Scheduled Maintenance: We are aware of an issue with Google, AOL, and Yahoo services as email providers which are blocking new registrations. We are trying to fix the issue and we have several internal and external support tickets in process to resolve the issue. Please see: viewtopic.php?t=158230

Nvidia users: Do you use the Free or the proprietary driver?

Here you can discuss every aspect of Debian. Note: not for support requests!

Do you use the nvidia driver, or the nouveau driver?

Nvidia
74%
Nouveau
26%

Total votes: 72

dust hill resident

Nvidia users: Do you use the Free or the proprietary driver?

#1 Post by dust hill resident »

Nvidia users, Do you use the Free/open source driver, or the proprietary one?

I've been using Nvidia cards since 2006, and up until a few days ago I had been using the proprietary drivers. This month I started having problems with suspend, and Nvidia's driver seemed to be the cause. So I decided to try the nouveau driver for the first time, and it's working well.
I have noticed that the performance isn't as good (lower framerates in minecraft for example), but it's certainly working well enough for my needs.

What have your experiences been?

roseway

Re: Nvidia users: Do you use the Free or the proprietary dri

#2 Post by roseway »

I use the proprietary driver at present, but not because I really need it. A recent conflict with Flash (people with blue faces) has made me consider again changing over to nouveau.
Eric

Bulkley

#3 Post by Bulkley »

Over many years I have gone through several video cards, Nvidia, ATI, whatever. A few years back I got fed up with proprietary drivers; they caused me too much trouble. I no longer use them. I'm sure there have been improvements but watching threads on this forum tells me that proprietary drivers are still problematic. The only advantage I can imagine of proprietary drivers is a slight edge when playing some 3D games.

julian516

#4 Post by julian516 »