Scheduled Maintenance: We are aware of an issue with Google, AOL, and Yahoo services as email providers which are blocking new registrations. We are trying to fix the issue and we have several internal and external support tickets in process to resolve the issue. Please see: viewtopic.php?t=158230

Virtualbox DKMS error

New to Debian (Or Linux in general)? Ask your questions here!
weakV

Virtualbox DKMS error

#1 Post by weakV »

Hello,

I am new to debian, but i've been using linux for few months by now.
So I need to install virtualbox for some reasons and i get this DKMS error https://pastebin.com/gvm6ELdd.
I also looked at vbox-install.log but unfortunatley i don't know what am i looking for there (here is the output https://pastebin.com/XNXcQ8kX).

I would really apreciate any kind of help.

Segfault

Re: Virtualbox DKMS error

#2 Post by Segfault »

Code: Select all

error "CONFIG_X86_SMAP is only supported by 4.3 and higher. Please upgrade VirtualBox
That's your error, for some reason the version of VBox you are trying to install is too old. How exactly are you installing it, using apt?
Curious, you are using 32-bit Debian. Indicating you have a weak machine with less than 2 GB of RAM or not 64-bit capable at all. What use can VirtualBox be on such a hardware?

Danielsan

#3 Post by Danielsan »

You should check if you have the right packages installed in order to perform a kernel module compilation through DKMS, you would need at least these:

build-essential
linux-headers-**YOUR ARCHITECTURE**
linux-kbuild-**THE VERSION AVAILABLE ON YOUR DEBIAN**
dkms
virtualbox-dkms

Segfault

#4 Post by Segfault »

https://packages.debian.org/search?keyw ... ection=all

OP is trying to install unsupported version, also probably using an unsupported installation method.

Danielsan

#5 Post by Danielsan »

Yep... Your absolutely right!

How did weakV get Virtualbox? Please explain...

sunrat
Administrator
Administrator

#6 Post by sunrat »