Scheduled Maintenance: We are aware of an issue with Google, AOL, and Yahoo services as email providers which are blocking new registrations. We are trying to fix the issue and we have several internal and external support tickets in process to resolve the issue. Please see: viewtopic.php?t=158230

 

 

 

[SOLVED] AIGLX error: boots into tty1 instead of GNOME

New to Debian (Or Linux in general)? Ask your questions here!
Post Reply
Message
Author
fineman
Posts: 10
Joined: 2017-01-01 18:52

[SOLVED] AIGLX error: boots into tty1 instead of GNOME

#1 Post by fineman »

I have been using Debian 8 for almost a year, but today, I can no longer log onto the graphic user interface.

I am running on a Thinkpad T460, 256gb ssd, 8gb RAM, Intel HD Graphics 520.
I am dual booting Debian 8 and Windows 10.

My computer boots normally. I can access the graphical GRUB menu (I can also log into Windows 10 normally). However, if I log into Debian, I am immediately put into tty1 mode. Within tty1 mode, I can log into my accounts and access anything I could normally access with terminal (install applications, use text editors, etc.)

Prior to this error, I was trying to install opencv on my machine. The last commands I ran were (from http://docs.opencv.org/2.4/doc/tutorial ... stall.html):

Code: Select all

sudo apt-get install libglib2.0-0=2.42.1-1+b1
sudo apt-get install libglib2.0-dev
sudo apt-get install cmake git libgtk2.0-dev pkg-config libavcodec-dev libavformat-dev libswscale-dev
…which executed successfully without warnings.
Later my computer fell asleep and when I tried to log back in, the login screen acted as if the enter key was stuck and I couldn’t type my full password in time. I proceeded to shut down my computer, and it stayed on a black screen with a blinking underscore for quite some time, and when I restart the machine, it automatically booted into tty1.

I ran the line “grep EE /var/log//Xorg.0.log”
And the following is my output:

Code: Select all

(EE) AIGLX error: Calling driver entry point failed
(EE) AIGLX: reverting to software rendering
(EE) Server terminated successfully (0). Closing log file. 
Is there any fix to boot back into the GNOME 3 log in menu? Do I need to reinstall Debian?
Last edited by fineman on 2017-08-13 07:03, edited 1 time in total.

peter_irich
Posts: 1403
Joined: 2009-09-10 20:15
Location: Saint-Petersburg, Russian Federation
Been thanked: 11 times

Re: AIGLX error: boots into tty1 instead of GNOME

#2 Post by peter_irich »

Try install libgl1-mesa-glx and libgl1-mesa-dri, if its are not installed yet.

Peter.

fineman
Posts: 10
Joined: 2017-01-01 18:52

Re: AIGLX error: boots into tty1 instead of GNOME

#3 Post by fineman »

peter_irich wrote:Try install libgl1-mesa-glx and libgl1-mesa-dri, if its are not installed yet.

Peter.
Thank you for this.

Unfortunately, when I ran apt-get install on these, it returned that libgl1-mesa-glx and libgl1-mesa-dri were already installed and the newest version.

User avatar
stevepusser
Posts: 12930
Joined: 2009-10-06 05:53
Has thanked: 41 times
Been thanked: 71 times

Re: AIGLX error: boots into tty1 instead of GNOME

#4 Post by stevepusser »

What does

Code: Select all

uname -r
show about the kernel you're booting? The Skylake 520 Intel graphics you seem to be using
need a jessie-backports kernel in Jessie to work correctly.

OpenCV 2.4.9 is also in the standard Jessie repositories. Since it's a set of libraries, Debian calls them libopencv-(something).

https://packages.debian.org/jessie/libopencv-dev

inxi is a good tool to install and provide system information, try

Code: Select all

inxi -F
Read the help to see lots of other tricks it can do, even get the weather.
MX Linux packager and developer

fineman
Posts: 10
Joined: 2017-01-01 18:52

Re: AIGLX error: boots into tty1 instead of GNOME

#5 Post by fineman »

stevepusser wrote:What does

Code: Select all

uname -r
show about the kernel you're booting? The Skylake 520 Intel graphics you seem to be using
need a jessie-backports kernel in Jessie to work correctly.

...
inxi is a good tool to install and provide system information, try

Code: Select all

inxi -F
Read the help to see lots of other tricks it can do, even get the weather.
Appreciate the help. I will install opencv through the Jessie repositories next time.

uname -r returns:

Code: Select all

 4.7.0-0.bpo.1-amd64 
I'm not sure how to interpret the inxi data but I thought the following might be helpful:

Code: Select all

 System:   Host: debian Kernel: 4.7.0-0.bpo.1-amd64 x86_64 (64 bit) Console: tty 1 Distro: Debian GNU/Linux 8
 Graphics: Card: Intel Device 1916 
       Display Server: X.org 1.16.4 drivers: intel (unloaded: fbdev,vesa) tty size: 240x67 Advanced Data: N/A for root out of X 
Sorry if I was supposed to do something, I'm still not sure why or how my system boots to tty1.

User avatar
stevepusser
Posts: 12930
Joined: 2009-10-06 05:53
Has thanked: 41 times
Been thanked: 71 times

Re: AIGLX error: boots into tty1 instead of GNOME

#6 Post by stevepusser »

Hmmm--you should get out of the habit of running commands as root when the instructions don't call for it, like the inxi results show. Try running it as a regular user to get more information about the graphics.
MX Linux packager and developer

fineman
Posts: 10
Joined: 2017-01-01 18:52

Re: AIGLX error: boots into tty1 instead of GNOME

#7 Post by fineman »

It now reads the same as before but with "Advanced Data: N/A out of X" instead of "Advanced Data: N/A for root out of X." (Running as a regular user)

fineman
Posts: 10
Joined: 2017-01-01 18:52

Re: AIGLX error: boots into tty1 instead of GNOME

#8 Post by fineman »

I solved the issue. :D
Because I could not get back into gnome I decided to reinstall gnome. When typing in 'sudo apt-get autoremove', it said gnome pakagekit data and gdebi-core were going to be deleted (which I thought was suspicious).
From there I ran the following commands which solved my issue:

Code: Select all

sudo apt-get upgrade #some graphics related package updated here
sudo apt-get purge gnome-session
sudo apt-get install gnome-session
sudo apt-get install gdm3
Thanks for all the help and support, I don't think I could've found the solution without the previous guidance!

User avatar
stevepusser
Posts: 12930
Joined: 2009-10-06 05:53
Has thanked: 41 times
Been thanked: 71 times

Re: [SOLVED] AIGLX error: boots into tty1 instead of GNOME

#9 Post by stevepusser »

Just for the record, I think that the inxi in Debian shows "n/a" for the modesetting driver. You can upgrade inxi in-place to a version that will fix this issue, just run "inxi -h" for the help.
MX Linux packager and developer

fineman
Posts: 10
Joined: 2017-01-01 18:52

Re: [SOLVED] AIGLX error: boots into tty1 instead of GNOME

#10 Post by fineman »

stevepusser wrote:Just for the record, I think that the inxi in Debian shows "n/a" for the modesetting driver. You can upgrade inxi in-place to a version that will fix this issue, just run "inxi -h" for the help.
Thank you for this! I believe kms was updated when I ran sudo apt-get upgrade. inxi -F now displays:

Code: Select all

Graphics:  Card: Intel Device 1916
           Display Server: X.Org 1.16.4 drivers: intel (unloaded: fbdev,vesa)
           Resolution: 1920x1080@60.01hz
           GLX Renderer: Gallium 0.4 on llvmpipe (LLVM 3.5, 256 bits)
           GLX Version: 3.0 Mesa 10.3.2

Post Reply