Scheduled Maintenance: We are aware of an issue with Google, AOL, and Yahoo services as email providers which are blocking new registrations. We are trying to fix the issue and we have several internal and external support tickets in process to resolve the issue. Please see: viewtopic.php?t=158230

Producing music on a Debian machine

Off-Topic discussions about science, technology, and non Debian specific topics.
babcat

Producing music on a Debian machine

#1 Post by babcat »

Hello, I am a musician from Volos, a port-city in Greece and started uploading music tracks, electro style, a bit punk, pop, dance. The computer is a 2004 single core 3Ghz pentium4 Prescot, 2GB DDR1 ram with Debian stretch running on a 64gb ssd. The software used is Ardour and Qtractor trackers-sequencers, ams synthesizer, petri-foo sampler, qmidiarp midi sequencer, hydrogen drum machine, mhwaveedit editor, jamin for mastering. With jack as sound server and qjacktctl mainly for interconnecting apps.

[Removed by Moderator - we are here to talk about Debian/Linux/Computer and not publicise music tracks]
Last edited by babcat on 2018-05-29 20:14, edited 2 times in total.

Lysander

Re: Music tracks produced on a Debian machine

#2 Post by Lysander »

Hi babcat, I sent a message to your Bandcamp account after your last post was removed - but maybe you removed it in order to post from your normal account. Even though your post may be looked on as promo [which it is] it raises a few interesting questions. I will now quote from the message I sent so the community can see your answers too:

Can you tell us a little more about why you chose a Debian machine to produce the music. Was it an ethical choice, financial or were you experimenting with newer software on old hardware? Does the software you use have an affect on the kind of music you produce [e.g. does it include/lack features that proprietary software would not]?