[SOLVED] Again! CPU 1 not responding, cannot use it!

If it doesn't relate to Debian, but you still want to share it, please do it here

[SOLVED] Again! CPU 1 not responding, cannot use it!

Postby edbarx » 2017-01-23 07:26

Booting up my machine after it has been off for the night resulted in one CPU core out of two not responding. I tried several attempts to boot my machine with one attempt also resulting in a kernel panic. The machine is running Jessie (devuanised). I am taking this as an omen of nearing hardware failure although in 2011 a bug was registered claiming a similar symptom.

Since many people on these fora work with computer hardware, I would very kindly ask their opinion regarding this issue.
Last edited by edbarx on 2017-01-29 11:38, edited 2 times in total.
Debian == { > 30, 000 packages }; Debian != systemd
The worst infection of all, is a false sense of security!
It is hard to get away from CLI tools.
User avatar
edbarx
 
Posts: 5379
Joined: 2007-07-18 06:19
Location: 35° 50 N, 14 º 35 E

Re: CPU 1 not responding, cannot use it!

Postby deborah-and-ian » 2017-01-23 07:40

I find it hard to believe that it could be software-related if you suddenly experience this (unless you're using testing or sid).
deborah-and-ian
 
Posts: 89
Joined: 2016-07-13 08:40

Re: CPU 1 not responding, cannot use it!

Postby kedaha » 2017-01-23 08:08

Have you tried booting it with a Debian live cd?
User avatar
kedaha
 
Posts: 2595
Joined: 2008-05-24 12:26

Re: CPU 1 not responding, cannot use it!

Postby edbarx » 2017-01-23 09:48

Post replaced as it was irrelevant: the problem repeated itself the day after (today). Comments are appreciated as this is the machine on which I code and graphics on the newer machine do not work well in Jessie. I am attributing the bad behaviour to the kernel. Maybe, a backported kernel has the issue resolved.
Debian == { > 30, 000 packages }; Debian != systemd
The worst infection of all, is a false sense of security!
It is hard to get away from CLI tools.
User avatar
edbarx
 
Posts: 5379
Joined: 2007-07-18 06:19
Location: 35° 50 N, 14 º 35 E

Re: CPU 1 not responding, cannot use it!

Postby edbarx » 2017-01-24 08:05

edbarx wrote:Post replaced as it was irrelevant: the problem repeated itself the day after (today). Comments are appreciated as this is the machine on which I code and graphics on the newer machine do not work well in Jessie. I am attributing the bad behaviour to the kernel. Maybe, a backported kernel has the issue resolved.


Added Later:
I installed a kernel from backports, 4.8.0-0.bpo.2-amd64, something that I reluctantly do on Stable. As the failure is intermittent, damn those tiny integrated MOSFETS, I have to give it more time to conclude whether the problem has been resolved.
Debian == { > 30, 000 packages }; Debian != systemd
The worst infection of all, is a false sense of security!
It is hard to get away from CLI tools.
User avatar
edbarx
 
Posts: 5379
Joined: 2007-07-18 06:19
Location: 35° 50 N, 14 º 35 E

Re: Again! CPU 1 not responding, cannot use it!

Postby qyron » 2017-01-24 09:59

Hey, Ed.

After all you have posted, I would personally start thinking about backing up all the data and take a good look at the machine itself. If the CPU itself isn't reaching breakdown point, it is at least reasonable to consider that the PSU might be.
Stop hitting me with anvils!|Parem de me bater com bigornas!
Willie E. Coyote
User avatar
qyron
 
Posts: 136
Joined: 2008-07-21 20:47

Re: Again! CPU 1 not responding, cannot use it!

Postby wizard10000 » 2017-01-24 10:29

Ed -

I'd bring it up in single user mode and see if you can recreate the issue. Also, not sure if it's applicable to this machine but you might try swapping the intel_pstate driver for the acpi-cpufreq driver for testing.

After that? I'd test with a live CD or install an earlier kernel just for fun.

I think it's hardware, but in 25+ years of professional geeking I've only seen one processor fail that wasn't a direct result of human error. I'm not saying human error is the cause here, but processors generally don't fail unless abused so I'd be sure it *was* the processor before buying any hardware :)

Hope this helps -
we see things not as they are, but as we are.
-- anais nin
User avatar
wizard10000
 
Posts: 1082
Joined: 2011-05-09 20:02
Location: midwestern us

Re: Again! CPU 1 not responding, cannot use it!

Postby edbarx » 2017-01-24 13:12

The error was reported by Devuan. I am assuming this is a kernel bug from 2011 that is still lurking around. That is why I upgraded the kernel. As I said, I will give it time. If the problems exhibits itself again and again, it will be a clear indication that there is a serious problem with the hardware. Sadly, it will be the end of life for this faithful machine that I bough a week before my late mother's departure. For this reason, the machine also has some rudimentary sentimental value to me.
Debian == { > 30, 000 packages }; Debian != systemd
The worst infection of all, is a false sense of security!
It is hard to get away from CLI tools.
User avatar
edbarx
 
Posts: 5379
Joined: 2007-07-18 06:19
Location: 35° 50 N, 14 º 35 E

Re: [SOLVED] Again! CPU 1 not responding, cannot use it!

Postby edbarx » 2017-01-29 11:39

The machine did not experience this error since I upgraded the kernel. :D
Debian == { > 30, 000 packages }; Debian != systemd
The worst infection of all, is a false sense of security!
It is hard to get away from CLI tools.
User avatar
edbarx
 
Posts: 5379
Joined: 2007-07-18 06:19
Location: 35° 50 N, 14 º 35 E


Return to Offtopic

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests

fashionable