4GB RAM minimum for today!

If it doesn't relate to Debian, but you still want to share it, please do it here

4GB RAM minimum for today!

Postby bester69 » 2016-12-15 14:18

Finally I installed 4GB RAM, and i finally can RIP :)

Nowdays, you almost reach 2GB with the internet browser (chromium eats easilly 1G-1,5GB with much tabs and some extension), two or three office apps and the own system, So as you cant install just 3GB, its necessary to install a minum of 4GB to be able to work propertlly. I was fed up with everytime i opened ten or twenty tabs and the system came down swapping.

Now, everithing is perfect,I dont have worry anymore about akonady process (kmail), I can keep opened a Virtual Machine, Chrome, libreoffice, okular and kate at the same time, so now, i can do the job without nothing bothering me. Really, really pleasure :o

So, my advice is to upgrade inmediatlly, it's worth it, i buyed 4Gb in amazon for just 28 €.
User avatar
bester69
 
Posts: 865
Joined: 2015-04-02 13:15

Re: 4GB RAM minimum for today!

Postby vicshrike » 2016-12-15 15:33

Congratulations! Yes, I have noticed that on a low spec system, even when trying to save RAM, as soon as one goes online things start to really slow down. Text browser helps, but not a solution in the long run. :)
May the Debian be with you!
User avatar
vicshrike
 
Posts: 36
Joined: 2010-05-07 08:59
Location: /debian/openbox

Re: 4GB RAM minimum for today!

Postby pylkko » 2016-12-15 17:24

Trust me, you can run Chromium on a desktop with 1 GB. But not KDE. And if you use some lightweight browser you can go to 500 MB with no problem. For example, tinycore uses something like 100 MB for the desktop and OS.

Also, most machines you can buy new have come with 4 GB or more for years. I have a laptop from 2008 that has 4 GB. So "upgrade immediately" sounds a bit... I don't even know.
User avatar
pylkko
 
Posts: 1007
Joined: 2014-11-06 19:02

Re: 4GB RAM minimum for today!

Postby acewiza » 2016-12-15 17:29

Minimum spec is just that - "minimum." But minimum for what? What your specific minimum RAM requirement is depends on what you do with the computer. I subscribe to an old adage that says "too much is never enough. That goes for bandwidth too. I stopped even thinking about storage space several years ago. That part is inexpensive enough now to no longer be an issue at all. :)
Nobody would ever ask questions If everyone possessed encyclopedic knowledge of the man pages.
User avatar
acewiza
 
Posts: 225
Joined: 2013-05-28 12:38
Location: Out West

Re: 4GB RAM minimum for today!

Postby phenest » 2016-12-15 17:43

pylkko wrote:Trust me, you can run Chromium on a desktop with 1 GB.

+1
One of my towers has only 2GB running Debian with MATE. 2GB seems plenty enough.
bester69 wrote:I was fed up with everytime i opened ten or twenty tabs and the system came down swapping.

... but then I don't have 10 to 20 tabs open.

In fact, my laptop which has 32GB, is at this moment only using 1.4GB running Gnome 3 with Claws Mail and Chromium (1 tab) open. Then I started playing The Shining in HD with MPV, started Rhythmbox playing Pink Floyd, then started System Monitor and Nautilus. 1.7GB used.
NEC Spirit 550 P4 3.8GHz HT - 2GB RAM - nVidia 7600GT - Pioneer BDR-209DBK
ASUS Sabertooth P67 i7 3770K - 32GB RAM - 2x nVidia 660GTX SLI'd
User avatar
phenest
 
Posts: 1571
Joined: 2010-03-09 09:38
Location: The Matrix

Re: 4GB RAM minimum for today!

Postby bester69 » 2016-12-15 18:00

phenest wrote:... is at this moment only using 1.4GB running Gnome 3 with Claws Mail and Chromium (1 tab) open......


Yeah, As one web page nowdays is around 25MB-50MB, you can make the calc, 25MBx 20webs= 500MB, 1.4G+500>= 2GB, so as you can see 2GB not enought.
User avatar
bester69
 
Posts: 865
Joined: 2015-04-02 13:15

Re: 4GB RAM minimum for today!

Postby bester69 » 2016-12-15 18:05

pylkko wrote:Trust me, you can run Chromium on a desktop with 1 GB. But not KDE. And if you use some lightweight browser you can go to 500 MB with no problem. For example, tinycore uses something like 100 MB for the desktop and OS.
....

yeah, and if you use mode console with lynks or something like that, you could do it with 50MB RAM... New webs and browsers eats too much RAM.., its not funcional surviving with less than 2GB anymore, and with just 2 it's pretty low.

Of course, you can have a system with just 500MB and opened a web, but ...
User avatar
bester69
 
Posts: 865
Joined: 2015-04-02 13:15

Re: 4GB RAM minimum for today!

Postby Segfault » 2016-12-15 20:34

phenest wrote:In fact, my laptop which has 32GB, is at this moment only using 1.4GB running Gnome 3 with Claws Mail and Chromium (1 tab) open. Then I started playing The Shining in HD with MPV, started Rhythmbox playing Pink Floyd, then started System Monitor and Nautilus. 1.7GB used.

Fascinating. I've always wondered why some people add odd amounts of RAM to their computers. First, it costs money, second, it is a waste of energy. It must be the same thing that makes them to buy pickup trucks and/or ugly SUV's. Some dark desire that cannot be overridden by common sense. My condolences.
Segfault
 
Posts: 419
Joined: 2005-09-24 12:24

Re: 4GB RAM minimum for today!

Postby dasein » 2016-12-15 20:53

Another pointless thread from this clueless adolescent OP.

2GB of RAM is tight but perfectly workable if one doesn't pretend that RAM is somehow infinite, or that being gratuitously wasteful of RAM somehow results in a spontaneous increase in the amount of RAM inside one's macine.

I routinely run KDE 4, multiple browsers, and the occasional instance of GIMP and/or LibreOffice on a 10 year old laptop with 2GB of RAM and no swap at all. I only occasionally run into problems, simply by closing apps I'm not actually using, disabling Javascript and Flash, etc.

It isn't about a problem with DE, or with the browser (though browsers are notorious for memory leaks), and certainly not with Debian. It's a matter of "Don't do stupid shit."
User avatar
dasein
 
Posts: 7774
Joined: 2011-03-04 01:06
Location: Terra Incantationum

Re: 4GB RAM minimum for today!

Postby pylkko » 2016-12-15 22:50

bester69 wrote:
pylkko wrote:Trust me, you can run Chromium on a desktop with 1 GB. But not KDE. And if you use some lightweight browser you can go to 500 MB with no problem. For example, tinycore uses something like 100 MB for the desktop and OS.
....

yeah, and if you use mode console with lynks or something like that, you could do it with 50MB RAM... New webs and browsers eats too much RAM.., its not funcional surviving with less than 2GB anymore, and with just 2 it's pretty low.

Of course, you can have a system with just 500MB and opened a web, but ...

Yeah, I feel the irony and all. But I still think that it is a valid point. For example Raspbian runs with chromium as default browser. Their best device comes with 1 GB RAM and yet people manage to use it for real surfing. I have actually tried it and I remember that it had no problem holding several tabs open simultaneously with LibreOffice. Ok, I haven't tried 25 tabs, but still. And that is 1 GB no swap...

On 2 GB computers I run XFCE. If I wanted to run KDE I would use 4 GB even though technically you could do it with 2 like Dasein does. On 1 GB or less I usually either go with no DE, just WM or sometimes LXDE but I hate tweaking LXDE. Tinycore runs well and boots quickly on old machines that have slow cpu's and low RAM. It has firefox, so you can still use such a machine for modern websurfing if it has that 500 MB or more of RAM. No need to text mode with lynks and stuff.
Segfault wrote:Fascinating. I've always wondered why some people add odd amounts of RAM to their computers.

Well what if you need to run VM's or do some heavy compiling. Again, it depends on the use case. Also RAM is not as expensive as it used to be once.
User avatar
pylkko
 
Posts: 1007
Joined: 2014-11-06 19:02

Re: 4GB RAM minimum for today!

Postby GarryRicketson » 2016-12-15 23:02


Well what if you need to run VM's or do some heavy compiling.


Even with 2 VM s running, and FireFox,browser with several tabs open....I am usually averaging
about 750 to 800 mb of actual ram used, I do have 2 gb available .


But it is true , "heavy compiling" would make it higher.
At the moment, using "OpenBsd" I am using 461 mb ram.
Last edited by GarryRicketson on 2016-12-15 23:07, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
GarryRicketson
 
Posts: 4133
Joined: 2015-01-20 22:16
Location: Durango, Mexico

Re: 4GB RAM minimum for today!

Postby dasein » 2016-12-15 23:04

pylkko wrote:If I wanted to run KDE I would use 4 GB even though technically you could do it with 2 like Dasein does.

Truth be told, I run KDE4 (minus the PIM cruft) quite comfortably in one gig on my HTPC. But I also don't ask that rig to do anything else.
User avatar
dasein
 
Posts: 7774
Joined: 2011-03-04 01:06
Location: Terra Incantationum

Re: 4GB RAM minimum for today!

Postby GarryRicketson » 2016-12-16 03:37

One thing for sure, 4GB of ram is NOT the minimum needed to run a Debian system,
and hope fully Debian never gets that "bloated"
http://forums.debian.net/viewtopic.php?f=3&t=9196&p=631521#p631521

I suppose on computers with MS mal-ware installed, they probably need
4gb or more, and then they still do not run well.
-----edited----
Correction, changed 8gb to 4gb

-----------edited again, I suppose I am just to "old fashioned", and
have a hard time accepting the fact that now a days, with all the
"features", 4gb ram is minumal amount needed.
I remember the times when 5mb ram and 500mb hd disk space
was more then enough.
Last edited by GarryRicketson on 2016-12-16 04:03, edited 2 times in total.
User avatar
GarryRicketson
 
Posts: 4133
Joined: 2015-01-20 22:16
Location: Durango, Mexico

Re: 4GB RAM minimum for today!

Postby RU55EL » 2016-12-16 03:52

GarryRicketson wrote:[...] I suppose on computers with MS mal-ware installed, they probably need
8gb or more, and then they still do not run well.


I understand your dislike of Microsoft's operating systems, but... Windows 10 runs just fine on a dual core with 4 GBs of RAM. In fact, Windows 7 and Windows 10 run faster on said machine than Windows XP. Although, Debian runs much, much, faster, and is far more configurable, and a much better experience. In my opinion.

[/edit]
Garry, I have to agree that, for all practical purposes, 4 GB is the minimum RAM needed for a Windows computer. Again, in my opinion.

That's one of the reasons I like Debian so much more!

[edit]
User avatar
RU55EL
 
Posts: 233
Joined: 2014-04-07 03:42
Location: /home/russel

Re: 4GB RAM minimum for today!

Postby dasein » 2016-12-16 04:46

The best damn OS I ever saw ran amazingly well in 16MB of RAM (not a typo).

viewtopic.php?f=3&t=129061
User avatar
dasein
 
Posts: 7774
Joined: 2011-03-04 01:06
Location: Terra Incantationum

Next

Return to Offtopic

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests

fashionable