Page 1 of 6

WOO HOO !!! Xfce 4.8 just landed in Sid.

PostPosted: 2011-04-19 20:06
by bohu
XFCE 4.8 is finally in Debian Unstable.

http://packages.qa.debian.org/x/xfce4/n ... 5234Z.html

I would kiss the devs but they are too far away :-)

Re: WOO HOO !!! Xfce 4.8 just landed in Sid.

PostPosted: 2011-04-19 20:59
by vbrummond
Awesome! Thanks for the heads up.

Re: WOO HOO !!! Xfce 4.8 just landed in Sid.

PostPosted: 2011-04-20 00:26
by Magnusmaster
I updated sid. Xfce 4.8 works fine, but for some reason the applications menu button isn't in the taskbar and I can't find a way to put it back. There is an applications menu when you right-click the desktop, but it's uncomfortable as the apps menu is below anything else! I tried right-clicking the panel and choosing "Add New Item", but the Xfce Menu button is nowhere to be found!

Re: WOO HOO !!! Xfce 4.8 just landed in Sid.

PostPosted: 2011-04-20 00:45
by bohu
that's odd. Maybe they call it something else now? Or maybe that bit hasn't come down to Sid just yet? I will upgrade as well and see what happens.

Re: WOO HOO !!! Xfce 4.8 just landed in Sid.

PostPosted: 2011-04-20 01:17
by traveler
Running aptosid in a vbox for kicks and I don't see it yet. Maybe it's a German thing... :D
Tried it in another vbox in OpenSuse and it is definitely sweet.

Re: WOO HOO !!! Xfce 4.8 just landed in Sid.

PostPosted: 2011-04-20 02:54
by Magnusmaster
I guess they didn't add the Xfce menu panel for some reason. I'd like to file a bug report for this but I'm not sure in what package to file the bug report. Another thing that's broken is thunar-archive-plugin, so you can't right click and extract.

Re: WOO HOO !!! Xfce 4.8 just landed in Sid.

PostPosted: 2011-04-20 05:17
by mephjones
Just when I had given up hope, they go ahead and pull it off, the night before I go on vacation :) I will be testing this in a KVM while packing.

Re: WOO HOO !!! Xfce 4.8 just landed in Sid.

PostPosted: 2011-04-20 05:30
by bohu
I have a menu button on mine, so not sure what happened to your system. It is the third item in the 'add new items' dialog... Application Menu.

upgrading to xfce 4.8 caused gedit to be removed. Bummer. I'll use geany or mouspad until gedit returns.

Just noticed the weather plugin has dependency issues and is not yet included. No problem, I'll do without for a few days.

Re: WOO HOO !!! Xfce 4.8 just landed in Sid.

PostPosted: 2011-04-20 05:35
by bohu
This new network thingy in Thunar removes a big obstacle to adoption of XFCE, especially on employee workstations. Makes me wonder how many businesses will go to XFCE 4.8 to avoid the learning curve with Gnome3.

Re: WOO HOO !!! Xfce 4.8 just landed in Sid.

PostPosted: 2011-04-20 09:19
by secipolla
I upgraded last night but didn't log into Xfce yet. I would like to kow if it picks-up the 4.6 configs in home or if some folders will be just 'abandoned' there.

Re: WOO HOO !!! Xfce 4.8 just landed in Sid.

PostPosted: 2011-04-20 13:27
by gradinaruvasile
secipolla wrote:I upgraded last night but didn't log into Xfce yet. I would like to kow if it picks-up the 4.6 configs in home or if some folders will be just 'abandoned' there.


I think some of the configuration options were moved around. But anyways, if you did install it, why dont you try it...?

I tried xfce 4.8 a while ago, compiled the whole thing, including apps. It worked quite good (noticeable faster than gnome on an Athlon II 3.0 GHz machine), but i have one problem with it - the power button is not picked up by xfce4-power-manager and i cant suspend my desktop with it as i usually do.
Everything else works (including pm-suspend, suspend from the logout buttons menu) and it is just plain annoying. Sometimes it works, but only after a reboot and only once - after i wake the machine, it doesnt work again. Acpi picks up the button and it works perfectly well in gnome-power-manager.

Other than that it is pretty much Xfce4.6 with improvements - definitely the native gvfs network support + thunar's network support is one of the most visible changes. Thunars custom scripts work very well.
I still had to use gigolo for mount management - it is a different (than gnome/kde), but perfectly working solution, i have no problems with it (just put gigolo in the autostart and in the tray).
I also like the roll down "Directory Menu" - it is clearly inspired from lxpanel (or viceversa?).
And you can edit the menus now, only with gnome's alacarte, but that is a working solution finally.

Anyway i will use it when that irritating power button issue is solved or at least i have some working workaround... Anyone... :?

Re: WOO HOO !!! Xfce 4.8 just landed in Sid.

PostPosted: 2011-04-20 13:50
by bohu
secipolla wrote:I upgraded last night but didn't log into Xfce yet. I would like to kow if it picks-up the 4.6 configs in home or if some folders will be just 'abandoned' there.


I didn't have to reset anything and all my old settings were still there- single-click files, same fonts, same theme, same wallpaper, etc. Except for the panel, which is totally new. For that, they give the option of migrating old settings or taking default. I chose default panel and then customized from there, since a previous poster here had issues migrating panel settings.

Re: WOO HOO !!! Xfce 4.8 just landed in Sid.

PostPosted: 2011-04-20 13:51
by bohu
clipman and screenshooter came in last night. Looks like most of the pieces are in now. Only weather plugin and a few others are still missing.

Re: WOO HOO !!! Xfce 4.8 just landed in Sid.

PostPosted: 2011-04-20 15:01
by Magnusmaster
I have a menu button on mine, so not sure what happened to your system. It is the third item in the 'add new items' dialog... Application Menu.
Weird, it's not there at all.

Re: WOO HOO !!! Xfce 4.8 just landed in Sid.

PostPosted: 2011-04-20 22:06
by eriefisher
bohu wrote:This new network thingy in Thunar removes a big obstacle to adoption of XFCE, especially on employee workstations. Makes me wonder how many businesses will go to XFCE 4.8 to avoid the learning curve with Gnome3.


What version of thunar do you have? I don't see any network "thingy" in version 1.2.1.