Scheduled Maintenance: We are aware of an issue with Google, AOL, and Yahoo services as email providers which are blocking new registrations. We are trying to fix the issue and we have several internal and external support tickets in process to resolve the issue. Please see: viewtopic.php?t=158230

Unable to boot Debian

New to Debian (Or Linux in general)? Ask your questions here!
napoletano

Unable to boot Debian

#1 Post by napoletano »

Hello, I am brand new to Debian, but not to Linux (8 years as an Ubuntu user), and therefore probably qualify as a beginner. I am having two problems with Debian at the moment that may or may not be related. I will state the problems first, and then describe the system I'm using. The problems are:

1) If I boot using secure boot and UEFI, I end up in grub with the option to boot to Ubuntu or launch the Windows boot manager in /dev/sda1, but no option to boot Debian. However, if boot using legacy boot, I land in what appears to be a boot menu specific to Debian that allows me to boot to Debian or Ubuntu, but does not list Windows as an option. The question is, How do I get all three on one menu, preferably with secure boot and UEFI?

2) When I do boot into Debian, when I select "Debian" as the boot option, the machine just lands in a black screen. I think that the power is still on, but the screen is entirely black, and the keyboard entirely unresponsive. Pressing Ctrl + Alt + Delete does not trigger a reboot, and Ctrl + Alt + Fx does not load a TTY screen. The only option is a hard reboot. The odd thing is that Debian worked the first time I booted into it.