Scheduled Maintenance: We are aware of an issue with Google, AOL, and Yahoo services as email providers which are blocking new registrations. We are trying to fix the issue and we have several internal and external support tickets in process to resolve the issue. Please see: viewtopic.php?t=158230

Need advices for a small web server

Off-Topic discussions about science, technology, and non Debian specific topics.
Danielsan

Need advices for a small web server

#1 Post by Danielsan »

Hi guys,

I would like to know your opinion about a small web server.

I am currently studying some frameworks to improve my skill as web designer and I would like to have my local server where test my websites (in wordpress mainly), as I am using my workstation mainly for rendering I don't want install on it a lamp stack as well, so I thought I may buy a small arm sbc and use it as web server.

After some research this is what I though:
Cheapest and better supported:
Raspberry Pi 3 + WD PiDrive + Case + Power Supply: $85.

Pros: Pricing, better support, can use Debian, can boot directly from the external drive, built-in wifi & bluetooth.
Cons: Only 1gb of memory, kernel stack not entirely at 64-bit, CPU not so fast, spinning drive.
Powerful but expensive:
Odroid C2 + Case + Wifi adapter + SATA Adapter + Power Supply + generic SSD: $185.

Pros: Better hardware, 2GB of memory, Giga ethernet.
Cons: Pricing, worst support, only Ubuntu as official OS.
I have already a PI2 which I am using with OSMC as mediacenter as well as nas connected to a 5T hdd. It works fine, especially when I moved from raspian to OSMC which is essentially Debian with some tuning.