Scheduled Maintenance: We are aware of an issue with Google, AOL, and Yahoo services as email providers which are blocking new registrations. We are trying to fix the issue and we have several internal and external support tickets in process to resolve the issue. Please see: viewtopic.php?t=158230

 

 

 

Can't install "vim"

New to Debian (Or Linux in general)? Ask your questions here!
Message
Author
banderas20
Posts: 111
Joined: 2016-11-10 15:30

Can't install "vim"

#1 Post by banderas20 »

Hello,

it's a little sad, but I have setup a fresh install of Debian8, and I am unable to install vim (and other packages).

I issue

Code: Select all

ap-get update
and it succeeds. So I have my network correctly configured.

However, when I issue

Code: Select all

apt-get install vim
It yields

Code: Select all

"The following package has unmet dependencies"
.... bla, bla...

Code: Select all

"E: Unable to correct problems. You have held broken packages".
1- ¿How do I run apt-get install and automatically installing all required dependencies?
2- Where the hell can I fin additional repositories so I can add them to sources.list? https://www.debian.org/mirror/list is full of links to directories and large files, but i cannot find the urls of the repos.

Thanks!

arochester
Emeritus
Emeritus
Posts: 2435
Joined: 2010-12-07 19:55
Has thanked: 14 times
Been thanked: 54 times

Re: Can't install "vim"

#2 Post by arochester »

"E: Unable to correct problems. You have held broken packages".
Where does this message appear? Before or after you try to install Vim?

Have you run

Code: Select all

apt-get install -f
in an attempt to fix broken packages?

banderas20
Posts: 111
Joined: 2016-11-10 15:30

Re: Can't install "vim"

#3 Post by banderas20 »

arochester wrote:
"E: Unable to correct problems. You have held broken packages".
Where does this message appear? Before or after you try to install Vim?
After.
arochester wrote: Have you run

Code: Select all

apt-get install -f
in an attempt to fix broken packages?
Yes. Without success. I have solved it by purging the old dependency and reinstalling the new version.

However, I'm having trouble with "aptitude install mysql-server".

Code: Select all

The following package has unmet dependencies>
and something about virtual packages.

but now

Code: Select all

The following actions will resolve these dependencies
Keep the following packages at their current version
(packages...) [Not installed]
I accept, and nothing happens.

Bulkley
Posts: 6383
Joined: 2006-02-11 18:35
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 39 times

Re: Can't install "vim"

#4 Post by Bulkley »

. . . fresh install of Debian8 . . .
Post your /etc/apt/sources.list.

User avatar
RU55EL
Posts: 546
Joined: 2014-04-07 03:42
Location: /home/russel

Re: Can't install "vim"

#5 Post by RU55EL »

A Debian 9 (Stretch) sources.list should look something like:

Code: Select all

russel@NUC-G:~$ cat /etc/apt/sources.list
deb  http://deb.debian.org/debian stretch main
# deb-src  http://deb.debian.org/debian stretch main

deb  http://deb.debian.org/debian stretch-updates main
# deb-src  http://deb.debian.org/debian stretch-updates main

deb http://security.debian.org/ stretch/updates main
# deb-src http://security.debian.org/ stretch/updates main
Here is some good reading material concerning sources.list

Important note!
The example above is for Debian 9 (Stretch)

An example for Debian 8 (Jessie) should look something like:

Code: Select all

deb  http://deb.debian.org/debian jessie main
# deb-src  http://deb.debian.org/debian jessie main

deb  http://deb.debian.org/debian jessie-updates main
# deb-src  http://deb.debian.org/debian jessie-updates main

deb http://security.debian.org/ jessie/updates main
# deb-src http://security.debian.org/ jessie/updates main
Last edited by RU55EL on 2017-08-03 16:12, edited 4 times in total.

User avatar
GarryRicketson
Posts: 5644
Joined: 2015-01-20 22:16
Location: Durango, Mexico

Re: Can't install "vim"

#6 Post by GarryRicketson »

I thought "vim" is included by default, are you sure it is not all ready installed ?
=== edited ===
apparently it is not , so my apology:
https://sanctum.geek.nz/arabesque/vim-a ... n-default/
The default text editor in installations of Debian and its derivatives is Nano, largely because it’s a simple and small editor. If you’re a Vim user, you might find it a little jarring to be
That is sad, you would think they would include it in the install.
============================== end edit ===
Post by banderas20 » 2017-08-02 06:59
Hello,

it's a little sad, but I have setup a fresh install of Debian8, and I am unable to install vim (and other packages).
@Post by RU55EL » 2017-08-02 09:42
sources.list should look something like:
NO NO NO, do not do that,... Debian 8 is NOT Debian 9 (strectch)

banderas20
Posts: 111
Joined: 2016-11-10 15:30

Re: Can't install "vim"

#7 Post by banderas20 »

Debian8 has "vi" by default, but not "vim".

¿Anything about the other issues concerning mysql dependencies?

Thanks!!!

Bulkley
Posts: 6383
Joined: 2006-02-11 18:35
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 39 times

Re: Can't install "vim"

#8 Post by Bulkley »

Where did you get your Debian 8?

Again, let's see your sources.list.


User avatar
stevepusser
Posts: 12930
Joined: 2009-10-06 05:53
Has thanked: 41 times
Been thanked: 71 times

Re: Can't install "vim"

#10 Post by stevepusser »

Something's missing from your sources.list. This is very common for a variety of reasons, often involving non-free firmware. If you would just post the contents, we'd be able to spot it right off.

Also, is there any reason for you to be using the oldstable version of Debian instead of the current release?
MX Linux packager and developer

banderas20
Posts: 111
Joined: 2016-11-10 15:30

Re: Can't install "vim"

#11 Post by banderas20 »

stevepusser wrote:Something's missing from your sources.list. This is very common for a variety of reasons, often involving non-free firmware. If you would just post the contents, we'd be able to spot it right off.

Also, is there any reason for you to be using the oldstable version of Debian instead of the current release?
I am using Debian8 because I tried Debian9 in a Virtual Machine and it crashed several times during installation process, and I don't know why yet.

Tomorrow I will post my sources.list.

Thank you all!!

banderas20
Posts: 111
Joined: 2016-11-10 15:30

Re: Can't install "vim"

#12 Post by banderas20 »

Hello all.

Here is the contents of my sources.list file:
deb http://security.debian.org/ jessie/updates main
deb-src http://security.debian.org/ jessie/updates main

deb http://ftp.debian.org/debian/ jessie-updates main
deb-src http://ftp.debian.org/debian/ jessie-updates main
Thanks!

User avatar
None1975
df -h | participant
df -h | participant
Posts: 1388
Joined: 2015-11-29 18:23
Location: Russia, Kaliningrad
Has thanked: 45 times
Been thanked: 65 times

Re: Can't install "vim"

#13 Post by None1975 »

Hello. Your sources list is incomplete. Your sources list file should look like this

Code: Select all

#------------------------------------------------------------------------------#
#                   OFFICIAL DEBIAN REPOS                    
#------------------------------------------------------------------------------#

###### Debian Main Repos
deb http://deb.debian.org/debian/ oldstable main
deb-src http://deb.debian.org/debian/ oldstable main

deb http://deb.debian.org/debian/ oldstable-updates main
deb-src http://deb.debian.org/debian/ oldstable-updates main

deb http://deb.debian.org/debian-security oldstable/updates main
deb-src http://deb.debian.org/debian-security oldstable/updates main
OS: Debian 12.4 Bookworm / DE: Enlightenment
Debian Wiki | DontBreakDebian, My config files on github

banderas20
Posts: 111
Joined: 2016-11-10 15:30

Re: Can't install "vim"

#14 Post by banderas20 »

None1975 wrote:Hello. Your sources list is incomplete. Your sources list file should look like this
Thanks a million.

Anyway, I still have unmet dependencies:

Code: Select all

Depends: libsnmp15 (>=5.4.3~dfsg) but it is not installable
Recommends: snmpd but it is not going to be installed
E: unable to correct problems, you have held broken packages
:roll:

User avatar
RU55EL
Posts: 546
Joined: 2014-04-07 03:42
Location: /home/russel

Re: Can't install "vim"

#15 Post by RU55EL »

GarryRicketson wrote:[...]
@Post by RU55EL » 2017-08-02 09:42
sources.list should look something like:
NO NO NO, do not do that,... Debian 8 is NOT Debian 9 (strectch)
Thanks for pointing this out Garry! Duh, sometimes I wonder if I need glasses! You are absolutely correct, I added a note to my other post.

User avatar
RU55EL
Posts: 546
Joined: 2014-04-07 03:42
Location: /home/russel

Re: Can't install "vim"

#16 Post by RU55EL »

None1975 wrote:Hello. Your sources list is incomplete. Your sources list file should look like this

Code: Select all

#------------------------------------------------------------------------------#
#                   OFFICIAL DEBIAN REPOS                    
#------------------------------------------------------------------------------#

###### Debian Main Repos
deb http://deb.debian.org/debian/ oldstable main
deb-src http://deb.debian.org/debian/ oldstable main

deb http://deb.debian.org/debian/ oldstable-updates main
deb-src http://deb.debian.org/debian/ oldstable-updates main

deb http://deb.debian.org/debian-security oldstable/updates main
deb-src http://deb.debian.org/debian-security oldstable/updates main
What happens when Stretch becomes oldstable?

User avatar
stevepusser
Posts: 12930
Joined: 2009-10-06 05:53
Has thanked: 41 times
Been thanked: 71 times

Re: Can't install "vim"

#17 Post by stevepusser »

You know what will happen--the same sort of interesting* adventure that we see happen to those that use "stable".

libsnmp15 is also a package only found in Debian 7, so I have to wonder if this is a fresh Debian 8 install at all, or if there is still more that has happened to with your sources. There is no way it "just got in there" on its own. In the worst case scenario, you have mixed Debian 7 and 8 packages and have a broken FrankenDebian.

https://packages.debian.org/search?keyw ... ection=all

* interesting in the way I find youtube videos of bridge collapses interesting.

PS What errors are you talking about when installing Stretch in Virtual Box? You do have to set a kernel module build environment in the Debian guest before you can build the guest additions in it.
MX Linux packager and developer

banderas20
Posts: 111
Joined: 2016-11-10 15:30

Re: Can't install "vim"

#18 Post by banderas20 »

stevepusser wrote:You know what will happen--the same sort of interesting* adventure that we see happen to those that use "stable".

libsnmp15 is also a package only found in Debian 7, so I have to wonder if this is a fresh Debian 8 install at all, or if there is still more that has happened to with your sources. There is no way it "just got in there" on its own. In the worst case scenario, you have mixed Debian 7 and 8 packages and have a broken FrankenDebian.

https://packages.debian.org/search?keyw ... ection=all

* interesting in the way I find youtube videos of bridge collapses interesting.

PS What errors are you talking about when installing Stretch in Virtual Box? You do have to set a kernel module build environment in the Debian guest before you can build the guest additions in it.
OK. ¿Can I use a repository of debian7 using Debian8 so I can install libsnmp?

I am using VMWare workstation. I have come across several errors during install:

- Unable to configure system clock. See /var/log/messages for details (how the hell am I supposed to check that file without a minimum installation???)
- Unable to configure other default steps of the installation.
- While installing base system, de progress bar stucks at around 50%, without displaying any error.

I have virtualization support enabled in BIOS. And the ISO downloaded is integrity-checked with checksum.

Thanks for your support!

User avatar
None1975
df -h | participant
df -h | participant
Posts: 1388
Joined: 2015-11-29 18:23
Location: Russia, Kaliningrad
Has thanked: 45 times
Been thanked: 65 times

Re: Can't install "vim"

#19 Post by None1975 »

RU55EL wrote:What happens when Stretch becomes oldstable?
https://wiki.debian.org/DebianOldStable
OS: Debian 12.4 Bookworm / DE: Enlightenment
Debian Wiki | DontBreakDebian, My config files on github

User avatar
RU55EL
Posts: 546
Joined: 2014-04-07 03:42
Location: /home/russel

Re: Can't install "vim"

#20 Post by RU55EL »

None1975 wrote:
RU55EL wrote:What happens when Stretch becomes oldstable?
https://wiki.debian.org/DebianOldStable
My point is that Jessie will begin using the Stretch repositories when Stretch becomes oldstable, creating frankendebian. It is best to use the codename of the Debian version (such as Stretch) rather than the suite name (such as stable). If you are running Jessie that is what you should use in your sources.list, rather than oldstable, which will change to a different code named version in time.

What do you think stevepusser is referring to?
stevepusser wrote:You know what will happen--the same sort of interesting* adventure that we see happen to those that use "stable". [...]

* interesting in the way I find youtube videos of bridge collapses interesting. [...]
Last edited by RU55EL on 2017-08-06 03:15, edited 2 times in total.

Post Reply