WOO HOO !!! Xfce 4.8 just landed in Sid.

Here you can discuss every aspect of Debian. Note: not for support requests!

Re: WOO HOO !!! Xfce 4.8 just landed in Sid.

Postby gradinaruvasile » 2011-06-04 20:53

Dammit... I dont know what happened, but i had to reboot because of a read/write error (caused, it seems, by the power management deatures i used for the SATA controller) and since then this didnt work anymore. So, back to downgrading consolekit (which works)....

Edit: I upgraded consolekit again and it is working even after reboots.
Last edited by gradinaruvasile on 2011-06-12 13:42, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
gradinaruvasile
 
Posts: 935
Joined: 2010-01-31 22:03
Location: Cluj, Romania

Re: WOO HOO !!! Xfce 4.8 just landed in Sid.

Postby cynwulf » 2011-06-04 21:11

Tried every method so far except for downgrading consolekit - all that works for me is installing gdm3. xdm and slim make no difference.

Tried this as well: http://forum.xfce.org/viewtopic.php?id=6007
cynwulf
 
Posts: 2396
Joined: 2008-09-25 08:49

Re: WOO HOO !!! Xfce 4.8 just landed in Sid.

Postby emariz » 2011-06-12 12:52

gradinaruvasile wrote:Found a solution. And it works!
1. edit the /etc/pam.d/common-session file (root rights, of course)
2. After the
Code: Select all
session   required   pam_unix.so

line insert the following line:
Code: Select all
session optional        pam_loginuid.so

logout then log in.

I had also seen the solution here: http://bugs.debian.org/cgi-bin/bugrepor ... =597937#71
Anyway, thanks for posting it here. I tried it last night in a new Testing installation and it solved this annoying ConsoleKit's bug. I had lost my faith and thought that I would need to continue using the version from Squeeze or to install GDM.
emariz
 
Posts: 2904
Joined: 2008-10-17 07:59

Re: WOO HOO !!! Xfce 4.8 just landed in Sid.

Postby jeffreyC » 2011-07-20 00:44

Still does not work for me, only consolekit from stable.
Edited the /etc/pam.d/common-session file, upgraded to consolekit 0.4.5-1 after reboot could not mount USB and no shutdown or reboot only logout.
Reverted to consolekit 0.4.1-4, USBs mount, shutdown and reboot work.
You must learn from the mistakes of others. You can't possibly live long enough to make them all yourself.
Sam Levenson
jeffreyC
 
Posts: 13
Joined: 2010-10-15 17:43

Re: WOO HOO !!! Xfce 4.8 just landed in Sid.

Postby gradinaruvasile » 2011-07-20 06:46

There is another workaround to this issue:

in the

Code: Select all
/usr/share/polkit-1/actions


folder you have the consolekit (reboot etc rights), udisks (mount/unmount/filesystems) etc policy files.
The idea is that in the udisks policy file you have sections related to certain actions. For example:

Code: Select all
<action id="org.freedesktop.udisks.drive-set-spindown">
    <description>Set drive spindown timeout</description>
    <description xml:lang="de">Laufwerks-Zeitabschaltung setzen</description>
    <message>Authentication is required to configure drive spindown timeout</message>
    <message xml:lang="de">Zugriffsrechte werden benötigt um die Laufwerks-Zeitabschaltung zu konfigurieren</message>
    <defaults>
      <allow_any>yes</allow_any>
      <allow_inactive>no</allow_inactive>
      <allow_active>yes</allow_active>
    </defaults>
  </action>


Now here you see the allow_ lines - those specify what status has the user that can do that action - by default only the active users are allowed to do stuff.
For some reason on my comp (xfce, xdm) i can see my user as active, but it has still denied the rights to mount stuff despite the fact that udisks from terminal works.
So i modified the allow_any values to the EXACT value of the allow_active ones (the value is the one between the >< signs, it can be yes, no, auth_admin, auth_admin_keep). Now everything works.
After the changes are saved, you have to kill the /usr/lib/policykit-1/polkitd process with

Code: Select all
killall /usr/lib/policykit-1/polkitd


All modifications and process killing is done with root privileges of course.
I have the latest consolekit installed and no modification in the /etc/pam.d/common-session file (that workaround was kinda iffy, sometimes it worked sometimes not).
User avatar
gradinaruvasile
 
Posts: 935
Joined: 2010-01-31 22:03
Location: Cluj, Romania

Re: WOO HOO !!! Xfce 4.8 just landed in Sid.

Postby dust hill resident » 2011-11-30 06:59

I'm using wheezy on a 32bit computer, and I'm having this problem. I fixed it by installing the squeeze version of consolekit. But I haven't had the problem with my 64bit computer, which is also running wheezy. Does anyone know why that might be?
User avatar
dust hill resident
 
Posts: 238
Joined: 2007-05-18 13:31

Re: WOO HOO !!! Xfce 4.8 just landed in Sid.

Postby gradinaruvasile » 2011-11-30 10:29

dust hill resident wrote:I'm using wheezy on a 32bit computer, and I'm having this problem. I fixed it by installing the squeeze version of consolekit. But I haven't had the problem with my 64bit computer, which is also running wheezy. Does anyone know why that might be?


What display manager do you use? Are they the same on both computers?

BTW the consolekit downgrading might work for now but later you might encounter problems with it (certain packages built with the new consolekit dependencies).
User avatar
gradinaruvasile
 
Posts: 935
Joined: 2010-01-31 22:03
Location: Cluj, Romania

Re: WOO HOO !!! Xfce 4.8 just landed in Sid.

Postby dust hill resident » 2011-11-30 15:25

It's the same on both computers. I use startx and my .xinitrc contains this:
Code: Select all
exec ck-launch-session startxfce4
User avatar
dust hill resident
 
Posts: 238
Joined: 2007-05-18 13:31

Re: WOO HOO !!! Xfce 4.8 just landed in Sid.

Postby MoaTib » 2011-12-01 21:11

I start Xfce with startx and .xsession wich only contains:
Code: Select all
exec startxfce4


In /usr/share/doc/xfce4-session/README.Debian it's written:
* only use startx, without any argument
* don't use a .xinitrc, use .xsession
apt-get install braindump -t unstable

Stupid changes are not synonymous of useful progress.
MoaTib
 
Posts: 74
Joined: 2011-02-27 02:38

Re: WOO HOO !!! Xfce 4.8 just landed in Sid.

Postby dust hill resident » 2011-12-05 23:54

I wasn't aware of that. I changed my setup to use .xsession instead of .xinitrc, but I still seem to be having the same problem.
User avatar
dust hill resident
 
Posts: 238
Joined: 2007-05-18 13:31

Previous

Return to General Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 9 guests

fashionable