Gnome and memory use

New to Debian (Or Linux in general)? Ask your questions here!

Gnome and memory use

Postby Widgeteye » 2017-03-04 17:16

I came in the computer room this morning and looked up at conky and saw:
Ram Used: 4.7 GiB Ram Total: 7.82 GiB, Seeing that over 4 Gig was being used, I of course freaked, so I brought up top to see what was using all the ram and saw that nothing was using all that ram. lol
It was all in buffers, shared and caches. Over 3 gig was in cache. I have never seen this much ram in cache and I'm wondering if Gnome is putting this ram in cache, which is fine because Debian/Gnome is a lot faster than some of the other distributions I've tried. Mint for instance took 20 seconds to bring up Chromium and 10 seconds to bring up Firefox. On Debian/Gnome each one pops up almost instantly. I am really liking Debian, I think I tried all the distributions out there and many of them fell short of the mark. I used Slackware for over 20 years and loved it but it does not have a dependency tracking package manager and to be honest I am just getting too damned old to sit in this chair hour upon hour tracking down dependencies, building and installing. But I digress.......

Any thoughts on this memory thing? This is not a complaint, I am just surprised at the amount of caching and buffering, which I suppose is a good thing. lol

Thanks
Widgeteye
 
Posts: 10
Joined: 2017-02-10 19:49

Re: Gnome and memory use

Postby Head_on_a_Stick » 2017-03-04 17:37

“Controlling complexity is the essence of computer programming."Brian Kernighan

Please read before posting How to report a problem
User avatar
Head_on_a_Stick
 
Posts: 6491
Joined: 2014-06-01 17:46
Location: /dev/chair

Re: Gnome and memory use

Postby bw123 » 2017-03-04 22:07

looked up at conky and saw:


conky is useful but is it part of gnome now? Maybe some searches, or 'man conky' can give you some tips about getting it to report better information.
User avatar
bw123
 
Posts: 2378
Joined: 2011-05-09 06:02
Location: TN_USA

Re: Gnome and memory use

Postby debiman » 2017-03-06 06:43

what are the conky commands to display ram usage?
do you have a "no_buffers yes/no" line in there?
User avatar
debiman
 
Posts: 1086
Joined: 2013-03-12 07:18


Return to Beginners Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 10 guests

fashionable