final post fault. I even had a IBM thinkcenter you had to hit in order to get it to boot (failing cpu R.I.P. :( ) I did my first Debian test install back in 1998. And ran with Mandrake for a couple years until I came back to debian. I prefer the control and configurability of Debian. And the ease of package management. Though in recent years I have been soured on Linux in general due to the desktop turmoil. I used to like to tinker under the hood but now i prefer stuff to "just work" It took a while to get settled again but Debian Buster with Cinnamon is a nice fit. Having been an old KDE fanatic in the pre-rewrite days (3.5) With different stage machines (one still runnning Win98) I like having a way to keep that old crap still functional. Though as they get older their usage gets less and less. Even my Winxp box is relegated to old games and the such. But Debian has always provided the tools I needed for my main machine work. (Big Box: Win7/Buster 10.3 dual boot)
cagehooper47
 
Posts: 6
Joined: 2019-09-11 00:21

Re: Why do you use debian?

Postby sleepy possum » 2020-06-19 09:56

I'm using Debian because;
Mycroft AI has a number of useful skills that are specifically written for Debian (and only ) Debian and for KDE Plasma - which Debian runs.

And an elderly relative has gone blind (legally) and using the telephone to help them get Teamviewer open on their computer so I can open a specific movie / video / screen reader pdf / audio file for them has grown more and more difficult.

Them saying "Hey Mycroft, open Teamviewer" and me doing the necessaries is the goal.

If that expands to them saying "Hey Mycroft, play Mozart's Horn Concerto". then even better.
sleepy possum
 
Posts: 4
Joined: 2020-06-18 04:23

Re: Why do you use debian?

Postby oswaldkelso » 2020-06-19 10:50

sleepy possum wrote:I'm using Debian because;
Mycroft AI has a number of useful skills that are specifically written for Debian (and only ) Debian and for KDE Plasma - which Debian runs.

And an elderly relative has gone blind (legally) and using the telephone to help them get Teamviewer open on their computer so I can open a specific movie / video / screen reader pdf / audio file for them has grown more and more difficult.

Them saying "Hey Mycroft, open Teamviewer" and me doing the necessaries is the goal.

If that expands to them saying "Hey Mycroft, play Mozart's Horn Concerto". then even better.


Why not use fittstool https://github.com/jeanCarloMachado/fittstool to give your relative hotspots with sound hints. Point the mouse and it speaks to say the hotspot name. e.g internet or files then they just need to learn which mouse button to press. e.g left mouse button under internet is browser. Once clicked it says "browser"

I set this up for people with poor sight in dragora the config is here if it's of any use. https://paste.debian.net/hidden/889dd3b8/

here's a clip of how it works with notifiers rather than sound but the principle is the same you just edit the config.
https://invidio.us/watch?v=-oYH9gsNqFc

If you want to know more start a new thread or pm me
Ash init durbatulûk, ash init gimbatul,
Ash init thrakatulûk agh burzum-ishi krimpatul.
User avatar
oswaldkelso
 
Posts: 1249
Joined: 2005-07-26 23:20
Location: UK

Re: Why do you use debian?

Postby sleepy possum » 2020-06-19 11:15

oswaldkelso wrote: ... use fittstool https://github.com/jeanCarloMachado/fittstool to give your relative hotspots with sound hints. Point the mouse and it speaks to say the hotspot name. e.g internet or files then they just need to learn which mouse button to press. e.g left mouse button under internet is browser. Once clicked it says "browser"

I set this up for people with poor sight in dragora the config is here if it's of any use. https://paste.debian.net/hidden/889dd3b8/

here's a clip of how it works with notifiers rather than sound but the principle is the same you just edit the config.
https://invidio.us/watch?v=-oYH9gsNqFc

If you want to know more start a new thread or pm me


Thanks for that info and the offer of more - that might be useful - it sounds like a nice simple version of NVDA that is (a) usable on Linux, (b) confined to the desktop.

I'll have a closer look at it after (if) I get Mycroft running (or fail).
I saw the shopping list for an enterprise level development computer to run Mycroft on, that's $20K, without adding Intel's latest $20K tensor processor.
So I'll be running Mycroft on hardware worth $19,700 less than enterprise level - it might not perform as well as I want.

Running fittstool and Mycroft together could be a possibility.
sleepy possum
 
Posts: 4
Joined: 2020-06-18 04:23

Previous

Return to General Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests

fashionable