HELP! Can't seem to break my Debian!

If it doesn't relate to Debian, but you still want to share it, please do it here

HELP! Can't seem to break my Debian!

Postby mzilikazi » 2007-04-23 13:26

I just installed Etch, changed my sources.list to Sid and immediately did apt-get update && apt-get dist-upgrade. It just worked. Nothing broke, all packages installed as requested and I didn't even have to stop working while the upgrade was in progress. (well I did restart the Xserver after) This is ridiculous! I had fully prepared myself to fix any problems that might arise. I wanted to reconfigure my xorg a couple of times and fiddle w/ the soundcard. I wanted the partitioner to screw up my table but noooooo everything was just working. I wanted to wipe my drive clean and reinstall 2 or 3 times just to make sure it was ME screwing up the installation. Alas it was not to be.

If the Debian devs keep releasing stuff like this then we are going to have all sorts of people using Debian and saying things like "Oh I did an apt-get upgrade and it worked" and then what!? We'll have Debian users galore!

Well after some search-engining (doesn't have the same ring as 'googling' does it?) now I know what to do......next time I'll buy a machine specifically designed for Windows (see *NOTE* at bottom), install the latest flavor-of-the-month-Debian-wanna-be-rip-off and see if I can't find some problems.

I hear it's possible if you're Feisty enough. ;)

*NOTE*
According to my sources, Windows is actually not a virus as most people think but instead it's a hobby operating system that some people like to use for virus & spyware experiments but will most likely never be ready for actual end-users like myself.
Debian Sid Laptops:
AMD Athlon(tm) 64 X2 Dual-Core Processor TK-55 / 1.5G
Intel(R) Pentium(R) Dual CPU T2390 @ 1.86GHz / 3G
User avatar
mzilikazi
Forum Ninja
 
Posts: 3321
Joined: 2004-09-16 02:14
Location: Colorado Springs, CO

Postby sinical » 2007-04-23 13:28

Yeah it works.. but no 3d if you got a ATi card. But then again, thats Ati's fault. :oops:
Every cloud has a silver lining, except for the mushroom shaped ones, which have a lining of Strontium 90.
---------------------------------------------
umop apisdn
User avatar
sinical
 
Posts: 1022
Joined: 2007-03-25 11:52

Postby rickh » 2007-04-23 14:00

but no 3d if you got a ATi card.


My ATI card was working perfectly until yesterday, and I think the problem may be bigger than ATI. I'm hoping for a fix shortly, but it's definitely a time for caution..
Last edited by rickh on 2007-04-23 14:06, edited 1 time in total.
Debian-Lenny/Sid 32/64
Desktop: Generic Core 2 Duo, EVGA 680i, Nvidia
Laptop: Generic Intel SIS/AC97
User avatar
rickh
 
Posts: 3473
Joined: 2006-06-29 02:13
Location: Albuquerque, NM USA

Postby Xylock » 2007-04-23 14:02

Sounds like a good time to dist-upgrade then :D
Using rm -rvf * to remove old backups... lazy.
Realising you were in / as root ... priceless.
Xylock
 
Posts: 43
Joined: 2007-04-11 13:28

Postby garrincha » 2007-04-23 14:10

I actually did a new Etch installation about a month ago and shortly after it went stable, I dist-upgraded to Sid, at first everything worked fine but gradually later on I started to have some dependencies problems with some packages being held back (note I have experimental repo for XFCE4, Gimp 2.3 and some more). Some of the times it wouldn't install some packages, messed up my installation and I had to fix it. I discovered though that if you wait for at least 48 hours before doing upgrading, the dependencies will be resolved and packages will be installed and upgraded without problem.
Maurice Green on Usain Bolt's 9.58: "The Earth stopped for a second, and he went to Mars."
User avatar
garrincha
 
Posts: 2340
Joined: 2006-06-02 16:38

Postby GMouse » 2007-04-23 17:07

You could write a shell script that acts as a front-end to apt-get or aptitude, basically just calling the program and passing the arguments along, but set up to maybe delete a random file from /bin /lib /usr/bin or /usr/lib. That way, you get random breakages most times you update, and have to spend a while searching for a fix.

It's a bit of a hack, but with Debian as it is these days, it may be all you can do. Maybe the devs will integrate such functionality at some later date.

Hope that helps.
User avatar
GMouse
 
Posts: 280
Joined: 2007-03-02 22:28
Location: Ohio, USA

Postby timdsmith » 2007-04-23 17:22

Try this if you want updates to regularly break your system...
http://fedoraproject.org/wiki/
:P
AMD Athlon XP 2400
Debian ETCH
User avatar
timdsmith
 
Posts: 27
Joined: 2006-12-08 21:17
Location: The Colony, Tx

Postby Pobega » 2007-04-23 17:29

Just use the Ubuntu repositories, and run a dist-upgrade.
Jabber: pobega@gmail.com
Pronunciation: Poh - Bay - Guh
User avatar
Pobega
 
Posts: 870
Joined: 2007-01-04 04:30
Location: New York

Postby ghostdawg » 2007-04-23 17:33

This not Debian a few years ago....most things will just work, but during the Etch upgrade, some things may act weird.
Tower | Debian Testing & Mageia 1 | HP DX5150 AMD64 | 512gb | 40gb
AAO | Mandriva 2010.2 | Intel Atom | 1gb | 160gb
Mini Mac G4 | Debian & OSX | 1gb | 60gb
User avatar
ghostdawg
 
Posts: 1094
Joined: 2006-08-29 03:39
Location: STLMO

Postby GMouse » 2007-04-23 17:36

ghostdawg wrote:This not Debian a few years ago....most things will just work, but during the Etch upgrade, some things may act weird.


So you're saying that we're dealing with a regression here, then?
User avatar
GMouse
 
Posts: 280
Joined: 2007-03-02 22:28
Location: Ohio, USA

Postby ghostdawg » 2007-04-23 17:40

No, just some things going into SID probably faster than normal. :roll:
Tower | Debian Testing & Mageia 1 | HP DX5150 AMD64 | 512gb | 40gb
AAO | Mandriva 2010.2 | Intel Atom | 1gb | 160gb
Mini Mac G4 | Debian & OSX | 1gb | 60gb
User avatar
ghostdawg
 
Posts: 1094
Joined: 2006-08-29 03:39
Location: STLMO

Postby thamarok » 2007-04-23 18:50

If you want to break your system apt-get upgrade to Experimental :)
thamarok
 

Postby jml » 2007-04-23 21:03

timdsmith wrote:Try this if you want updates to regularly break your system...
http://fedoraproject.org/wiki/
:P



Arrgh!! My eyes! That link should have a parental advisory on it. :wink:

Joe
Never meddle in the affairs of dragons, for you are crunchy and good with catsup.
jml
 
Posts: 217
Joined: 2006-10-26 19:51
Location: Albert Lea, Minnesota

Postby mzilikazi » 2007-04-23 21:14

Just got Nvidia 9755 from unstable - workin fine.
XFCE4.4.1 is *almost* all the way in too!
Debian Sid Laptops:
AMD Athlon(tm) 64 X2 Dual-Core Processor TK-55 / 1.5G
Intel(R) Pentium(R) Dual CPU T2390 @ 1.86GHz / 3G
User avatar
mzilikazi
Forum Ninja
 
Posts: 3321
Joined: 2004-09-16 02:14
Location: Colorado Springs, CO

Postby Vergil » 2007-04-24 00:37

thamarok wrote:If you want to break your system apt-get upgrade to Experimental :)

And you can't mix it with sid either. Just pure experimental :twisted:
User avatar
Vergil
 
Posts: 181
Joined: 2007-04-22 04:54
Location: Tennessee, US

Next

Return to Offtopic

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests

fashionable