4GB RAM minimum for today!

If it doesn't relate to Debian, but you still want to share it, please do it here

Re: 4GB RAM minimum for today!

Postby bester69 » 2016-12-21 06:16

Even today smartphones are running low with just 2GB, . What kind of new PC-Game do you intend to play with just 2GB??, Most of Steam PC-GAMES required at least 4GB, so i think this is absurd discussion, world keeps on moving, you can't stuck in that point, Sorry, you must pay $$$ for new upgrades :mrgreen:

I suppose in three or five years they will have to surf internet in mode console if they want to keep those RAM memory sizes, cos web pages are not stopping to grow, and once increase badwithd, they will suddenly increase their sizes... So please, go trainning mode console browsing..so then you can stay with just 500Mb :D
User avatar
bester69
 
Posts: 981
Joined: 2015-04-02 13:15

Re: 4GB RAM minimum for today!

Postby MALsPa » 2016-12-21 07:45

@bester69:

Myself, I don't play games. If you're saying that 4 GB is necessary for playing "modern" games, I won't argue with that, because I don't know and I don't care. But I'm typing this from a computer that has "only" 2 GB RAM, and this computer gives me absolutely no problems with the stuff I use it for. Maybe some people need at least 4 GB of RAM, but it's ridiculous to state that everyone does. One thing you're right about:

bester69 wrote:this is absurd discussion
MALsPa
 
Posts: 621
Joined: 2007-12-07 19:20
Location: albuquerque

Re: 4GB RAM minimum for today!

Postby Head_on_a_Stick » 2016-12-21 08:13

bester69 wrote:this is absurd discussion

The minimum RAM requirement for BunsenLabs is 256MiB :D

Can you change the thread title to 4GiB RAM minimum for KDE! please?

:mrgreen:
"Only the mediocre are always at their best." — Jean Giraudoux
User avatar
Head_on_a_Stick
 
Posts: 6782
Joined: 2014-06-01 17:46
Location: /dev/chair

Re: 4GB RAM minimum for today!

Postby wizard10000 » 2016-12-21 10:59

Head_on_a_Stick wrote:Can you change the thread title to 4GiB RAM minimum for KDE! please?

:mrgreen:


Nah. I'd shoot that down too - I don't think I've ever seen my KDE box use > 2GB of RAM :mrgreen:
we see things not as they are, but as we are.
-- anais nin
User avatar
wizard10000
 
Posts: 1218
Joined: 2011-05-09 20:02
Location: everywhere i go, there i am!

Re: 4GB RAM minimum for today!

Postby wizard10000 » 2016-12-21 11:04

bester69 wrote:...so i think this is absurd discussion


But you started it Image
we see things not as they are, but as we are.
-- anais nin
User avatar
wizard10000
 
Posts: 1218
Joined: 2011-05-09 20:02
Location: everywhere i go, there i am!

Re: 4GB RAM minimum for today!

Postby Nili » 2016-12-21 11:58

I like to do many crazy sh!ts with console because i GUI can't do it. here it is one old scrot.
Streaming NHK JAPAN FHD with mpv, browsering with w3m, ranger and feh, weechat, conky, torrenting finally =156MB RAM

Clean|Vanilla|Core Debian (netinst) boots your machine with only 20MB.

4GB minimum? still no valid for most of us.

I'm out here.
Good luck with your bloated adventure.

Cheers and regards!
#MM | #乃木坂46 | #AKB48
User avatar
Nili
 
Posts: 286
Joined: 2014-04-30 14:04
Location: $HOME/♫♪

Re: 4GB RAM minimum for today!

Postby bester69 » 2016-12-21 20:14

Im happy you can all live with less than 4GB,


One year ago or so, i was using Wheezy with 1GB, then i upgrade to 2GB and i thought my problems was gone, Now recentlly i migrated to Streetch and installed KDE5, and i saw that with 2GB i also was offten going into swapping, I had to go in mode console to kill the bad app.

So i know i could live with just 1GB and a lighter DE like MATE, but i wanted to enjoy KDE (kontact) so I needed at least 2GB, but the problem, is that 2GB remains short when you open some few tabs browser plus others apps. So 2Gb wasnt enought to be used propertly; thats why 4GB is required. Now no more problems, and i even enjoy using Virtual Machine and Internet browsing at the same time with many tabs.


Marry Christmas and happy new year. :wink:
User avatar
bester69
 
Posts: 981
Joined: 2015-04-02 13:15

Re: 4GB RAM minimum for today!

Postby n_hologram » 2016-12-22 05:42

bester69, it's been at least a few months since I've posted here, and I can't believe you're still trolling this subforum.
bester69 wrote:So i know i could live with just 1GB and a lighter DE like MATE, but i wanted to enjoy KDE (kontact) so I needed at least 2GB, but the problem, is that 2GB remains short when you open some few tabs browser plus others apps. So 2Gb wasnt enought to be used propertly; thats why 4GB is required. Now no more problems, and i even enjoy using Virtual Machine and Internet browsing at the same time with many tabs.

Topic: "4GB RAM minimum for my setup", or "Four [gigabytes of] reasons why you should switch to xfce"

dasein wrote:Another pointless thread from this clueless adolescent OP.

I missed you.
bester69 wrote:There is nothing to install in linux, from time to time i go to google searching for something fresh to install in linux, but, there is nothing
n_hologram
 
Posts: 255
Joined: 2013-06-16 00:10

Re: 4GB RAM minimum for today!

Postby gnulux » 2017-05-30 11:30

Bulkley wrote:Years ago I doubled my memory and noticed no change at all. Computer processing requires a combination of parts working together. Real improvement may require a completely different combination of parts. There is no silver bullet.


Precisely! The processor is quite essential nowadays and the DE and the distro. You can have 4GB Ram and a socket 775 Celeron 420 on Jessie LXDE, it won’t make a difference if you only have 2GB. Yet WattOS-LXDE runs a bit faster than Debian-LXDE on a socket 478 Pentium 4 with 1GB Ram or a socket 775 Pentium 4 with 1 GB Ram.

(Ram was essential with the Pentium II and III)
gnulux
 
Posts: 70
Joined: 2014-09-03 14:09

Previous

Return to Offtopic

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests

fashionable