adobe flash player

New to Debian (Or Linux in general)? Ask your questions here!

adobe flash player

Postby ulf frodahl » 2017-05-12 09:08

Hi

I have an issue with adding libflashplayer.so to /usr/lib/mozilla/plugins. RTÉ Player (Irish television) requires a new version of adobe flash player. I have an earlier file of libflashplayer.so that I have renamed to libflashplayer.so.bak. When copying libflahsplayer by typing in "sudo cp home/username/Downloads libflashplayer.so /usr/lib/mozilla/plugins" (logged in as su) I get the error message "user is not in the sudoers file. This incident will be reported" sudo before typing a command works fine otherwise. Neither does it work in the file manager. Does anyone have any idea why this does not work?

thanks
ulf frodahl
 
Posts: 14
Joined: 2016-07-30 11:44

Re: adobe flash player

Postby Lysander » 2017-05-12 09:20

This might help you. Looks like you need to add your username to the sudoers file

https://unix.stackexchange.com/question ... permission

https://wiki.debian.org/sudo
User avatar
Lysander
 
Posts: 313
Joined: 2017-02-23 10:07
Location: London

Re: adobe flash player

Postby debiman » 2017-05-13 10:53

you probably really want to install sudo, but it is not strictly necessary.
meanwhile try this:
Code: Select all
su
cp home/username/Downloads/libflashplayer.so /usr/lib/mozilla/plugins/
User avatar
debiman
 
Posts: 1205
Joined: 2013-03-12 07:18

Re: adobe flash player

Postby ulf frodahl » 2017-05-16 11:41

Thanks

it worked executing the command not logged on as super user after adding one user to the sudoers list. the strange thing is that i did not have the permission to execute the command as su which i did before.

i haven't tested if flash works yet but the command went well. i might be back for that?

thank you!
Ulf
ulf frodahl
 
Posts: 14
Joined: 2016-07-30 11:44

Re: adobe flash player

Postby debiman » 2017-05-17 05:23

ulf frodahl wrote:it worked executing the command not logged on as super user after adding one user to the sudoers list. the strange thing is that i did not have the permission to execute the command as su which i did before.

this sounds very dangerous.
maybe you did something that "accidentally" worked for this one command, but you will pay for it later...
one does not mess around with sudoers just to copy one file. full stop.
User avatar
debiman
 
Posts: 1205
Joined: 2013-03-12 07:18

Re: adobe flash player

Postby ulf frodahl » 2017-05-18 10:53

hi debiman,

thanks for telling me. i'm pretty new to systems administration in linux. i'll look into removing this user from the sudoers file. it's not a big thing but i used to be able to watch RTÉ Player (Irish television) but since a while ago they prompt for the latest version of adobe flash. I have the latest libflashplayer.so in /user/lib/mozilla/plugins but it just won't work. anyone want to see if it works for them?

http://www.rte.ie/player/se/show/rte-ne ... /10727541/

thanks
Ulf
ulf frodahl
 
Posts: 14
Joined: 2016-07-30 11:44

Re: adobe flash player

Postby Dai_trying » 2017-05-18 15:39

Your link works fine on my system, using FF 53.02 (from Mozilla site) and /usr/lib/mozilla/plugins/libflashplayer.so (again latest version direct download from adobe)
Dai_trying
 
Posts: 317
Joined: 2016-01-07 12:25

Re: adobe flash player

Postby ulf frodahl » 2017-05-18 16:56

Hi Dai_trying

thanks for testing. well, my ff is 45.4 :) maybe it's time to upgrade? but i've stayed with this older version as youtube mp3 podcaster did not work the newest ff earlier (don't know if it does now) - i download mp3 and mp4 files from youtube and this plugin works great for that purpose. will test upgrading ff though. thanks again!

Ulf
ulf frodahl
 
Posts: 14
Joined: 2016-07-30 11:44

Re: adobe flash player

Postby Dai_trying » 2017-05-18 17:27

Tbh FF version shouldn't really make a difference (I wouldn't have thought), but you can try it without installing, just unpack the tar file to your home dir and then run ff from the terminal by going to unpacked dir and run ./firefox. Should also work without removing your current version (but I have not tested that).
Dai_trying
 
Posts: 317
Joined: 2016-01-07 12:25

Re: adobe flash player

Postby phenest » 2017-05-18 18:09

Dai_trying wrote:you can try it without installing, just unpack the tar file to your home dir and then run ff from the terminal by going to unpacked dir and run ./firefox.

I don't use Firefox or Flash, but I thought I'd try this. I can run Firefox that way, but the Flash player don't work.

How do you check Firefox is using it?
NEC Spirit 550 P4 3.8GHz HT - 2GB RAM - nVidia 7600GT - Pioneer BDR-209DBK
ASUS Sabertooth P67 i7 3770K - 32GB RAM - 2x nVidia 660GTX SLI'd
User avatar
phenest
 
Posts: 1571
Joined: 2010-03-09 09:38
Location: The Matrix

Re: adobe flash player

Postby stevepusser » 2017-05-18 18:59

phenest wrote:
Dai_trying wrote:you can try it without installing, just unpack the tar file to your home dir and then run ff from the terminal by going to unpacked dir and run ./firefox.

I don't use Firefox or Flash, but I thought I'd try this. I can run Firefox that way, but the Flash player don't work.

How do you check Firefox is using it?


Type "about:plugins" in the FF address bar and see what version of Shockwave Flash appears.
The MX Linux repositories: Backports galore! If we don't have something, just ask and we'll try--we like challenges. New packages: AzPainter 2.1.0, Pale Moon 27.4.2, Liquorix kernel 4.12-8, mpv 0.27.0, Kodi 17.3, 0ad 0.0.22, Mesa 13.0.6
User avatar
stevepusser
 
Posts: 8728
Joined: 2009-10-06 05:53

Re: adobe flash player

Postby phenest » 2017-05-18 19:05

I got it working. You need to install:
Code: Select all
apt-get install browser-plugin-freshplayer-pepperflash

Fresh player is available for Stretch and Jessie backports.
Then download the Flash player from Adobe and copy the library (you may have to create the directory):
Code: Select all
cp libpepflashplayer.so /usr/lib/adobe-flashplugin/

I downloaded the latest Firefox version 53 from Mozilla and ran it from the unpacked folder. Also works with Firefox version 45 in Stretch.
NEC Spirit 550 P4 3.8GHz HT - 2GB RAM - nVidia 7600GT - Pioneer BDR-209DBK
ASUS Sabertooth P67 i7 3770K - 32GB RAM - 2x nVidia 660GTX SLI'd
User avatar
phenest
 
Posts: 1571
Joined: 2010-03-09 09:38
Location: The Matrix


Return to Beginners Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests

fashionable