Page 3 of 4

Re: Cinnamon 2 on Debian testing jessie

PostPosted: 2013-11-13 12:46
by nath
jube wrote:see which components of gnome-core you may be missing, obvious important ones are gconf/dconf gvfs, the gtk,s gnome-pannel, terminal, etc


The following important packages were missing: gtk2-engines gvfs-bin dconf-tools network-manager-gnome gstreamer1.0-pulseaudio gnome-terminal, so I installed them and tried to login... same issues.

I also installed jdk7 and jre, although I don't think those are required for a bare-bones Cinnamon. And I verified libpam-modules-bin which was suggested on Linux Mint forums but was already installed anyway.

Finally out of curiosity i also tried installing these (also missing among the other gnome-* stuff): gnome-packagekit gnome-power-manager gnome-control-center, but nothing changed so I removed them.

Of course i rebooted each time, verified installation of packages, etc. Don't know what to think... as I said, installing it is clearly not my thing :lol:

Re: Cinnamon 2 on Debian testing jessie

PostPosted: 2013-11-13 13:32
by jube
right damn it !!!

First no you are doing great, you obviously know what you are doing and have set up a system many times, so no more beating youself up :)
Im curious enough to find out to, im going to set up everything on a vm tonight and will give you a definate answer tommorrow.
I will do exactly as you, ie sid from scratch, and see what i get :)
will post in 12 hours with solution one way or other

Re: Cinnamon 2 on Debian testing jessie

PostPosted: 2013-11-13 13:37
by jube
ledzgio wrote:@Jube
Why your release-builds are now for sid? do you think is better to use testing or sid?

thanks


much better using testing, its just that new nvidia drivers and cuda are late in testing and i need them, plus upstream are really really current
even sid is often to old ( as is the case for a few nemo-extensions ) so have been forced to sid ( with gun to head )
I have not been building for the other distros untill there is a lot more demand, if loads of people request a testing or kali set
will do a run, but not till then

Re: Cinnamon 2 on Debian testing jessie

PostPosted: 2013-11-13 16:30
by nath
jube wrote:I will do exactly as you, ie sid from scratch, and see what i get :)
will post in 12 hours with solution one way or other


Thanks :D

BTW this is the iso I have used (netinst): http://cdimage.debian.org/debian-cd/7.2 ... etinst.iso

Re: Cinnamon 2 on Debian testing jessie

PostPosted: 2013-11-13 17:27
by jube
ok quick check before i go exploring your prob, this is the package order you should be installing in, you anywhere near this?
have you got em all (debugs and devel not essential)

dpkg -i cinnamon-translations_2.0.2-sid_all.deb
dpkg -i cinnamon-desktop-data_2.0.3-sid_all.deb
dpkg -i libcinnamon-desktop0_2.0.3-sid_amd64.deb
dpkg -i libcinnamon-desktop-dev_2.0.3-sid_amd64.deb
dpkg -i gir1.2-cinnamondesktop-3.0_2.0.3-sid_amd64.deb
dpkg -i cjs_2.0.0-sid_amd64.deb
dpkg -i libcjs0c_2.0.0-sid_amd64.deb
dpkg -i libcjs-dev_2.0.0-sid_amd64.deb
dpkg -i nemo-data_2.0.6-sid_all.deb
dpkg -i cinnamon-settings-daemon_2.0.7-sid_amd64.deb
dpkg -i cinnamon-settings-daemon-dev_2.0.7-sid_amd64.deb
dpkg -i cinnamon-session_2.0.5-sid_amd64.deb
dpkg -i cinnamon-session-common_2.0.5-sid_all.deb
dpkg -i muffin-common_2.0.4-sid_all.deb
dpkg -i muffin_2.0.4-sid_amd64.deb
dpkg -i muffin-dbg_2.0.4-sid_amd64.deb
dpkg -i libmuffin0_2.0.4-sid_amd64.deb
dpkg -i libmuffin-dev_2.0.4-sid_amd64.deb
dpkg -i gir1.2-muffin-3.0_2.0.4-sid_amd64.deb
dpkg -i cinnamon-control-center-data_2.0.8-sid_all.deb
dpkg -i cinnamon-common_2.0.12-sid_all.deb
dpkg -i cinnamon_2.0.12-sid_amd64.deb
dpkg -i cinnamon-dbg_2.0.12-sid_amd64.deb
dpkg -i cinnamon-control-center_2.0.8-sid_amd64.deb
dpkg -i libcinnamon-control-center1_2.0.8-sid_amd64.deb
dpkg -i libcinnamon-control-center-dev_2.0.8-sid_amd64.deb
dpkg -i nemo_2.0.6-sid_amd64.deb
dpkg -i nemo-dbg_2.0.6-sid_amd64.deb
dpkg -i libnemo-extension1_2.0.6-sid_amd64.deb
dpkg -i libnemo-extension-dev_2.0.6-sid_amd64.deb
dpkg -i gir1.2-nemo-3.0_2.0.6-sid_amd64.deb
dpkg -i cinnamon-bluetooth_3.8.2-sid_amd64.deb
dpkg -i cinnamon-screensaver_2.0.3-sid_amd64.deb

Re: Cinnamon 2 on Debian testing jessie

PostPosted: 2013-11-14 01:11
by jube
nath wrote:
jube wrote:I will do exactly as you, ie sid from scratch, and see what i get :)
will post in 12 hours with solution one way or other


Thanks :D

BTW this is the iso I have used (netinst): http://cdimage.debian.org/debian-cd/7.2 ... etinst.iso


Right just loaded the immage from this disk link http://cdimage.debian.org/debian-cd/7.2 ... etinst.iso

and that link is wheezy! my packages are for sid, did you upgrade to sid or something ?????

Now im here anyway will test the deb-install script i made for you :)

edit...... ok think thats your problem, can you try with sid? there is a install from deb script, totally untested unfortunatly :)

Re: Cinnamon 2 on Debian testing jessie

PostPosted: 2013-11-14 06:03
by nath
jube wrote:Right just loaded the immage from this disk link http://cdimage.debian.org/debian-cd/7.2 ... etinst.iso
and that link is wheezy! my packages are for sid, did you upgrade to sid or something ?????


I forgot to say you have to choose expert install from the menu, then it asks which repo you want to use: stable, testing or unstable.

As for the packages, I simply downloaded ALL the debs available in your git (recent build, i verified i have everything you have listed in your post), then dpkg -i *.deb and finally apt-get install -f

Re: Cinnamon 2 on Debian testing jessie

PostPosted: 2013-11-14 12:51
by jube
ah ok :)
back on it then :)
will post later with results, thanks.
( wow things have changed with the install medium, last i remember one had to have a sepperate install
disk for testing/unstable, its nice to se it all integrated)

Re: Cinnamon 2 on Debian testing jessie

PostPosted: 2013-11-14 14:47
by jube
Right looking at a perfectly running cinnamon setup on my vm.

Yes your problem was the method of installing the debs,

apt-get install -f

pulls in gnome-settings deamon and session and a bunch of stuff you dont want.
# on tasksel chose laptop and standard utils
#apt-get install git
#git clone "git://github.com/Jubei-Mitsuyoshi/debian-public-packages.git"
#cd debian-public-packages
#./aaa-install-cinnamon-from-deb
what i did was run the new install script a few times ( was testing ), obviously building up lots of broken deps,

then apt-get install -f

which pulled in lots of deps for me, but at same time pulled in stuff did not want

then aptitude>gnome-core and cleaned out gnome settings de, session, gnome control panel etc ( everything thats already covered by cinnamon)

ran ./aaa-install-cinnamon-from-deb again

and it all went in, startx then am in, i cant find any of the faults you mentioned,
everything works ok, even software rendering mode great

please note i am in middle of modding ./aaa-install-cinnamon-from-deb again to use gdebi and get round the dep nightmare :)

Re: Cinnamon 2 on Debian testing jessie

PostPosted: 2013-11-14 15:15
by nath
jube wrote:please note i am in middle of modding ./aaa-install-cinnamon-from-deb again to use gdebi and get round the dep nightmare :)


Great news then, I'll wait for the updated script and use that to make sure my apt "karma" doesn't get in the way :)

Re: Cinnamon 2 on Debian testing jessie

PostPosted: 2013-11-15 18:26
by nath
Jube,
I've decided to try your build scripts again and I'm happy to report that they work fine on a freshly installed sid (I must have done something wrong with the configuration file the first time). The only minor issue I had has to do with aaa-setup-tmpfs, it failed when trying to do "apt-get install wget pbuilder reprepro cat grep" because cat is not a valid package name. So I manually run apt-get (removing "cat" from the list, it's already installed anyway). Also, I had to install curl.

Currently I have successfully built most packages but the Mint github paths must have changed, so the script fails e.g. when trying to get https://github.com/linuxmint/cinnamon-themes/archive/ Any suggestion on how to fix this, and can it resume the building process from here or must I start all over?

Thanks so much for your work! :)

Re: Cinnamon 2 on Debian testing jessie

PostPosted: 2013-11-16 15:45
by nath
jube wrote:There is one regression i am looking at tho, eariler versions of cinnamon seem to render a lot better, ie higher apparent resolution for a given display ( ie 1920x1080)
And new X stack is not taking custom DPI arguments, there is something UP!!! with messa/x/gtk3 and its really pissing me off, if you dual booting with windows 7
its really clear, windows is puttting 1/3 more data on the screen, thats cos its using the correct DPI for this high DPI screen.


Have you found any clue as to the issue? Do you know if this happens in other distros, e.g. Kali?

Re: Cinnamon 2 on Debian testing jessie

PostPosted: 2013-11-16 16:41
by jube
yea i think the themes are being dropped, last time i saw it only contained mint and default, will check, i am no longer maintaining the git script, the releases are just a few days away from the git commits, and a lot cleaner, given that seems no point in building from git, the relese script has had a lot of improvements and bug squashing.
Its GREAT you are using the build scripts, i have had a bloody nighhtmare trying to make the deb-install script work the way i want, gdebi keeps f#%¤#%¤ing my vm, and dont have a spare partition to test properly.
But the script is there and finished, just impossible for me to test thouroughly.
Using the build script you have your own local repo, its just a matter of apt-update then into aptitude to install, so much hassle and chasing deps is solved :)

Yea been working on the dpi full bore, it seems a long long fix, first am fixing font rendering, you will find new fontconfig-infinality packages in the git, this provides close to windows7 subpixel font rendering, second am reverting a default dpi patch found in cinnamon-settings-deamon, and slowly tackling the xorg dpi thing, it seems some apps take dpi info from xorg ( eg firefox) some other from gsettings, some from frigg knows where, have to find em all and point everything to some sensible CHANGEABLE key/variable, finally ned to change size/dpi of nemo graphics ( seems window boarders scale auto but thats it )

Re: Cinnamon 2 on Debian testing jessie

PostPosted: 2013-11-16 17:39
by nath
jube wrote:am reverting a default dpi patch found in cinnamon-settings-deamon, and slowly tackling the xorg dpi thing


You may want to sign in at https://github.com/linuxmint/Cinnamon/ and let Clem know about the dpi issue in Cinnamon. Oh and thanks for the infinality packages, I thought CFF would suffice but from what I've read infinality is still the best font rendering solution.

Re: Cinnamon 2 on Debian testing jessie

PostPosted: 2013-11-17 01:42
by jube
nath wrote:
jube wrote:am reverting a default dpi patch found in cinnamon-settings-deamon, and slowly tackling the xorg dpi thing


You may want to sign in at https://github.com/linuxmint/Cinnamon/ and let Clem know about the dpi issue in Cinnamon. Oh and thanks for the infinality packages, I thought CFF would suffice but from what I've read infinality is still the best font rendering solution.

To tell truth have no idea how to contribute to cinnamon although i would like to, i think its really really good, and love the code culture.
Found the base infinality packages at github, but they need cleaning up a little, there is a circular dependency have to sort out, will be done by monday :)
Just finished a big change-set with the build scripts, post the new install/build instructions tomorrow and update readme at same time.
The DPI issue is tought but its part of a bigger problem, there are 5 different config systems at work, dconf,gconf,gsettings,xconf,and cinnamon-settings-deamon, the obvious answer is to harmonise the packages to use 1 system, i have my eyes on this
http://www.freedesktop.org/wiki/Software/Elektra/ which promisses similar performance to windows registry and much more important promisses a stable API.
But DPI is first and there is a fair amount of code work there, but i think its essential, any linux desktop needs to put the same sort of information density onscreen as win7
Looking at chunky post-war russian fonts and icons is not the way to go :)