[Solved] Why isn't Gnuzilla in Debian repositories

New to Debian (Or Linux in general)? Ask your questions here!

[Solved] Why isn't Gnuzilla in Debian repositories

Postby bertenvdb » 2015-10-13 19:20

Hi,

I'm relatively new to Gnu/Linux. Been using Debian Wheezy/Jessie, Crunchbang and BunsenLabs for about 2.5 years now.I was wondering why gnuzilla or icecat aren't available to install using repositories?

Not being able to install Gnuzilla or it's components through aptitude or apt seems a bit strange. Obviously, I like to keep packages such as these up-to-date for security reasons but having to regularly check this manually, this seems so big a hassle to do without apt.

What am I missing here?
Last edited by bertenvdb on 2015-10-14 02:08, edited 1 time in total.
bertenvdb

Re: Why isn't Gnuzilla in Debian repositories

Postby cronoik » 2015-10-13 19:50

You aren't missing anything. Nobody has packaged icecat or gnuzilla for Debian and therefore it isn't in the officialy repositories. As far as I know there is also no third party repository which you can use with apt. It looks like debianites are happy with Iceweasel and Icedove. :)
Have a nice day!
cronoik

Postby pcalvert » 2015-10-13 20:08

The full GNUzilla is not actively updated. The last release of full GNUzilla was 24.0, on October 16, 2013. "The current focus is on GNU IceCat, our browser derived from Mozilla Firefox."

Source:
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Gnuzilla

I recommend using SeaMonkey instead of GNUzilla.

Phil
pcalvert

Postby bertenvdb » 2015-10-14 02:06

That makes sense.

I've been using Iceweasel and Icedove since I've switched to Linux and am very happy with them.

Why I asked this: