WOO HOO !!! Xfce 4.8 just landed in Sid.

Here you can discuss every aspect of Debian. Note: not for support requests!

Re: WOO HOO !!! Xfce 4.8 just landed in Sid.

Postby wayne128 » 2011-04-21 00:20

[quote="eriefisher"

What version of thunar do you have? I don't see any network "thingy" in version 1.2.1.[/quote]

Same as you, my Thunar version is 1.2.1 and there is no network icon as like in other distros on xfce4.8
wayne128
 
Posts: 89
Joined: 2011-03-30 15:16

Re: WOO HOO !!! Xfce 4.8 just landed in Sid.

Postby gradinaruvasile » 2011-04-21 01:51

eriefisher wrote:
bohu wrote:This new network thingy in Thunar removes a big obstacle to adoption of XFCE, especially on employee workstations. Makes me wonder how many businesses will go to XFCE 4.8 to avoid the learning curve with Gnome3.


What version of thunar do you have? I don't see any network "thingy" in version 1.2.1.


The ability to open/mount via gvfs smb://, sftp://, etc type of locations.
I have the network icon. But i compiled everything from source (as some packages are not yet available or they still have conflicts).
Last edited by gradinaruvasile on 2011-04-21 02:10, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
gradinaruvasile
 
Posts: 935
Joined: 2010-01-31 22:03
Location: Cluj, Romania

Re: WOO HOO !!! Xfce 4.8 just landed in Sid.

Postby eriefisher » 2011-04-21 02:06

Won't accept those protocols. What version do you have?
____________________________________________
There's a manual?
Siduction
Debian Sid
Xfce4 4.14
User avatar
eriefisher
 
Posts: 130
Joined: 2008-06-04 03:49
Location: Ontario's South Coast

Re: WOO HOO !!! Xfce 4.8 just landed in Sid.

Postby gradinaruvasile » 2011-04-21 02:15

Version 1.2.0. Compiled from the sources from the xfce site:
http://files.myopera.com/gradinaruvasile/Public/2011-04-21-051208_1280x1024_scrot.png
User avatar
gradinaruvasile
 
Posts: 935
Joined: 2010-01-31 22:03
Location: Cluj, Romania

Re: WOO HOO !!! Xfce 4.8 just landed in Sid.

Postby bohu » 2011-04-21 05:59

I have 1.2.1 and there is a network icon at the bottom of the file tree.
---------- NRA certified pistol instructor, linux advocate, bookworm, pitbull enthusiast ----------
User avatar
bohu
 
Posts: 83
Joined: 2005-12-27 22:35
Location: Southwest Missouri, near Branson

Re: WOO HOO !!! Xfce 4.8 just landed in Sid.

Postby bohu » 2011-04-21 16:04

hmm...

I can't shutdown or reboot from my user account. I must log in as root and then shutdown. I wonder if this will fix itself in a future update or do I need to go modify some permission thing somewhere.
---------- NRA certified pistol instructor, linux advocate, bookworm, pitbull enthusiast ----------
User avatar
bohu
 
Posts: 83
Joined: 2005-12-27 22:35
Location: Southwest Missouri, near Branson

Re: WOO HOO !!! Xfce 4.8 just landed in Sid.

Postby gradinaruvasile » 2011-04-21 16:22

bohu wrote:hmm...

I can't shutdown or reboot from my user account. I must log in as root and then shutdown. I wonder if this will fix itself in a future update or do I need to go modify some permission thing somewhere.


You use Xdm or Slim or anything else than gdm?

Because i tried them all and gdm3 is the only one that sets the policykit permissions right on login.
There was some discussion on this topic somewhere on a xfce list but the solution offered there did not work for me.

So, install gdm and it will work.
User avatar
gradinaruvasile
 
Posts: 935
Joined: 2010-01-31 22:03
Location: Cluj, Romania

Re: WOO HOO !!! Xfce 4.8 just landed in Sid.

Postby bohu » 2011-04-21 17:52

Interesting. I will dig around in the docs for Slim and see if I can work this out.
---------- NRA certified pistol instructor, linux advocate, bookworm, pitbull enthusiast ----------
User avatar
bohu
 
Posts: 83
Joined: 2005-12-27 22:35
Location: Southwest Missouri, near Branson

Re: WOO HOO !!! Xfce 4.8 just landed in Sid.

Postby demosthenese » 2011-04-21 17:57

bohu wrote:Interesting. I will dig around in the docs for Slim and see if I can work this out.


If you work it out post a solution. :D I switched from slim to gdm3 to reenable the laptop power functions and shutdown options but would prefer to use slim.
User avatar
demosthenese
 
Posts: 168
Joined: 2009-07-12 14:39
Location: Liverpool, UK

Re: WOO HOO !!! Xfce 4.8 just landed in Sid.

Postby bohu » 2011-04-21 18:08

Several possible solutions here:

http://forum.xfce.org/viewtopic.php?pid=21331#p21331

you add this line to /etc/sudoers

bohu linux.net = NOPASSWD: /usr/sbin/xfsm-shutdown-helper

in the above example, bohu is my username and linux.net is my hostname. If you did not set a custom hostname at install time, your hostname is probably localhost.

also in your 'session and startup' dialog make sure 'prompt on logout' is checked.

gonna try these and see if they work for me.
---------- NRA certified pistol instructor, linux advocate, bookworm, pitbull enthusiast ----------
User avatar
bohu
 
Posts: 83
Joined: 2005-12-27 22:35
Location: Southwest Missouri, near Branson

Re: WOO HOO !!! Xfce 4.8 just landed in Sid.

Postby bohu » 2011-04-21 18:18

editing sudoers did not work. Going off to RTFM some more. Will post the solution if I find it.

BTW, I did discover that you can reboot or shutdown from the login screen with SLiM. Type 'reboot' or 'halt' in the username box and then give root password.
---------- NRA certified pistol instructor, linux advocate, bookworm, pitbull enthusiast ----------
User avatar
bohu
 
Posts: 83
Joined: 2005-12-27 22:35
Location: Southwest Missouri, near Branson

Re: WOO HOO !!! Xfce 4.8 just landed in Sid.

Postby demosthenese » 2011-04-21 22:40

The real inconvenience with slim for me was the lack of suspend when closing the laptop lid.
User avatar
demosthenese
 
Posts: 168
Joined: 2009-07-12 14:39
Location: Liverpool, UK

Re: WOO HOO !!! Xfce 4.8 just landed in Sid.

Postby gradinaruvasile » 2011-04-22 08:19

demosthenese wrote:The real inconvenience with slim for me was the lack of suspend when closing the laptop lid.


See here:

viewtopic.php?f=6&t=52565

Here is a working solution of bypassing power-manager + policykit for suspend/hibernate.
It works by altering the acpi event handler scripts to execute directly pm-suspend/hibernate/whatever when an event (powerbutton/lid/whatever) occurs. I have it working on my desktop (works with slim/xdm/without dm too where i have no suspend/hibernate from the logout menu) - the example given is for power button, but if you modify the trigger script for lid (/etc/acpi/events/lidbtn) to execute the same script as the power button it should work.
User avatar
gradinaruvasile
 
Posts: 935
Joined: 2010-01-31 22:03
Location: Cluj, Romania

Re: WOO HOO !!! Xfce 4.8 just landed in Sid.

Postby cynwulf » 2011-04-22 09:32

I noticed this as well, for the moment, I'm logging out and shutting down from tty with sudo. I've tried slim and still had the same problem and there is no way I'm installing gdm.
cynwulf
 
Posts: 2396
Joined: 2008-09-25 08:49

Re: WOO HOO !!! Xfce 4.8 just landed in Sid.

Postby Muhv » 2011-04-22 10:47

Hey! Just upgraded testing branch and no problems what so ever. But why is it that distrowatch refers to version 4.8.0 in red, but not 4.8.1? Also why is ver 4.6.2 still in the about xfce option?
Muhv
 
Posts: 20
Joined: 2011-02-19 07:55
Location: Estonia, Tallinn

PreviousNext

Return to General Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 13 guests

fashionable