Update via terminal?

New to Debian (Or Linux in general)? Ask your questions here!

Update via terminal?

Postby joemartin » 2015-07-29 00:59

Does Debian 8 have a Software Updater or is the appropriate way to update via terminal?

Thanks for the information.
joemartin
 
Posts: 51
Joined: 2009-05-17 12:38

Re: Update via terminal?

Postby Bulkley » 2015-07-29 02:04

You can install Synaptic which is pretty good these days. I advise doing major upgrades by using CLI on a console.
Bulkley
 
Posts: 5848
Joined: 2006-02-11 18:35

Re: Update via terminal?

Postby GarryRicketson » 2015-07-29 02:21

Normally "synaptic package manager" is installed by default, it is in the menu, "system" "administration" It will ask you to enter your password before you can use it, if your "user" password does not work, the root password will.
User avatar
GarryRicketson
 
Posts: 5877
Joined: 2015-01-20 22:16
Location: Durango, Mexico

Re: Update via terminal?

Postby Head_on_a_Stick » 2015-07-29 10:58

joemartin wrote:Does Debian 8 have a Software Updater

The old updater had gone, it has been replaced with the GNOME equivalent.
https://packages.debian.org/jessie/gnome-packagekit

This is based on patchy memory of other posts on this issue so I may be wrong here.

At any rate, I also advise performing updates from the command line as much more information is provided that way.
Don't break DebianHow to report bugs

SharpBang GNU/Linux — a pre-configured Openbox/Tint2 desktop running on Debian stable
User avatar
Head_on_a_Stick
 
Posts: 10691
Joined: 2014-06-01 17:46
Location: /dev/chair

Re: Update via terminal?

Postby otyugh » 2015-07-29 11:05

Does it perform the flashplayer update ? Most of people I know are addicted to this thing :s
otyugh
 
Posts: 41
Joined: 2014-06-17 23:11

Re: Update via terminal?

Postby Head_on_a_Stick » 2015-07-29 11:11

otyugh wrote:Does it perform the flashplayer update ?

I don't know, I never use GUIs for package management.

To update FlashPlayer, use:
Code: Select all
# update-flashplugin-nonfree --install

https://wiki.debian.org/FlashPlayer

It may be worth making this a daily cron job to ensure automatic updates of such a vulnerable piece of software.

Guide here:
http://crunchbang.org/forums/viewtopic.php?pid=367732
Don't break DebianHow to report bugs

SharpBang GNU/Linux — a pre-configured Openbox/Tint2 desktop running on Debian stable
User avatar
Head_on_a_Stick
 
Posts: 10691
Joined: 2014-06-01 17:46
Location: /dev/chair

Re: Update via terminal?

Postby @zephyr » 2015-07-29 19:36

If you are running testing or sid, smxi is an excellent way to keep your PC updated and also fix and install other apps. It can be found herehttp://smxi.org/site/install.htm. Just follow directions and use ctrl+alt+F1. You will need an administrators password. This is how I keep all my sid installs updated. Thanks-zephyr
ZephyrLinux
User avatar
@zephyr
 
Posts: 18
Joined: 2014-09-17 21:34
Location: Apache, Oklahoma USA

Re: Update via terminal?

Postby jesus92gz » 2015-07-29 21:02

How to update your system?
Code: Select all
# apt-get update && apt-get upgrade


You could set up a cron job or anacron job to run this command (customised, along with -y option, for example) automatically and, mailing some user or saving the logs with the result. https://wiki.debian.org/CronAnacronAtBatchSchedulers

I normally update manually with command when the computer starts and periodically. This is because it is a personal computer and I'm not that worried in keeping my system up to date, since I'm not offering any services, but in a server I would advise to create a custom cron job.
jesus92gz
 
Posts: 121
Joined: 2015-02-06 18:07

Re: Update via terminal?

Postby vinnywright » 2015-07-30 01:08

I prefer to use the "dist-upgrade" option ,,,, like
Code: Select all
sudo apt-get update && sudo apt-get dist-upgrade


"dist-upgrade" will allow for removing and replacing with a new ver. "upgrade" will not .

so lets say " package-X-ver-1 " gets upgraded to ver-2 ,,,,,,,,, "upgrade" will only install updates to ver-1 and will not remove ver-1 for ver-2 ,,,,,,,,,"dist-upgrade" will remove ver-1 and move you to ver-2 and whatever depends as well.

VINNY
system76 Bonox8
i7 4core HT 8MB L3 2.9GHz
16GB RAM
Nvidia GTX 860M 4GB RAM 1152 cuda cores
Image
User avatar
vinnywright
 
Posts: 22
Joined: 2015-06-07 20:40

Re: Update via terminal?

Postby Randicus » 2015-07-30 04:02

vinnywright wrote:"dist-upgrade" will allow for removing and replacing with a new ver. "upgrade" will not .
With Testing and Sid, but not with Stable, since Stable does not receive newer packages. I assume someone asking how to install updates is using Stable. Hopefully the OP will not be confused.
Randicus
 
Posts: 2664
Joined: 2011-05-08 09:11

Re: Update via terminal?

Postby millpond » 2015-08-01 05:48

Head_on_a_Stick wrote:
joemartin wrote:Does Debian 8 have a Software Updater

The old updater had gone, it has been replaced with the GNOME equivalent.
https://packages.debian.org/jessie/gnome-packagekit

This is based on patchy memory of other posts on this issue so I may be wrong here.

At any rate, I also advise performing updates from the command line as much more information is provided that way.


Debian shold still have the 'auto-update' feature (I dont use it).
For Stable where there are normally only modest amount of packages, the command line is probably simplest if not autoupdating.

But for a flood of packages, as in a dist-upgrade or testing updates, personally I find Synaptic preferable. It will let you know if packages are trying to delete key programs. or create dependency problems. Often, after installing around the problem files, the dependency problems fix themselves. Also synaptic has the option to 'fix broken packages' that often resolves dependency problems.
millpond
 
Posts: 658
Joined: 2014-06-25 04:56

Re: Update via terminal?

Postby kiyop » 2015-08-01 07:23

millpond wrote:Also synaptic has the option to 'fix broken packages' that often resolves dependency problems.

Is the option different from "apt-get install -f"?

$ man apt-get
gives:
-f, --fix-broken
Fix; attempt to correct a system with broken dependencies in place.
This option, when used with install/remove, can omit any packages
to permit APT to deduce a likely solution. If packages are
specified, these have to completely correct the problem. The option
is sometimes necessary when running APT for the first time; APT
itself does not allow broken package dependencies to exist on a
system. It is possible that a system's dependency structure can be
so corrupt as to require manual intervention (which usually means
using dpkg --remove to eliminate some of the offending packages).
Use of this option together with -m may produce an error in some
situations. Configuration Item: APT::Get::Fix-Broken.


I also often use
Code: Select all
dpkg --configure -a
Openbox, JWM: Jessie, Sid, Arch / Win XP (on VirtualBox), 10
http://kiyoandkei.bbs.fc2.com/
User avatar
kiyop
 
Posts: 3984
Joined: 2011-05-05 15:16
Location: Where persons without desire to improve themselves fear to tread, in Japan

Re: Update via terminal?

Postby kiyop » 2015-08-01 07:27

Randicus wrote:
vinnywright wrote:"dist-upgrade" will allow for removing and replacing with a new ver. "upgrade" will not .
With Testing and Sid, but not with Stable, since Stable does not receive newer packages.

Does it mean that "apt-get dist-upgrade" is useless on stable?
I know that stable does not install newer version of packages.

Reminder for myself:
https://www.debian.org/doc/manuals/apt- ... #s-upgrade
Openbox, JWM: Jessie, Sid, Arch / Win XP (on VirtualBox), 10
http://kiyoandkei.bbs.fc2.com/
User avatar
kiyop
 
Posts: 3984
Joined: 2011-05-05 15:16
Location: Where persons without desire to improve themselves fear to tread, in Japan


Return to Beginners Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests

fashionable