replace firefox esr with firefox 59

New to Debian (Or Linux in general)? Ask your questions here!

replace firefox esr with firefox 59

Postby smily01 » 2018-04-18 16:37

Hello,

I'm new to Debian. Because of certain addons (keepassxc-browser) I would like to use firefox 59.02. In Firefox 52 I can't use this addon. Now my question is: How can I replace Firefox esr with Firefox 59.02. What I already tried is https://blog.sombex.com/2018/01/install ... repos.html. I cannot download the addon because it says that I'm using Firefox esr. How can I solve this problem?>

I thank you for your response!
smily01
 
Posts: 7
Joined: 2017-11-16 13:42

Re: replace firefox esr with firefox 59

Postby Head_on_a_Stick » 2018-04-18 16:44

smily01 wrote:https://blog.sombex.com/2018/01/install-firefox-quantum-on-debian-9-stretch-without-using-thirdparty-repos.html

What a ridiculous "guide" :roll:

Just unpack the tarball in your home folder and run it from there, no need to use `sudo` at all ;)
User avatar
Head_on_a_Stick
 
Posts: 8015
Joined: 2014-06-01 17:46
Location: /dev/chair

Re: replace firefox esr with firefox 59

Postby GarryRicketson » 2018-04-18 16:46

I was about to say the same thing, but you beat me to it, I wouldn't use that
blog, that is for sure.
User avatar
GarryRicketson
 
Posts: 5134
Joined: 2015-01-20 22:16
Location: Durango, Mexico

Re: replace firefox esr with firefox 59

Postby Bulkley » 2018-04-18 17:11

Head_on_a_Stick wrote:What a ridiculous "guide" :roll:


Agreed.

Check this thread.
Bulkley
 
Posts: 5633
Joined: 2006-02-11 18:35

Re: replace firefox esr with firefox 59

Postby stevepusser » 2018-04-18 17:41

Well, it would be fine if you just replace /opt/firefox with ~/firefox in all the commands, so it's just half-baked.
The MX Linux repositories: Backports galore! If we don't have something, just ask and we'll try--we like challenges. New packages: Kdenlive 18.08.1, Pale Moon 28.1.0, wine-staging 3.17, qBittorrent 4.1.3, Liquorix kernel 4.18-13, Audacity 2.3.0
User avatar
stevepusser
 
Posts: 10015
Joined: 2009-10-06 05:53

Re: replace firefox esr with firefox 59

Postby HuangLao » 2018-04-19 00:08

Head_on_a_Stick wrote:
smily01 wrote:https://blog.sombex.com/2018/01/install-firefox-quantum-on-debian-9-stretch-without-using-thirdparty-repos.html

What a ridiculous "guide" :roll:

Just unpack the tarball in your home folder and run it from there, no need to use `sudo` at all ;)



you need sudo to infect/cleanse/rampage through the system. :twisted:
User avatar
HuangLao
 
Posts: 460
Joined: 2015-01-27 01:31

Re: replace firefox esr with firefox 59

Postby HuangLao » 2018-04-19 00:11

stevepusser wrote:Well, it would be fine if you just replace /opt/firefox with ~/firefox in all the commands, so it's just half-baked.



where is the fun in being half baked? https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TjIWLOBTasA
User avatar
HuangLao
 
Posts: 460
Joined: 2015-01-27 01:31

Re: replace firefox esr with firefox 59

Postby None1975 » 2018-04-19 13:21

Man, don't blindly follow bad advice! There's a lot of bad advice on the Internet. Tutorials found on blogs, forums and other sites often include instructions that will break your system in subtle ways. Don't simply follow the first advice you find, or the tutorial that seems the easiest. Spend some time reading the documentation and compare the difference between tutorials. It's better to take the time to figure out the correct way to do something first than spending even more time fixing a broken system later. You would not let some random stranger feed your baby; do not execute commands without first understanding what they do. And yes, DontBreakDebian!
Image
OS: Debian 9.5 / WM: Xmonad
Debian Wiki | DontBreakDebian, My config files in github
Linux User #607425
User avatar
None1975
 
Posts: 654
Joined: 2015-11-29 18:23
Location: Lithuania, Vilnius

Re: replace firefox esr with firefox 59

Postby smily01 » 2018-04-19 16:17

Hi!,

Thank you for your answers! The advice this blog gave me , was also mentioned on other blogs.
smily01
 
Posts: 7
Joined: 2017-11-16 13:42

Re: replace firefox esr with firefox 59

Postby stevepusser » 2018-04-19 18:13

There's lots of blogs that say lots of very stupid things, like the Food Babe's, Goop, flat-earthers, or antivaxxer's. Volume does not equal correctness.
The MX Linux repositories: Backports galore! If we don't have something, just ask and we'll try--we like challenges. New packages: Kdenlive 18.08.1, Pale Moon 28.1.0, wine-staging 3.17, qBittorrent 4.1.3, Liquorix kernel 4.18-13, Audacity 2.3.0
User avatar
stevepusser
 
Posts: 10015
Joined: 2009-10-06 05:53

Re: replace firefox esr with firefox 59

Postby HuangLao » 2018-04-19 19:25

smily01 wrote:Hi!,

Thank you for your answers! The advice this blog gave me , was also mentioned on other blogs.


So...why exactly are you asking this question? Seems you found your confirmation, so proceed down your chosen path at your risk, just know those blogs probably will not offer any support for leaving your system with a 7 year itch.
User avatar
HuangLao
 
Posts: 460
Joined: 2015-01-27 01:31

Re: replace firefox esr with firefox 59

Postby jibberjabber » 2018-04-19 22:01

From the above mentioned "blog"
First of all open a terminal and change your current directory to desktop by typing 'Desktop' without quote on terminal.Now download the package,

Does Debian not use the "cd" command, any more ? just typing the name of directory in the terminal doe not work for me ? :mrgreen:
Code: Select all
$ Desktop   
ksh: Desktop: cannot execute - Is a directory
 
written by HelpBot#8453
Alias jibberjabber
I am sorry, my english is not that good, and I sometimes have other problems,so my response might not be perfect.
N5RLX > "Jibber jabber ,all day and all night, jibber jabber jibber jabber"
jibberjabber
 
Posts: 119
Joined: 2016-01-10 16:58

Re: replace firefox esr with firefox 59

Postby Bulkley » 2018-04-19 22:51

jibberjabber wrote:Does Debian not use the "cd" command, any more ? just typing the name of directory in the terminal doe not work for me ? :mrgreen:
Code: Select all
$ Desktop   
ksh: Desktop: cannot execute - Is a directory
 


This works for me.
Code: Select all
cd Desktop
Bulkley
 
Posts: 5633
Joined: 2006-02-11 18:35

Re: replace firefox esr with firefox 59

Postby jibberjabber » 2018-04-20 02:39

Thanks, but the blog says:
"change your current directory to desktop by typing 'Desktop' without quote on terminal"


Same for me , this works:
Code: Select all
$ cd Desktop
$ pwd
/home/papaparrot/Desktop
$
 


This:
Just unpack the tarball in your home folder and run it from there, no need to use `sudo` at all

worked fine for me, I don't have "sudo", and had no problem.
Image

by HuangLao »---snip--you need sudo to infect/cleanse/rampage through the system.

But, why would any one want to do that to their system ? I don't think I will install that.
written by HelpBot#8453
Alias jibberjabber
I am sorry, my english is not that good, and I sometimes have other problems,so my response might not be perfect.
N5RLX > "Jibber jabber ,all day and all night, jibber jabber jibber jabber"
jibberjabber
 
Posts: 119
Joined: 2016-01-10 16:58


Return to Beginners Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests

fashionable