[SOLVED] only Openbox has no Right Click for Touchpad

New to Debian (Or Linux in general)? Ask your questions here!

Re: Fresh install, Openbox no menu, no keyboard shortcuts re

Postby rabidfox » 2013-10-22 16:31

Excellent idea.

I plugged in a mouse, and its right click brings up the menu.

Sadly, no reply from the touchpad. Now we know what it is! But how to fix it?
rabidfox
 
Posts: 20
Joined: 2011-02-09 22:39

Re: Fresh install, Openbox no menu, no keyboard shortcuts re

Postby kiyop » 2013-10-22 16:36

I have similar issue (right-click does not show root-menu) on a debian machine since I updated squeeze to wheezy several months ago.
I solved the issue on a debian machine by removing (purging) all packages relating to xorg and openbox and reinstalling xorg and openbox several months ago.
But on one of my machine, I did not solve by the above method. I modified ~/.config/openbox/rc.xml so that pressing ALT+q shows root-menu.
Code: Select all
    <keybind key="A-Q">
      <action name="ShowMenu">
        <menu>root-menu</menu>
      </action>
    </keybind>

In my case, I do not use touchpad. I use mouse.
Last edited by kiyop on 2013-10-22 16:44, edited 3 times in total.
Openbox: Wheezy, Sid, Arch / Win XP (on VirtualBox) and 7
http://kiyoandkei.bbs.fc2.com/
User avatar
kiyop
 
Posts: 2239
Joined: 2011-05-05 15:16
Location: Where persons without desire to improve themselves fear to tread, in Japan

Re: Fresh install, Openbox no menu, no keyboard shortcuts re

Postby MALsPa » 2013-10-22 16:38

Do you have xserver-org-input-synaptics installed? Sorry, don't know a lot about this because I use a mouse with my laptops -- I hate touchpads. But once (in the Sid-based Semplice Linux) I used synclient from that package to turn the touchpad off. See man synclient. Careful, I might be leading you down the wrong path with this.
MALsPa
 
Posts: 452
Joined: 2007-12-07 19:20
Location: albuquerque

Re: Fresh install, Openbox no menu, no keyboard shortcuts re

Postby rabidfox » 2013-10-22 16:41

I have xserver-org-input-synaptics, should I attempt to remove it?

I don't think the whole touchpad is off, since I can still move the cursor and maneuver between desktops.
rabidfox
 
Posts: 20
Joined: 2011-02-09 22:39

Re: Fresh install, Openbox no menu, no keyboard shortcuts re

Postby rabidfox » 2013-10-22 16:44

kiyop wrote:I have similar issue (right-click does not show root-menu), on a debian machine since I updated squeeze to wheezy.
I have solved the issue on a debian machine by removing (purging) all packages relating to xorg and openbox and reinstalling xorg and openbox.
I modified ~/.config/openbox/rc.xml so that pressing ALT+q shows root-menu.
Code: Select all
    <keybind key="A-Q">
      <action name="ShowMenu">
        <menu>root-menu</menu>
      </action>
    </keybind>

In my case, unpluging and re-pluging mouse does not solve the issue.


I tried putting that in my rc.xml, but no change.

I'm kind of sketched out about purging and reinstalling all the xorg stuff, is it really okay? It sounds dangerous to me. Do I have to do that outside of GNOME?
Last edited by rabidfox on 2013-10-22 16:46, edited 1 time in total.
rabidfox
 
Posts: 20
Joined: 2011-02-09 22:39

Re: Fresh install, Openbox no menu, no keyboard shortcuts re

Postby MALsPa » 2013-10-22 16:45

rabidfox wrote:I have xserver-org-input-synaptics, should I attempt to remove it?

I don't think you should remove it, but maybe run synclient -l to check the current user settings, as shown in man synclient.
MALsPa
 
Posts: 452
Joined: 2007-12-07 19:20
Location: albuquerque

Re: Fresh install, Openbox no menu, no keyboard shortcuts re

Postby kiyop » 2013-10-22 16:45

rabidfox wrote:I tried putting that in my rc.xml, but no change.

Did you "reconfigure" openbox? Did you reboot?
rabidfox wrote:I'm kind of sketched out about purging and reinstalling all the xorg stuff, is it really okay? It sounds dangerous to me.

DO NOT PURGE AND REINSTALL ALL THE XORG STUFF. :wink:
It seems really dangerous. :wink:
Last edited by kiyop on 2013-10-22 16:50, edited 2 times in total.
Openbox: Wheezy, Sid, Arch / Win XP (on VirtualBox) and 7
http://kiyoandkei.bbs.fc2.com/
User avatar
kiyop
 
Posts: 2239
Joined: 2011-05-05 15:16
Location: Where persons without desire to improve themselves fear to tread, in Japan

Re: Fresh install, Openbox no menu, no keyboard shortcuts re

Postby rabidfox » 2013-10-22 16:47

Code: Select all
if@Shriknaam:~$ synclient -l
Parameter settings:
    LeftEdge                = 130
    RightEdge               = 3130
    TopEdge                 = 114
    BottomEdge              = 2005
    FingerLow               = 1
    FingerHigh              = 1
    FingerPress             = 256
    MaxTapTime              = 180
    MaxTapMove              = 171
    MaxDoubleTapTime        = 180
    SingleTapTimeout        = 180
    ClickTime               = 100
    FastTaps                = 0
    EmulateMidButtonTime    = 75
    EmulateTwoFingerMinZ    = 282
    EmulateTwoFingerMinW    = 7
    VertScrollDelta         = 77
    HorizScrollDelta        = 77
    VertEdgeScroll          = 1
    HorizEdgeScroll         = 0
    CornerCoasting          = 0
    VertTwoFingerScroll     = 1
    HorizTwoFingerScroll    = 0
    MinSpeed                = 1
    MaxSpeed                = 1.75
    AccelFactor             = 0.0514403
    TrackstickSpeed         = 40
    EdgeMotionMinZ          = 30
    EdgeMotionMaxZ          = 160
    EdgeMotionMinSpeed      = 1
    EdgeMotionMaxSpeed      = 311
    EdgeMotionUseAlways     = 0
    TouchpadOff             = 0
    LockedDrags             = 0
    LockedDragTimeout       = 5000
    RTCornerButton          = 0
    RBCornerButton          = 0
    LTCornerButton          = 0
    LBCornerButton          = 0
    TapButton1              = 1
    TapButton2              = 0
    TapButton3              = 0
    ClickFinger1            = 1
    ClickFinger2            = 1
    ClickFinger3            = 1
    CircularScrolling       = 0
    CircScrollDelta         = 0.1
    CircScrollTrigger       = 0
    CircularPad             = 0
    PalmDetect              = 0
    PalmMinWidth            = 10
    PalmMinZ                = 200
    CoastingSpeed           = 20
    CoastingFriction        = 50
    PressureMotionMinZ      = 30
    PressureMotionMaxZ      = 160
    PressureMotionMinFactor = 1
    PressureMotionMaxFactor = 1
    GrabEventDevice         = 1
    TapAndDragGesture       = 1
    AreaLeftEdge            = 0
    AreaRightEdge           = 0
    AreaTopEdge             = 0
    AreaBottomEdge          = 0
    HorizHysteresis         = 19
    VertHysteresis          = 19
    ClickPad                = 0


I'll reboot now.

EDIT: I rebooted, no change.
rabidfox
 
Posts: 20
Joined: 2011-02-09 22:39

Re: Fresh install, Openbox no menu, no keyboard shortcuts re

Postby rabidfox » 2013-10-22 16:49

kiyop wrote:DO NOT PURGE AND REINSTALL ALL THE XORG STUFF. :wink:


Hee hee! Thanks.

How do I reconfigure?
rabidfox
 
Posts: 20
Joined: 2011-02-09 22:39

Re: Fresh install, Openbox no menu, no keyboard shortcuts re

Postby kiyop » 2013-10-22 16:51

rabidfox wrote:EDIT: I rebooted, no change.

It is a pity.
You need not reconfigure openbox if you have rebooted.
Openbox: Wheezy, Sid, Arch / Win XP (on VirtualBox) and 7
http://kiyoandkei.bbs.fc2.com/
User avatar
kiyop
 
Posts: 2239
Joined: 2011-05-05 15:16
Location: Where persons without desire to improve themselves fear to tread, in Japan

Re: Fresh install, Openbox no menu, no keyboard shortcuts re

Postby MALsPa » 2013-10-22 16:54

rabidfox wrote:How do I reconfigure?

Two good commands to know:

Code: Select all
openbox --reconfigure
openbox --restart
MALsPa
 
Posts: 452
Joined: 2007-12-07 19:20
Location: albuquerque

Re: Fresh install, Openbox no menu, no keyboard shortcuts re

Postby rabidfox » 2013-10-22 16:56

Thank you! What do I try next?

I put it here in the rc.xml, I think that's the right place:

Code: Select all
 <keyboard>
    <chainQuitKey>C-g</chainQuitKey>
    <!-- Keybindings for desktop switching -->
    <!-- TOUCHPAD MOD -->
    <keybind key="A-Q">
      <action name="ShowMenu">
        <menu>root-menu</menu>
      </action>
    </keybind>
    <!-- end TOUCHPAD MOD-->
    <keybind key="C-A-Left">
      <action name="GoToDesktop">
        <to>left</to>
        <wrap>no</wrap>
      </action>
    </keybind>
Last edited by rabidfox on 2013-10-22 16:58, edited 1 time in total.
rabidfox
 
Posts: 20
Joined: 2011-02-09 22:39

Re: Fresh install, Openbox no menu, no keyboard shortcuts re

Postby MALsPa » 2013-10-22 16:57

rabidfox wrote:I plugged in a mouse, and its right click brings up the menu.

Sadly, no reply from the touchpad. Now we know what it is! But how to fix it?

Sorry, that's over my head, hope someone else can help you with that. Other than the touchpad, are things looking okay so far?
MALsPa
 
Posts: 452
Joined: 2007-12-07 19:20
Location: albuquerque

Re: Fresh install, Openbox no menu, no keyboard shortcuts re

Postby rabidfox » 2013-10-22 16:59

Everything else is beautiful, thanks! I'm glad I finally was able to get this through EFI bootloader hell.
rabidfox
 
Posts: 20
Joined: 2011-02-09 22:39

Re: Fresh install, Openbox no menu, no keyboard shortcuts re

Postby kiyop » 2013-10-22 17:00

How about reading https://wiki.debian.org/SynapticsTouchpad ?
And in my case, I put the lines about A-Q after "<!-- Keybindings for window switching -->"
Openbox: Wheezy, Sid, Arch / Win XP (on VirtualBox) and 7
http://kiyoandkei.bbs.fc2.com/
User avatar
kiyop
 
Posts: 2239
Joined: 2011-05-05 15:16
Location: Where persons without desire to improve themselves fear to tread, in Japan

PreviousNext

Return to Beginners Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: stevepusser and 15 guests

fashionable