Can't install "vim"

New to Debian (Or Linux in general)? Ask your questions here!

Re: Can't install "vim"

Postby RU55EL » 2017-08-03 16:14

None1975 wrote:Hello. Your sources list is incomplete. Your sources list file should look like this
Code: Select all
#------------------------------------------------------------------------------#
#                   OFFICIAL DEBIAN REPOS                   
#------------------------------------------------------------------------------#

###### Debian Main Repos
deb http://deb.debian.org/debian/ oldstable main
deb-src http://deb.debian.org/debian/ oldstable main

deb http://deb.debian.org/debian/ oldstable-updates main
deb-src http://deb.debian.org/debian/ oldstable-updates main

deb http://deb.debian.org/debian-security oldstable/updates main
deb-src http://deb.debian.org/debian-security oldstable/updates main


What happens when Stretch becomes oldstable?
User avatar
RU55EL
 
Posts: 229
Joined: 2014-04-07 03:42
Location: /home/russel

Re: Can't install "vim"

Postby stevepusser » 2017-08-03 18:32

You know what will happen--the same sort of interesting* adventure that we see happen to those that use "stable".

libsnmp15 is also a package only found in Debian 7, so I have to wonder if this is a fresh Debian 8 install at all, or if there is still more that has happened to with your sources. There is no way it "just got in there" on its own. In the worst case scenario, you have mixed Debian 7 and 8 packages and have a broken FrankenDebian.

https://packages.debian.org/search?keyw ... ection=all

* interesting in the way I find youtube videos of bridge collapses interesting.

PS What errors are you talking about when installing Stretch in Virtual Box? You do have to set a kernel module build environment in the Debian guest before you can build the guest additions in it.
The MX Linux repositories: Backports galore! If we don't have something, just ask and we'll try--we like challenges. New packages: AzPainter 2.0.6, Pale Moon 27.4.1, Liquorix kernel 4.11-9, mpv 0.26.0, Kodi 17.3, 0ad 0.0.22, Mesa 13.0.6
User avatar
stevepusser
 
Posts: 8526
Joined: 2009-10-06 05:53

Re: Can't install "vim"

Postby banderas20 » 2017-08-04 07:54

stevepusser wrote:You know what will happen--the same sort of interesting* adventure that we see happen to those that use "stable".

libsnmp15 is also a package only found in Debian 7, so I have to wonder if this is a fresh Debian 8 install at all, or if there is still more that has happened to with your sources. There is no way it "just got in there" on its own. In the worst case scenario, you have mixed Debian 7 and 8 packages and have a broken FrankenDebian.

https://packages.debian.org/search?keyw ... ection=all

* interesting in the way I find youtube videos of bridge collapses interesting.

PS What errors are you talking about when installing Stretch in Virtual Box? You do have to set a kernel module build environment in the Debian guest before you can build the guest additions in it.


OK. ¿Can I use a repository of debian7 using Debian8 so I can install libsnmp?

I am using VMWare workstation. I have come across several errors during install:

- Unable to configure system clock. See /var/log/messages for details (how the hell am I supposed to check that file without a minimum installation???)
- Unable to configure other default steps of the installation.
- While installing base system, de progress bar stucks at around 50%, without displaying any error.

I have virtualization support enabled in BIOS. And the ISO downloaded is integrity-checked with checksum.

Thanks for your support!
banderas20
 
Posts: 36
Joined: 2016-11-10 15:30

Re: Can't install "vim"

Postby None1975 » 2017-08-04 13:20

RU55EL wrote:What happens when Stretch becomes oldstable?

https://wiki.debian.org/DebianOldStable
OS: Debian 9.1 / WM: I3, branch "gaps-next"
Debian Wiki | DontBreakDebian
User avatar
None1975
 
Posts: 131
Joined: 2015-11-29 18:23
Location: Lithuania

Re: Can't install "vim"

Postby RU55EL » 2017-08-04 13:43

None1975 wrote:
RU55EL wrote:What happens when Stretch becomes oldstable?

https://wiki.debian.org/DebianOldStable


My point is that Jessie will begin using the Stretch repositories when Stretch becomes oldstable, creating frankendebian. It is best to use the codename of the Debian version (such as Stretch) rather than the suite name (such as stable). If you are running Jessie that is what you should use in your sources.list, rather than oldstable, which will change to a different code named version in time.

What do you think stevepusser is referring to?

stevepusser wrote:You know what will happen--the same sort of interesting* adventure that we see happen to those that use "stable". [...]

* interesting in the way I find youtube videos of bridge collapses interesting. [...]
Last edited by RU55EL on 2017-08-06 03:15, edited 2 times in total.
User avatar
RU55EL
 
Posts: 229
Joined: 2014-04-07 03:42
Location: /home/russel

Re: Can't install "vim"

Postby None1975 » 2017-08-04 16:54

RU55EL wrote:My point is that Jessie will begin using the Stretch repositories when Stretch becomes oldstable, creating frankendebian. It is best to use the name of the Debian version rather than the release version. If you are running Jessie that is what you should use in your sources.list, rather than oldstable, which will change to a different version in time.

Yes, you right. My mistake.
OS: Debian 9.1 / WM: I3, branch "gaps-next"
Debian Wiki | DontBreakDebian
User avatar
None1975
 
Posts: 131
Joined: 2015-11-29 18:23
Location: Lithuania

Re: Can't install "vim"

Postby stevepusser » 2017-08-04 17:38

Should you mix Debian 7 and 8? NO. You already have mixed at least one package from 7 into 8, and are now the proud owner of a broken FrankenDebian. You have already seen that your system is broken because of that. You need to first discover why you have this mess on a "fresh" install of 8, and don't repeat whatever caused the mixing in the first place. It's best to go back to the beginning and do a fresh reinstall.

I'm only familiar with running Debian VMs in Virtual Box. Do you have to use VMware?
The MX Linux repositories: Backports galore! If we don't have something, just ask and we'll try--we like challenges. New packages: AzPainter 2.0.6, Pale Moon 27.4.1, Liquorix kernel 4.11-9, mpv 0.26.0, Kodi 17.3, 0ad 0.0.22, Mesa 13.0.6
User avatar
stevepusser
 
Posts: 8526
Joined: 2009-10-06 05:53

Re: Can't install "vim"

Postby banderas20 » 2017-08-05 05:58

stevepusser wrote:Should you mix Debian 7 and 8? NO. You already have mixed at least one package from 7 into 8, and are now the proud owner of a broken FrankenDebian. You have already seen that your system is broken because of that. You need to first discover why you have this mess on a "fresh" install of 8, and don't repeat whatever caused the mixing in the first place. It's best to go back to the beginning and do a fresh reinstall.

I'm only familiar with running Debian VMs in Virtual Box. Do you have to use VMware?


I have never used VirtualBox, and neither have I had any problem with VMWare until now. I think the best will be begin with a fresh install, as you say.

Thanks for your support :)
banderas20
 
Posts: 36
Joined: 2016-11-10 15:30

Previous

Return to Beginners Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests

fashionable