kworker takes lot of cpu usage

New to Debian (Or Linux in general)? Ask your questions here!

kworker takes lot of cpu usage

Postby Laurentius » 2017-03-06 20:36

What is the kworker process?

Is it normal that it takes more than 60% of cpu?

Look at kworker/0:1 at the output of top
Code: Select all
canelon3@debtest:~$ top

top - 18:21:40 up 32 min,  2 users,  load average: 1,48, 1,63, 1,56
Tasks: 179 total,   2 running, 177 sleeping,   0 stopped,   0 zombie
%Cpu(s): 10,3 us, 32,1 sy,  0,0 ni, 56,5 id,  0,7 wa,  0,4 hi,  0,0 si,  0,0 st
KiB Mem:   2002336 total,  1872140 used,   130196 free,    25440 buffers
KiB Swap:  3071996 total,     9872 used,  3062124 free.   963576 cached Mem

  PID USER      PR  NI    VIRT    RES    SHR S  %CPU %MEM     TIME+ COMMAND   
 4729 root      20   0       0      0      0 R  63,7  0,0   8:03.46 kworker/0:1
 4532 canelon3  20   0  456796 113296  59472 S  11,0  5,7   2:55.08 clementine
 3034 root      20   0   89448  35148  21512 S   4,3  1,8   2:35.05 Xorg       
 4555 canelon3  20   0   82632  40756  32400 S   4,0  2,0   3:37.91 gnome-syst+
 3529 canelon3   9 -11  167636   8700   7060 S   2,3  0,4   0:50.52 pulseaudio
 4525 canelon3  20   0   45368   8632   6176 S   1,3  0,4   0:24.49 gvfsd-cdda
 3632 canelon3  20   0  451872 163456  45784 S   0,3  8,2   1:52.63 gnome-shell
 4372 root      20   0       0      0      0 S   0,3  0,0   0:00.33 usb-storage
 4598 canelon3  20   0  977876 328616  77060 S   0,3 16,4   2:23.90 firefox-esr
 4767 canelon3  20   0   71364  29184  23552 S   0,3  1,5   0:02.22 gnome-term+
 4775 canelon3  20   0    6832   3064   2656 R   0,3  0,2   0:00.28 top       
    1 root      20   0   23292   4072   3044 S   0,0  0,2   0:01.70 systemd   
    2 root      20   0       0      0      0 S   0,0  0,0   0:00.00 kthreadd   
    3 root      20   0       0      0      0 S   0,0  0,0   0:00.92 ksoftirqd/0
    4 root      39  19       0      0      0 S   0,0  0,0   9:50.51 kworker/0:0
    5 root       0 -20       0      0      0 S   0,0  0,0   0:00.00 kworker/0:+
    7 root      20   0       0      0      0 S   0,0  0,0   0:01.28 rcu_sched 


-----------------------
edit:
after an hour and with no other window opened, kworker is still using near 70% of cpu.
And the laptop is getting hot (77 °C)
I think that is not normal.

Should i fix that?
Laurentius
 
Posts: 21
Joined: 2017-01-14 00:52

Re: kworker takes lot of cpu usage

Postby bw123 » 2017-03-06 21:31

Should i fix that?


yeah that's pretty hot. There are a couple of decent threads on the net about kworker, and how to use perf or force a backtrace to dmesg, did you try any of them?

When you have an issue, it's good to pretend we're new acquaintences, and you get to brag about what computer you use, debian version, and stuff like that.

viewtopic.php?f=30&t=47078
User avatar
bw123
 
Posts: 2462
Joined: 2011-05-09 06:02
Location: TN_USA

Re: kworker takes lot of cpu usage

Postby Laurentius » 2017-03-08 02:28

Sorry.
I'm running debian Jessie. Gnome and Xfce. The same happen with kworker on both DE. I'm afraid it is "desktop agnostic".
I have read some threads on the net about kworker but don't know really what to do with them.

From http://askubuntu.com/questions/176565/w ... et-so-high
i got the suggestiont to "find out the "gpe" that is causing the bad stuff"

Code: Select all
canelon3@debtest:~$ grep . -r /sys/firmware/acpi/interrupts/
/sys/firmware/acpi/interrupts/sci:43586706
/sys/firmware/acpi/interrupts/error:       0
/sys/firmware/acpi/interrupts/gpe00:       0   invalid
/sys/firmware/acpi/interrupts/gpe01:       0   enabled
/sys/firmware/acpi/interrupts/gpe02:       0   invalid
/sys/firmware/acpi/interrupts/gpe03:43571896   enabled
/sys/firmware/acpi/interrupts/gpe04:   14797   disabled
/sys/firmware/acpi/interrupts/gpe05:       0   enabled
/sys/firmware/acpi/interrupts/gpe06:       6   enabled
/sys/firmware/acpi/interrupts/gpe07:       0   enabled
/sys/firmware/acpi/interrupts/gpe08:       0   invalid
/sys/firmware/acpi/interrupts/gpe09:       0   disabled
/sys/firmware/acpi/interrupts/gpe10:       0   invalid
/sys/firmware/acpi/interrupts/gpe11:       0   invalid
/sys/firmware/acpi/interrupts/gpe12:       0   invalid
/sys/firmware/acpi/interrupts/gpe13:       0   invalid
/sys/firmware/acpi/interrupts/gpe14:       0   invalid
/sys/firmware/acpi/interrupts/gpe15:       0   invalid
/sys/firmware/acpi/interrupts/gpe16:       0   invalid
/sys/firmware/acpi/interrupts/gpe0A:       0   invalid
/sys/firmware/acpi/interrupts/gpe17:      23   enabled
/sys/firmware/acpi/interrupts/gpe0B:       0   disabled
/sys/firmware/acpi/interrupts/gpe18:       0   invalid
/sys/firmware/acpi/interrupts/gpe0C:       0   enabled
/sys/firmware/acpi/interrupts/gpe19:       0   invalid
/sys/firmware/acpi/interrupts/gpe0D:       0   enabled
/sys/firmware/acpi/interrupts/gpe0E:       0   enabled
/sys/firmware/acpi/interrupts/gpe20:       0   enabled
/sys/firmware/acpi/interrupts/gpe0F:       0   invalid
/sys/firmware/acpi/interrupts/gpe21:       0   invalid
/sys/firmware/acpi/interrupts/gpe22:       0   invalid
/sys/firmware/acpi/interrupts/gpe23:       0   invalid
/sys/firmware/acpi/interrupts/gpe24:       0   invalid
/sys/firmware/acpi/interrupts/gpe25:       0   invalid
/sys/firmware/acpi/interrupts/gpe26:       0   invalid
/sys/firmware/acpi/interrupts/gpe1A:       0   invalid
/sys/firmware/acpi/interrupts/gpe27:       0   invalid
/sys/firmware/acpi/interrupts/gpe1B:       0   enabled
/sys/firmware/acpi/interrupts/gpe28:       0   invalid
/sys/firmware/acpi/interrupts/gpe1C:       0   disabled
/sys/firmware/acpi/interrupts/gpe29:       0   invalid
/sys/firmware/acpi/interrupts/gpe1D:       0   invalid
/sys/firmware/acpi/interrupts/gpe1E:       0   invalid
/sys/firmware/acpi/interrupts/gpe30:       0   invalid
/sys/firmware/acpi/interrupts/gpe1F:       0   invalid
/sys/firmware/acpi/interrupts/gpe31:       0   invalid
/sys/firmware/acpi/interrupts/gpe32:       0   invalid
/sys/firmware/acpi/interrupts/gpe33:       0   invalid
/sys/firmware/acpi/interrupts/gpe34:       0   invalid
/sys/firmware/acpi/interrupts/gpe35:       0   invalid
/sys/firmware/acpi/interrupts/gpe36:       0   invalid
/sys/firmware/acpi/interrupts/gpe2A:       0   invalid
/sys/firmware/acpi/interrupts/gpe37:       0   invalid
/sys/firmware/acpi/interrupts/gpe2B:       0   invalid
/sys/firmware/acpi/interrupts/gpe38:       0   invalid
/sys/firmware/acpi/interrupts/gpe2C:       0   invalid
/sys/firmware/acpi/interrupts/gpe39:       0   invalid
/sys/firmware/acpi/interrupts/gpe2D:       0   invalid
/sys/firmware/acpi/interrupts/gpe2E:       0   invalid
/sys/firmware/acpi/interrupts/gpe2F:       0   invalid
/sys/firmware/acpi/interrupts/gpe3A:       0   invalid
/sys/firmware/acpi/interrupts/gpe3B:       0   invalid
/sys/firmware/acpi/interrupts/gpe3C:       0   invalid
/sys/firmware/acpi/interrupts/gpe3D:       0   invalid
/sys/firmware/acpi/interrupts/gpe3E:       0   invalid
/sys/firmware/acpi/interrupts/gpe3F:       0   invalid
/sys/firmware/acpi/interrupts/sci_not:       1
/sys/firmware/acpi/interrupts/ff_pmtimer:       0   invalid
/sys/firmware/acpi/interrupts/ff_rt_clk:       0   disabled
/sys/firmware/acpi/interrupts/gpe_all:43586737
/sys/firmware/acpi/interrupts/ff_gbl_lock:       0   disabled
/sys/firmware/acpi/interrupts/ff_pwr_btn:       0   enabled
/sys/firmware/acpi/interrupts/ff_slp_btn:       0   invalid
canelon3@debtest:~$


Acordig to that output it seems there is a problem with gpe03. ¿is that correct? is that a path to follow?

My hardware information:
canelon3@debtest:~$ grep 'vendor_id' /proc/cpuinfo ; grep 'model name' /proc/cpuinfo ; grep 'cpu MHz' /proc/cpuinfo
vendor_id : GenuineIntel
vendor_id : GenuineIntel
model name : Pentium(R) Dual-Core CPU T4200 @ 2.00GHz
model name : Pentium(R) Dual-Core CPU T4200 @ 2.00GHz
cpu MHz : 2000.000
cpu MHz : 2000.000

Ram: 2 Gb DDR2 800MHz

Compaq Presario Cq40-305LA
Laurentius
 
Posts: 21
Joined: 2017-01-14 00:52

Re: kworker takes lot of cpu usage

Postby Laurentius » 2017-04-11 23:40

Well i could fix it but just partially disabling some gpe's and editig a script to disable them at start up.
But after resuming from suspend the kworker problem starts again and my usb mouse gets off.

I think ill try a fresh reinstall.
i've held to many issues.
Laurentius
 
Posts: 21
Joined: 2017-01-14 00:52


Return to Beginners Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests

fashionable