[SOLVED] AIGLX error: boots into tty1 instead of GNOME

New to Debian (Or Linux in general)? Ask your questions here!

[SOLVED] AIGLX error: boots into tty1 instead of GNOME

Postby fineman » 2017-08-10 22:53

I have been using Debian 8 for almost a year, but today, I can no longer log onto the graphic user interface.

I am running on a Thinkpad T460, 256gb ssd, 8gb RAM, Intel HD Graphics 520.
I am dual booting Debian 8 and Windows 10.

My computer boots normally. I can access the graphical GRUB menu (I can also log into Windows 10 normally). However, if I log into Debian, I am immediately put into tty1 mode. Within tty1 mode, I can log into my accounts and access anything I could normally access with terminal (install applications, use text editors, etc.)

Prior to this error, I was trying to install opencv on my machine. The last commands I ran were (from http://docs.opencv.org/2.4/doc/tutorial ... stall.html):
Code: Select all
sudo apt-get install libglib2.0-0=2.42.1-1+b1
sudo apt-get install libglib2.0-dev
sudo apt-get install cmake git libgtk2.0-dev pkg-config libavcodec-dev libavformat-dev libswscale-dev

…which executed successfully without warnings.
Later my computer fell asleep and when I tried to log back in, the login screen acted as if the enter key was stuck and I couldn’t type my full password in time. I proceeded to shut down my computer, and it stayed on a black screen with a blinking underscore for quite some time, and when I restart the machine, it automatically booted into tty1.

I ran the line “grep EE /var/log//Xorg.0.log”
And the following is my output:
Code: Select all
(EE) AIGLX error: Calling driver entry point failed
(EE) AIGLX: reverting to software rendering
(EE) Server terminated successfully (0). Closing log file.


Is there any fix to boot back into the GNOME 3 log in menu? Do I need to reinstall Debian?
Last edited by fineman on 2017-08-13 07:03, edited 1 time in total.
fineman
 
Posts: 10
Joined: 2017-01-01 18:52

Re: AIGLX error: boots into tty1 instead of GNOME

Postby peter_irich » 2017-08-11 19:44

Try install libgl1-mesa-glx and libgl1-mesa-dri, if its are not installed yet.

Peter.
peter_irich
 
Posts: 1189
Joined: 2009-09-10 20:15
Location: Saint-Petersburg, Russian Federation

Re: AIGLX error: boots into tty1 instead of GNOME

Postby fineman » 2017-08-11 20:18

peter_irich wrote:Try install libgl1-mesa-glx and libgl1-mesa-dri, if its are not installed yet.

Peter.

Thank you for this.

Unfortunately, when I ran apt-get install on these, it returned that libgl1-mesa-glx and libgl1-mesa-dri were already installed and the newest version.
fineman
 
Posts: 10
Joined: 2017-01-01 18:52

Re: AIGLX error: boots into tty1 instead of GNOME

Postby stevepusser » 2017-08-11 22:31

What does

Code: Select all
uname -r


show about the kernel you're booting? The Skylake 520 Intel graphics you seem to be using
need a jessie-backports kernel in Jessie to work correctly.

OpenCV 2.4.9 is also in the standard Jessie repositories. Since it's a set of libraries, Debian calls them libopencv-(something).

https://packages.debian.org/jessie/libopencv-dev

inxi is a good tool to install and provide system information, try

Code: Select all
inxi -F


Read the help to see lots of other tricks it can do, even get the weather.
The MX Linux repositories: Backports galore! If we don't have something, just ask and we'll try--we like challenges. New packages: AzPainter 2.1.0, Pale Moon 27.5.0, Liquorix kernel 4.12-10, mpv 0.27.0, Kodi 17.3, 0ad 0.0.22, Mesa 13.0.6
User avatar
stevepusser
 
Posts: 8817
Joined: 2009-10-06 05:53

Re: AIGLX error: boots into tty1 instead of GNOME

Postby fineman » 2017-08-11 23:29

stevepusser wrote:What does

Code: Select all
uname -r


show about the kernel you're booting? The Skylake 520 Intel graphics you seem to be using
need a jessie-backports kernel in Jessie to work correctly.

...
inxi is a good tool to install and provide system information, try

Code: Select all
inxi -F


Read the help to see lots of other tricks it can do, even get the weather.

Appreciate the help. I will install opencv through the Jessie repositories next time.

uname -r returns:
Code: Select all
 4.7.0-0.bpo.1-amd64

I'm not sure how to interpret the inxi data but I thought the following might be helpful:
Code: Select all
 System:   Host: debian Kernel: 4.7.0-0.bpo.1-amd64 x86_64 (64 bit) Console: tty 1 Distro: Debian GNU/Linux 8
 Graphics: Card: Intel Device 1916
       Display Server: X.org 1.16.4 drivers: intel (unloaded: fbdev,vesa) tty size: 240x67 Advanced Data: N/A for root out of X

Sorry if I was supposed to do something, I'm still not sure why or how my system boots to tty1.
fineman
 
Posts: 10
Joined: 2017-01-01 18:52

Re: AIGLX error: boots into tty1 instead of GNOME

Postby stevepusser » 2017-08-12 05:10

Hmmm--you should get out of the habit of running commands as root when the instructions don't call for it, like the inxi results show. Try running it as a regular user to get more information about the graphics.
The MX Linux repositories: Backports galore! If we don't have something, just ask and we'll try--we like challenges. New packages: AzPainter 2.1.0, Pale Moon 27.5.0, Liquorix kernel 4.12-10, mpv 0.27.0, Kodi 17.3, 0ad 0.0.22, Mesa 13.0.6
User avatar
stevepusser
 
Posts: 8817
Joined: 2009-10-06 05:53

Re: AIGLX error: boots into tty1 instead of GNOME

Postby fineman » 2017-08-12 06:10

It now reads the same as before but with "Advanced Data: N/A out of X" instead of "Advanced Data: N/A for root out of X." (Running as a regular user)
fineman
 
Posts: 10
Joined: 2017-01-01 18:52

Re: AIGLX error: boots into tty1 instead of GNOME

Postby fineman » 2017-08-13 07:02

I solved the issue. :D
Because I could not get back into gnome I decided to reinstall gnome. When typing in 'sudo apt-get autoremove', it said gnome pakagekit data and gdebi-core were going to be deleted (which I thought was suspicious).
From there I ran the following commands which solved my issue:
Code: Select all
sudo apt-get upgrade #some graphics related package updated here
sudo apt-get purge gnome-session
sudo apt-get install gnome-session
sudo apt-get install gdm3

Thanks for all the help and support, I don't think I could've found the solution without the previous guidance!
fineman
 
Posts: 10
Joined: 2017-01-01 18:52

Re: [SOLVED] AIGLX error: boots into tty1 instead of GNOME

Postby stevepusser » 2017-08-13 20:01

Just for the record, I think that the inxi in Debian shows "n/a" for the modesetting driver. You can upgrade inxi in-place to a version that will fix this issue, just run "inxi -h" for the help.
The MX Linux repositories: Backports galore! If we don't have something, just ask and we'll try--we like challenges. New packages: AzPainter 2.1.0, Pale Moon 27.5.0, Liquorix kernel 4.12-10, mpv 0.27.0, Kodi 17.3, 0ad 0.0.22, Mesa 13.0.6
User avatar
stevepusser
 
Posts: 8817
Joined: 2009-10-06 05:53

Re: [SOLVED] AIGLX error: boots into tty1 instead of GNOME

Postby fineman » 2017-08-13 21:02

stevepusser wrote:Just for the record, I think that the inxi in Debian shows "n/a" for the modesetting driver. You can upgrade inxi in-place to a version that will fix this issue, just run "inxi -h" for the help.

Thank you for this! I believe kms was updated when I ran sudo apt-get upgrade. inxi -F now displays:
Code: Select all
Graphics:  Card: Intel Device 1916
           Display Server: X.Org 1.16.4 drivers: intel (unloaded: fbdev,vesa)
           Resolution: 1920x1080@60.01hz
           GLX Renderer: Gallium 0.4 on llvmpipe (LLVM 3.5, 256 bits)
           GLX Version: 3.0 Mesa 10.3.2
fineman
 
Posts: 10
Joined: 2017-01-01 18:52


Return to Beginners Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests

fashionable