Scheduled Maintenance: We are aware of an issue with Google, AOL, and Yahoo services as email providers which are blocking new registrations. We are trying to fix the issue and we have several internal and external support tickets in process to resolve the issue. Please see: viewtopic.php?t=158230

How do AppArmor/SELinux/grsecurity work?

Off-Topic discussions about science, technology, and non Debian specific topics.
exosphere

How do AppArmor/SELinux/grsecurity work?

#1 Post by exosphere »

Hello! I'm new to Linux (like, absolute n00b new), and one of the features I was interested in in particular is Linux's supposed resilience against virus infections. As a result, I became interested in the variety of patches and software addons, like AppArmor, SELinux, and grsecurity, that harden the OS and make it even more difficult to infect. I've read a lot of the documentation about these programs, but I wanted to ask a few questions here (as I believe you guys are much more knowledgeable than I) about how these programs actually work and how they actually prevent malware infections.

So how do they work? My (very basic, and possibly incorrect) analysis is that AppArmor (and other related Mandatory Access Control programs, like SELinux and grsecurity's RBAC) prevent infected programs, whether malicious in nature or exploited through a vulnerability, from accessing any files they aren't supposed to, or writing to/executing any applications they can read, but don't need write/execute privileges for. So, if I've got, say, a banking trojan that attempts to sniff the keystrokes going to another application (such as my web browser), AppArmor would prevent the program from accessing that data (unless the trojan tricked me into giving it access willingly), and if I got some other kind of virus that attempts to inject itself into another app's process, AppArmor would prevent said virus from writing to those sources. Is this correct, or am I misunderstanding something?