Scheduled Maintenance: We are aware of an issue with Google, AOL, and Yahoo services as email providers which are blocking new registrations. We are trying to fix the issue and we have several internal and external support tickets in process to resolve the issue. Please see: viewtopic.php?t=158230

Installing nintendo 64 emulator on a debian system

Off-Topic discussions about science, technology, and non Debian specific topics.
ap3sc@ped

#1 Post by ap3sc@ped »

Hi folks, I recently bought a raspberry pi 3 in order to learn about computers and the Linux system (total newbie).

As far as I know, it runs on Raspbian, a Debian-based OS.

As playing is probably the first thing I'd want to do with a computer, and being interested by anything retro-gaming related, the first step I want to fulfill is to install a N64 emulator on my system.

So, I am now faced with two problems;

1. I don't know which emulator to install.
2. I don't know how to install anything on Linux.

I'll be gratefull of any help/advice, thanks.

Wheelerof4te

Re: Installing nintendo 64 emulator on a debian system

#2 Post by Wheelerof4te »

There are few NES emulators in Debian repos. Tried Nestopia?

jibberjabber

#4 Post by jibberjabber »

It is all ways good to do some searches first, before asking something, sometimes the answers are all ready available some where.
About:
First 3 hits:
Mupen64Plus - Debian Wiki

https://wiki.debian.org/Mupen64Plus Proxy Highlight

13 Mar 2016 ... Mupen64Plus is a cross-platform N64 emulator that works with many ROMs that are publically available. It is maintained by richard42 and was originally based off of ... Installation. apt-get install mupen64plus-ui-console. or to install Mupen64Plus-Qt: apt-get install mupen64plus-qt. or to install M64Py:.
Emulator - Debian Wiki

https://wiki.debian.org/Emulator Proxy Highlight