When Stretch becomes stable can I change my sources?

New to Debian (Or Linux in general)? Ask your questions here!

Re: When Stretch becomes stable can I change my sources?

Postby TonyT » 2017-06-19 17:25

dasein wrote:
TonyT wrote:As I understand it, presently, Stretch and Testing are pretty much the same thing

NO. As of yesterday, Stretch and Stable are the same.

TonyT wrote:I want to continue using testing, thus I can keep my sources list as they are. Am I correct?

At the risk of sounding harsh, if you have to ask this question, if you don't understand Debian's release model, if you don't have even a basic understanding of sources.list, then you are nowhere near ready to run Testing.

(Doubly so given that you've been dabbling in Debian for over ten years... and you haven't mastered even these basics.)

You would do well to stick with Stretch, particularly now. Major breakage in Testing is typical immediately after the freeze.

I've been using Debian since Woody, still have a Woody server I built for a business database on a LAN in 2001 (no Internet).
I never experienced a freeze when testing became stable before because I always ran Sid on my laptops with no trouble at all.
And correct me if I'm wrong, but I believe testing has a newer kernel than Stretch now.
TonyT
 
Posts: 475
Joined: 2006-09-04 11:57

Re: When Stretch becomes stable can I change my sources?

Postby phenest » 2017-06-19 18:33

TonyT wrote:And correct me if I'm wrong, but I believe testing has a newer kernel than Stretch now.

Then I'll correct you. Sid has the same kernel version today as Stretch.
Check here: https://packages.debian.org/stretch/linux-image-amd64
NEC Spirit 550 P4 3.8GHz HT - 2GB RAM - nVidia 7600GT - Pioneer BDR-209DBK
ASUS Sabertooth P67 i7 3770K - 32GB RAM - 2x nVidia 660GTX SLI'd
User avatar
phenest
 
Posts: 1571
Joined: 2010-03-09 09:38
Location: The Matrix

Re: When Stretch becomes stable can I change my sources?

Postby Lysander » 2017-06-19 18:33

TonyT wrote:I never experienced a freeze when testing became stable before because I always ran Sid on my laptops with no trouble at all.


I think he meant a freeze as in development blocking.
User avatar
Lysander
 
Posts: 280
Joined: 2017-02-23 10:07
Location: London

Re: When Stretch becomes stable can I change my sources?

Postby TonyT » 2017-06-19 20:33

Lysander wrote:
TonyT wrote:I never experienced a freeze when testing became stable before because I always ran Sid on my laptops with no trouble at all.


I think he meant a freeze as in development blocking.

yes, that freeze.
TonyT
 
Posts: 475
Joined: 2006-09-04 11:57

Re: When Stretch becomes stable can I change my sources?

Postby Lysander » 2017-06-20 10:39

OK, I was just not sure what you meant when you said you've never experienced a freeze before, but it's very possible that I'm missing something.
User avatar
Lysander
 
Posts: 280
Joined: 2017-02-23 10:07
Location: London

Previous

Return to Beginners Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests

fashionable