Scheduled Maintenance: We are aware of an issue with Google, AOL, and Yahoo services as email providers which are blocking new registrations. We are trying to fix the issue and we have several internal and external support tickets in process to resolve the issue. Please see: viewtopic.php?t=158230

Promoting Linux

Off-Topic discussions about science, technology, and non Debian specific topics.
land0

Promoting Linux

#1 Post by land0 »

This is somewhat of a spin off of another post I created here in the forums titled: Linux car in Indy 500? Some of the replies were really very thought provoking so I figured lets expand on this just a bit.

What are some of the ways that you promote Linux personally or professionally?

Do you have any thoughts on ways that you feel Linux should be promoted?

Our idea:
My wife and I have been selling nix based merchandise since 2004. We donate the profits to the various F/OSS projects who's logos are on the products. The idea behind this was "human billboards that promote and fund F/OSS projects all at the same time!" It seems to work pretty well.

GMouse

#2 Post by GMouse »

I'm an out-going exec member in my local college AITP. I gave some Ubuntu discs and a copy of the Open CD to the new president not a week after somebody else in the group (without my urging) gave a "hot topic" presentation on Open Source.

One good way to promote OSS is to take old PCs from people that they would be junking and load up something like Debian or Edubuntu, then donate those PCs, or just return them to their owners.

The only problem with Linux advocacy on a personal level is that, as a different OS, it's radically different than the proprietary ecosystem. People are change resistant. So, you have to overcome both the hurdles of them learning something completely new AND dealing with the fact that they will likely have the occasional problems interfacing with a Windows-centric world.