Scheduled Maintenance: We are aware of an issue with Google, AOL, and Yahoo services as email providers which are blocking new registrations. We are trying to fix the issue and we have several internal and external support tickets in process to resolve the issue. Please see: viewtopic.php?t=158230

downloading problem

New to Debian (Or Linux in general)? Ask your questions here!
helpme

downloading problem

#1 Post by helpme »

hey everyone! please help me :( ..i am new to linux and i have little problem..when i was installing linux debian, i installed it from CD..now if i want download something, install packages or update it doesnt go..i tried anything but it still doesnt work..still the same errors, for example that the package couldnt be find..or for updates were used old versions of programmes..or the code cant be used for adding new CDs..do someone know why is it like this? could it be because of the (maybe) default downloading from CD? can i set it somehow to download normally from network? thanks for answer from anybody x)

arochester
Emeritus
Emeritus

Re: downloading problem

#2 Post by arochester »

still the same errors
EXACTLY, EXACTLY what error messages do you get?

Are you connected to the Internet?

In a Terminal
Become Root by typing

Code: Select all

su
Then type

apt update
When that finishes type

apt upgrade
When that finishes type

apt install frozen-bubble
If you get ANY error messages tell us EXACTLY what error messages you get.

Have a look at https://www.linux.com/learn/return-root ... ted-debian

debiman

#3 Post by debiman »

please, open a terminal and enter this command:

cat /etc/apt/sources.list{,.d/*}
ls /etc/apt/sources.list{,.d/*}
and copy-paste the output here, between code tags if possible.

GarryRicketson

#4 Post by GarryRicketson »

Have you tried this ?
how to install packages on Debian

This goes into all of the details of installing packages
https://www.debian.org/doc/manuals/debi ... 02.en.html