Issue Compatibilities with DOS

If it doesn't relate to Debian, but you still want to share it, please do it here

Issue Compatibilities with DOS

Postby acu.tm » 2017-06-05 13:43

Hi there.
I'm using a program written on DBASEIII and ejecuted with DOSEMU.
I wrote a thread in the past saying it was a network issue but i can dismiss it.
The problem I have is that a whole line in a DBF database file is deleted, but not instantly when is added, (i made an instruction that checks the line is propperly saved and makes a backup of it).
Some time then (I cannot determine yet when) the line is deleted and when a new line is added it uses the same number of registry.
This never happened when using windows, so I can only suspect some issue with dosemu, or some way the file is saved and linux manages it.
I tried using DOSBOX but it goes worse, very slow. The program in DBASE is pretty big, that's why i'm trying not to rewrite it on a newer language.
Honestly i'm out of ideas
acu.tm
 
Posts: 9
Joined: 2017-05-11 13:00

Re: Issue Compatibilities with DOS

Postby dasein » 2017-06-05 13:58

Your issue has nothing at all to do with Linux, much less Debian, and everything to do with a 25-year-old MSDOS-based technology that virtually no one uses anymore. You would almost certainly be better off asking your question in a venue where the expertise matched your problem domain.
User avatar
dasein
 
Posts: 7775
Joined: 2011-03-04 01:06
Location: Terra Incantationum

Re: Issue Compatibilities with DOS

Postby pcalvert » 2017-06-05 15:11

Hi,

DOSEMU comes with FreeDOS, and I suspect that your problem may be due to the fact that FreeDOS is not 100% compatible with MS-DOS. However, you are not required to use FreeDOS with DOSEMU; you can replace it with a different version of DOS, such as MS-DOS or PC-DOS.

Phil
pcalvert
 
Posts: 1731
Joined: 2006-04-21 11:19
Location: Sol Sector

Re: Issue Compatibilities with DOS

Postby GarryRicketson » 2017-06-05 15:32

This really is "out of scope" for this forum, probably should have been posted
in "off topic". But any way,..
I also use FreeDos, and the best place to ask questions on this would
be :
Code: Select all
To subscribe or unsubscribe via the World Wide Web, visit
   https://lists.sourceforge.net/lists/listinfo/freedos-user

You will find many members of the list , also are using linux

This never happened when using windows, so I can only suspect some issue with dosemu, or some way the file is saved and linux manages it.


http://www.freedos.org/

I do not use MS windows, nor MS-dos, but have never had any problems
with file corruption , when files from Free Dos are saved to my Debian, partition, or any other Linux.
Actually, that is one of the main reasons I never used MS windows,after
trying it a few times, it seemed like everything gets corrupted when
windows is involved. But, heck, if it does not happen to you , when
using windows, and that is what you like, go for it, use that if it works.


I'm using a program written on DBASEIII

Not very in formative, If you do contact FreeDos you should be more clear
about what program it is, etc.
Usually my games,and some programs work pretty well on DosBox, hosted
by Debian,...

However I have found everything works much better if I just
boot with the FreeDos partition, and do all my "dos" stuff on a dos partition.
If you are using some other version of Dos, and there are many, it would
be more clear if you gave the details, IE: what Dos version ?
But again, this really is not the right forum for this.
"What we expect you have already Done"

Before doing anything, read the Debian documentation:
Debian Documentation
How to ask the smart way
Debian Foro Español
======================
For the Birds
User avatar
GarryRicketson
 
Posts: 4277
Joined: 2015-01-20 22:16
Location: Durango, Mexico

Re: Issue Compatibilities with DOS

Postby acu.tm » 2017-06-05 21:47

dasein wrote:Your issue has nothing at all to do with Linux, much less Debian, and everything to do with a 25-year-old MSDOS-based technology that virtually no one uses anymore. You would almost certainly be better off asking your question in a venue where the expertise matched your problem domain.

thanks, or not thanks, or whatever. if you didn't have an answer, you might haven't write anything
Last edited by acu.tm on 2017-06-05 21:56, edited 1 time in total.
acu.tm
 
Posts: 9
Joined: 2017-05-11 13:00

Re: Issue Compatibilities with DOS

Postby acu.tm » 2017-06-05 21:49

pcalvert wrote:Hi,

DOSEMU comes with FreeDOS, and I suspect that your problem may be due to the fact that FreeDOS is not 100% compatible with MS-DOS. However, you are not required to use FreeDOS with DOSEMU; you can replace it with a different version of DOS, such as MS-DOS or PC-DOS.

Phil


OK, i could try installing MS-DOS con dosemu I read it's possible, but I just didn't think it. Thanks!
acu.tm
 
Posts: 9
Joined: 2017-05-11 13:00

Re: Issue Compatibilities with DOS

Postby acu.tm » 2017-06-05 21:53

GarryRicketson wrote:This really is "out of scope" for this forum, probably should have been posted
in "off topic". But any way,..
I also use FreeDos, and the best place to ask questions on this would
be :
Code: Select all
To subscribe or unsubscribe via the World Wide Web, visit
   https://lists.sourceforge.net/lists/listinfo/freedos-user

You will find many members of the list , also are using linux

This never happened when using windows, so I can only suspect some issue with dosemu, or some way the file is saved and linux manages it.


http://www.freedos.org/

I do not use MS windows, nor MS-dos, but have never had any problems
with file corruption , when files from Free Dos are saved to my Debian, partition, or any other Linux.
Actually, that is one of the main reasons I never used MS windows,after
trying it a few times, it seemed like everything gets corrupted when
windows is involved. But, heck, if it does not happen to you , when
using windows, and that is what you like, go for it, use that if it works.


I'm using a program written on DBASEIII

Not very in formative, If you do contact FreeDos you should be more clear
about what program it is, etc.
Usually my games,and some programs work pretty well on DosBox, hosted
by Debian,...

However I have found everything works much better if I just
boot with the FreeDos partition, and do all my "dos" stuff on a dos partition.
If you are using some other version of Dos, and there are many, it would
be more clear if you gave the details, IE: what Dos version ?
But again, this really is not the right forum for this.


The thing is that the program was written pretty much years ago, and it's constantly modifying, as the person who works with it is the one who uses. I don't have so much information about the program, I just made the whole migration of the System from Windows to Linux.
I tried dosbox but the program ran very very slow, that's why i decided to use DOSEMU.
I could try asking on the page you gave me or changing to MS-DOS inside dosemu.
I'll move on, Thank you very much!
acu.tm
 
Posts: 9
Joined: 2017-05-11 13:00

Re: Issue Compatibilities with DOS

Postby GarryRicketson » 2017-06-05 23:05

I just made the whole migration of the System from Windows to Linux.


So, what Linux distro, ?
I have never used DOSEMU, so can't help there, all though I have heard
of it.
On dosbox, there is some configurations that can be done to fix the speed
issues, but the same, I never had needed to do that, I just remember reading
about that in some manuals, when I was trying to resolve other issues.
My thoughts are though, you might be best off in making a dual boot,
system, a small partition for Dos, on my system even when I have booted
with Debian, the dos partition is mounted automaticly, and I have complete
rw access to all the files on the dos partition.

The thing is that the program was written pretty much years ago, and it's constantly modifying, as the person who works with it is the one who uses

Ok, I understand there,. I have never used DBASEIII, back then I had no interest in data bases, mostly I just do some things with qbasic and games,
but anyway :
------ some way the file is saved and linux manages it.

One or 2 things that I can cause problems,....linux is very case sensitive,
if a file is saved as ,
Code: Select all
Xbase.txt
and some where the code
calls for
Code: Select all
xbase.txt
, on linux , it will not find the file.
Also if there are any spaces in a directory or file name,..
IE :
Code: Select all
 This Dir
, it will not be found by a linux system, unless some special configuration has been done.
Years ago, I had to go thru a program written by a windows programmer
and change everything to the same "case", it was a mess, the programmer
had sometimes used "This.lib" and other time "THIS.lib", and so on..... I changed everything to lower case,...also it was full of paths pointing to directories, like "Joes Bar", "Police Station",...bla bla,...
Any way, another option you might try, is using Virtual Box to run the Dos
program, a network connection can be made from the virtual machine to the Linux system,.....
The programmer that is using this program may need to go through it with
a "fine tooth" comb, and make sure there is no where using mixed case,
or spaces in the directory/file names, if it is a very large program, it might very well be easier to install MYSQL on the Linux system, and start learning
to use that, and also start transferring all the data , from the old
dos program, to a newer more modern system.
In a few more years, it is going to be impossible to find any one that knows
anything about Dos, and programs that ran on Dos, like qbasic, or this DBASEIII.
Now a days, sad but true, I encounter young people, that call their selves "supper users", and supposedly are going to college and studying computer science, and some do not have a clue as to what Dos is, nor a command prompt,...we get a lot of them on this forum :mrgreen:
anyway, good luck,... I do think the FreeDos mailing list may be your best bet, and they are a pretty friendly bunch of people, Jim Hall really knows
a lot .
User avatar
GarryRicketson
 
Posts: 4277
Joined: 2015-01-20 22:16
Location: Durango, Mexico

Re: Issue Compatibilities with DOS

Postby acu.tm » 2017-06-06 00:57

Ok thank you very much, i just wrote here because I was stuck and nowhere to advance and continue searching for the issue.
Now I have a few more branches to go on!
acu.tm
 
Posts: 9
Joined: 2017-05-11 13:00

Re: Issue Compatibilities with DOS

Postby GarryRicketson » 2017-06-06 02:11

Your welcome,
I have not been in touch with any one using Free Dos, for sometime,
I get the mail list articles, but have not been reading them much lately,
and since I have not had any questions, nor problems , have not posted anything for a few years now. But just now, I visited the website, and see
they have a blog as well,
http://freedos-project.blogspot.mx/

Jim Hall, wrote this:
from:http://freedos-project.blogspot.mx/2017/05/linux-and-freedos.html----snip----
That thought was the origin of FreeDOS. Without Linux, I don't think we would have created the FreeDOS Project.


I think you,and maybe others may find it interesting, and also he does have a "twitter" contact link,
You will see he is very experienced not only with FreeDos, but Linux,
if anybody can help you find a solution , it would be him, or some of the others involved with the project.
User avatar
GarryRicketson
 
Posts: 4277
Joined: 2015-01-20 22:16
Location: Durango, Mexico

Re: Issue Compatibilities with DOS

Postby GarryRicketson » 2017-06-06 02:43

by acu.tm »OK, i could try installing MS-DOS con dosemu I read it's possible, but I just didn't think it.

The problem with this is , Where will you get support ? microsoft does not
offer any support, they abandoned dos years ago.
Free Dos does have support, and actually very good support.
They also support and can help if you decide to use Virtual Box,
instead of DOSEMU, in fact, that was one thing they helped me with
several years back, setting up my first Virtual Box machine, and installing
Free Dos to it, ..
I stumbled on to this, for DOSEMU:
from:http://www.linuxgoodies.com/freedos.html
While MSDOS isn't supported anymore, there is an open source project with a few miles behind it that's continuing to work on a plan to keep alive (and improve) a MSDOS compatible operating system. It's called the FreeDOS project.


For Free Dos on Virtual Box:
http://wiki.freedos.org/wiki/index.php/VirtualBox
User avatar
GarryRicketson
 
Posts: 4277
Joined: 2015-01-20 22:16
Location: Durango, Mexico


Return to Offtopic

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

fashionable