Page 4 of 6

Re: WOO HOO !!! Xfce 4.8 just landed in Sid.

PostPosted: 2011-04-24 10:16
by gradinaruvasile
bohu wrote:emariz is right. Consolekit is the culprit.

1) Using synaptic, remove consolekit. On my system this also removed policykit-1, policykit-1-gnome, gconf-editor, and hplip. I don't know what would happen if you reboot while these files are missing so don't reboot!

2) Switch to Debian Stable (squeeze) repository and reinstall consolekit and then lock it at that version. In the synaptic menu, Package>Lock_Version.

3) Switch to wheezy repo and reinstall policykit-1 and policykit-1-gnome.

4) Go back to sid repo and then reboot.


It can be done from the command line by:
Code: Select all
aptitude install consolekit=0.4.1-4

provided that you have the squeeze repos added.

Also, the package can be pinned in the /etc/apt/preferences file:

Code: Select all
Package: consolekit
Pin: release v=0.4.1-4
Pin-Priority: 999

Re: WOO HOO !!! Xfce 4.8 just landed in Sid.

PostPosted: 2011-04-25 19:30
by Muhv
Speaking of policykit, I get this error when trying to access usb memorystick from desktop:

Code: Select all
GDBus.Error:org.freedesktop.DBus.Error.ServiceUnknown: The name org.freedesktop.PolicyKit1 was not provided by any .service files


The old-fashion way trough terminal works just fine, but not the easy way. Any ideas?

Re: WOO HOO !!! Xfce 4.8 just landed in Sid.

PostPosted: 2011-04-26 12:15
by gradinaruvasile
Muhv wrote:Speaking of policykit, I get this error when trying to access usb memorystick from desktop:

Code: Select all
GDBus.Error:org.freedesktop.DBus.Error.ServiceUnknown: The name org.freedesktop.PolicyKit1 was not provided by any .service files


The old-fashion way trough terminal works just fine, but not the easy way. Any ideas?


aptitude install consolekit=0.4.1-4

That one works well. Tried on 2 computers that use xdm, both mount usb stuff, have hibernate/suspend etc. With the testing version (0.4.4-1) they do not.

BTW the power manager is broken on both my computers, it does not react to powerbutton or lid events (interesting it worked on my laptop a few times, but then complete ignorance). Anyway, i hardwired both the lid and power button events to the sleep function and works perfectly since then (even locking the screen with xscreensaver), bypassing power-manager. On my laptop power-manager became a battery status monitoring applet since no other "power" functions work reliably.

Re: WOO HOO !!! Xfce 4.8 just landed in Sid.

PostPosted: 2011-04-26 17:09
by murr4y
Hi,

I just installed Xfce 4.8, it seems to work.
However the transparency option for the panel is missing. (xfce4-panel 4.8.3)

Do I have to push some magical buttons? :)

Re: WOO HOO !!! Xfce 4.8 just landed in Sid.

PostPosted: 2011-04-26 17:28
by nadir
murr4y wrote:Hi,

I just installed Xfce 4.8, it seems to work.
However the transparency option for the panel is missing. (xfce4-panel 4.8.3)

Do I have to push some magical buttons? :)

It works here.
I do: settings -> panel -> appearance -> opacity.
I use compiz. You have got:
settings -> window-manager-tweaks -> compositor
enabled?
(assuming that is necessary, not sure).

Re: WOO HOO !!! Xfce 4.8 just landed in Sid.

PostPosted: 2011-04-26 17:31
by murr4y
settings -> window-manager-tweaks -> compositor
enabled?


Ahh, that did the trick, thanks! Should have thought of that by myself ;)

Re: WOO HOO !!! Xfce 4.8 just landed in Sid.

PostPosted: 2011-04-26 19:59
by gradinaruvasile
Unfortunately this compositor is software only, it is nothing like compiz or the like.
The problem with it is that makes movie playback tear (vdpau and xv) and sometimes slow down my desktop considerably when i resize vdpau windows. So its a no-go for me.

BTW i had that same power manager issue on my laptop - after a while no power button or lid events reached the power-manager. I modified the acpi events just as i did on my desktop and now they work.

Re: WOO HOO !!! Xfce 4.8 just landed in Sid.

PostPosted: 2011-04-27 11:43
by Muhv
gradinaruvasile wrote:
aptitude install consolekit=0.4.1-4



Well, thats kinda strange. I mean, does everybody else who uses 4.8 hade to downgrade their consolekit in order to get mount function to work?

Re: WOO HOO !!! Xfce 4.8 just landed in Sid.

PostPosted: 2011-04-27 14:14
by bohu
Muhv wrote:
gradinaruvasile wrote:
aptitude install consolekit=0.4.1-4



Well, thats kinda strange. I mean, does everybody else who uses 4.8 hade to downgrade their consolekit in order to get mount function to work?


No, just those running Slim instead of GDM. I don't understand all the details but it seems the current version of SLiM requires that version of consolekit. Upgrading to Sid will upgrade consolekit but not slim and that breaks the reboot/shutdown functions for regular users. Eventually, slim will be upgraded and this issue will work itself out.

Just one of the many joys of running sid. You get frequent breakage. And this is exactly what Sid is for - to catch this stuff and fix it before moving stuff down to testing (Wheezy). If you stick to Wheezy you probably wont be affected by the consolekit problem.

Re: WOO HOO !!! Xfce 4.8 just landed in Sid.

PostPosted: 2011-04-27 15:27
by gradinaruvasile
bohu wrote: If you stick to Wheezy you probably wont be affected by the consolekit problem.


Wrong. I have Wheezy and i had this issue with xdm on 2 computers.

Re: WOO HOO !!! Xfce 4.8 just landed in Sid.

PostPosted: 2011-04-27 15:30
by Muhv
In my case - their's no slim or gdm installed. Just plain nodm to get X running. There can't be much options what the problem should be. Most likely missing some silly single package or something. Have to hope then when 4.8 hits testing, the mount issue will resolve by itself. :P

Re: WOO HOO !!! Xfce 4.8 just landed in Sid.

PostPosted: 2011-04-27 15:34
by emariz
bohu wrote:And this is exactly what Sid is for - to catch this stuff and fix it before moving stuff down to testing (Wheezy). If you stick to Wheezy you probably wont be affected by the consolekit problem.

As of early March, Testing users are also affected. It affects users who don't use a graphical login manager (or use a basic login manager, like Slim). It's more a policy change in ConsoleKit (1) than a bug, yet it affects basic tasks of many users.


1. http://bugs.debian.org/cgi-bin/bugrepor ... =597937#49

Re: WOO HOO !!! Xfce 4.8 just landed in Sid.

PostPosted: 2011-04-27 15:38
by gradinaruvasile
gradinaruvasile wrote:
bohu wrote: If you stick to Wheezy you probably wont be affected by the consolekit problem.


Wrong. I have Wheezy and i had this issue with xdm on both my computers.

Re: WOO HOO !!! Xfce 4.8 just landed in Sid.

PostPosted: 2011-04-27 15:56
by Muhv
emariz wrote:As of early March, Testing users are also affected. It affects users who don't use a graphical login manager (or use a basic login manager, like Slim). It's more a policy change in ConsoleKit (1) than a bug, yet it affects basic tasks of many users.


1. http://bugs.debian.org/cgi-bin/bugrepor ... =597937#49


Oh man. That's just great. Way to go consolekit development team! Let's go and mess perfectly working things up. Nevertheless, I like to believe that there's a reasonable cause. Oh well, just have to grab from stable repo the older and decent version of consolekit.

Re: WOO HOO !!! Xfce 4.8 just landed in Sid.

PostPosted: 2011-04-27 16:18
by bugsbunny
For those with the problem - instead of gpoing to an older version of consolekit (which is counterproductive in the long run, since consolekit is apparently not going to be changed) do you have libpam-ck-connector installed? If not does installing it solve the problem? (It's a recommends of consolekit, so if you don't install recommends you may not have it installed)