How to boot from iso image disk?

If it doesn't relate to Debian, but you still want to share it, please do it here

How to boot from iso image disk?

Postby bester69 » 2017-12-19 15:49

Im looking for a way to be able to boot a iso (win, linux, any) from disk.. I remember ive used some software in past, like a Super-grub or so that was able to do this (i think to remember), but now I cant find that software, and neither an easy way to go, something like a livecd or so.

I though this should be very easy to do.. :?
bester69 wrote:There is nothing to install in linux, from time to time i go to google searching for something fresh to install in linux, but, there is nothing
User avatar
bester69
 
Posts: 1054
Joined: 2015-04-02 13:15

Re: How to boot from iso image disk?

Postby Head_on_a_Stick » 2017-12-19 17:15

See the "SharpBang" menu entry in my grub.cfg:

https://github.com/Head-on-a-Stick/conf ... ub.cfg#L27

I've saved the ISO image at ~/sharpbang/sharpbang-stretch.img in the "Arch" subvolume of my btrfs partition on /dev/sda4, adjust to fit your box ;)

There was an ArchWiki page detailing this but it looks like Alad has chopped it out 'cos it's not Arch-centric enough :mrgreen:

EDIT: add the stanza to the end of /etc/grub.d/40_custom and run `update-grub` (as root) to update your boot menu (if you use an auto-generated GRUB menu).
"Only the mediocre are always at their best." — Jean Giraudoux
User avatar
Head_on_a_Stick
 
Posts: 7413
Joined: 2014-06-01 17:46
Location: /dev/chair

Re: How to boot from iso image disk?

Postby bester69 » 2017-12-19 18:25

Head_on_a_Stick wrote:See the "SharpBang" menu entry in my grub.cfg:

https://github.com/Head-on-a-Stick/conf ... ub.cfg#L27

I've saved the ISO image at ~/sharpbang/sharpbang-stretch.img in the "Arch" subvolume of my btrfs partition on /dev/sda4, adjust to fit your box ;)

There was an ArchWiki page detailing this but it looks like Alad has chopped it out 'cos it's not Arch-centric enough :mrgreen:

EDIT: add the stanza to the end of /etc/grub.d/40_custom and run `update-grub` (as root) to update your boot menu (if you use an auto-generated GRUB menu).

ok Thanks for help, Head, that works very well, i noted down
Code: Select all
menuentry 'Sparky' {
   loopback loop (hd0,5)/BACK-UP/linux/sparkylinux-4.5.4-x86_64-minimalgui.iso
   linux (loop)/live/vmlinuz boot=live toram=filesystem.squashfs config fromiso=/dev/sda5/BACK-UP/linux/sparkylinux-4.5.4-x86_64-minimalgui.iso
   initrd (loop)/live/initrd.img
}

Ive installed recetlly Win10 from disc, following something similar:
mount -o loop Win10x64.iso /mnt
rsync -aAXv /mnt /media/sda3
Code: Select all
menuentry 'Microsoft Windows 10' --class windows {
        insmod part_msdos
        insmod ntfs
        insmod ntldr
   search --set=root --label dvd10 --hint hd0,msdos3
   drivemap -s (hd0) ${root}
        ntldr /bootmgr
}



now, what i was really looking for, was something more automatic, like a kind of "daemon tools" in boot, some tool/livecd i can use/install that emule the dvd at booting, so i can do boot a iso image without having to set a setup grub... I wonder if that tool exists. :?
bester69 wrote:There is nothing to install in linux, from time to time i go to google searching for something fresh to install in linux, but, there is nothing
User avatar
bester69
 
Posts: 1054
Joined: 2015-04-02 13:15

Re: How to boot from iso image disk?

Postby sunrat » 2017-12-19 23:11

bester69 wrote:now, what i was really looking for, was something more automatic, like a kind of "daemon tools" in boot, some tool/livecd i can use/install that emule the dvd at booting, so i can do boot a iso image without having to set a setup grub... I wonder if that tool exists. :?

You can do that in VirtualBox. Just don't create a virtual HD and select "Live something" (I forget the actual term) in the section where you select the iso.
“ computer users can be divided into 2 categories:
Those who have lost data
...and those who have not lost data YET ”
Remember to BACKUP!
User avatar
sunrat
 
Posts: 2219
Joined: 2006-08-29 09:12
Location: Melbourne, Australia

Re: How to boot from iso image disk?

Postby pylkko » 2017-12-21 19:54

sunrat wrote:
bester69 wrote:now, what i was really looking for, was something more automatic, like a kind of "daemon tools" in boot, some tool/livecd i can use/install that emule the dvd at booting, so i can do boot a iso image without having to set a setup grub... I wonder if that tool exists. :?

You can do that in VirtualBox. Just don't create a virtual HD and select "Live something" (I forget the actual term) in the section where you select the iso.


or just
Code: Select all
qemu-system-x86_64 -cdrom filename.iso


or qemu-kvm,

or virt-manager

etc
User avatar
pylkko
 
Posts: 1284
Joined: 2014-11-06 19:02

Re: How to boot from iso image disk?

Postby Head_on_a_Stick » 2017-12-21 20:14

I use this alias to test ISO images:
Code: Select all
alias qmu='qemu-system-x86_64 -boot order=d -enable-kvm -m 2G -vga std'

So I can then run `qmu example.img` to spin up a KVM-enabled VM with high-resolution capabilities and no need for any silly "guest additions" :)
"Only the mediocre are always at their best." — Jean Giraudoux
User avatar
Head_on_a_Stick
 
Posts: 7413
Joined: 2014-06-01 17:46
Location: /dev/chair


Return to Offtopic

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

fashionable