[SOLVED] Debian 9 - configuring to KDE post install

New to Debian (Or Linux in general)? Ask your questions here!

[SOLVED] Debian 9 - configuring to KDE post install

Postby user2635 » 2017-08-20 13:59

Hi all, I've got GNOME installed (this is the option I chose when I installed Debian).

So I followed these instructions on the wiki page to install KDE:
https://wiki.debian.org/KDE#Installation (Installing "KDE Plasma Desktop" task)

However, it doesn't show it on my menu (see screenshot https://ibb.co/j26DWk), what do I do next?
(What's more it shows 2 entries for Kodi for some reason.)

UPDATE: tried to upload screenshot but I keep getting an error page for some reason. Basically the image is a picture of the 'gear' icon on the Gnome login screen, the entries that I can see are (in this order): System X11 Default (selected), GNOME, GNOME Classic, GNOME on Xorg, Kodi, Kodi (again)

I found an old solution but the kde directory no longer applies and i'm scared if I follow this, it will mess up my system:
https://superuser.com/questions/376107/ ... -in-debian
Last edited by user2635 on 2017-08-20 19:43, edited 2 times in total.
phil the linux newbie
debian 9 stable since aug 2017
please teach me linux :)
User avatar
user2635
 
Posts: 71
Joined: 2017-08-05 15:42
Location: Skag Gully, Borderlands

Re: Debian 9 - configuring to KDE post install

Postby user2635 » 2017-08-20 15:13

UPDATE: There also seems to be two entries for 'Open in Terminal' in Right Click -> Open in Terminal, I think it's a side effect having installed KDE :(
https://ibb.co/i50JxQ

Only seems to show this when browsing files on my NAS via 'samba'? (I think it's called)

Shows fine as 1 entry only when browsing local files
Last edited by user2635 on 2017-08-20 16:18, edited 1 time in total.
phil the linux newbie
debian 9 stable since aug 2017
please teach me linux :)
User avatar
user2635
 
Posts: 71
Joined: 2017-08-05 15:42
Location: Skag Gully, Borderlands

Re: Debian 9 - configuring to KDE post install

Postby user2635 » 2017-08-20 15:23

I'll attempt to upload the images later, I think something went wrong as I get this message 'Sorry, the board attachment quota has been reached.'
phil the linux newbie
debian 9 stable since aug 2017
please teach me linux :)
User avatar
user2635
 
Posts: 71
Joined: 2017-08-05 15:42
Location: Skag Gully, Borderlands

Re: Debian 9 - configuring to KDE post install

Postby GarryRicketson » 2017-08-20 16:03

User avatar
GarryRicketson
 
Posts: 4477
Joined: 2015-01-20 22:16
Location: Durango, Mexico

Re: Debian 9 - configuring to KDE post install

Postby user2635 » 2017-08-20 16:18

phil the linux newbie
debian 9 stable since aug 2017
please teach me linux :)
User avatar
user2635
 
Posts: 71
Joined: 2017-08-05 15:42
Location: Skag Gully, Borderlands

Re: Debian 9 - configuring to KDE post install

Postby user2635 » 2017-08-20 19:42

Plasma shows as an option after rebooting (still don't know about the double entry thing for Kodi and Open terminal)
phil the linux newbie
debian 9 stable since aug 2017
please teach me linux :)
User avatar
user2635
 
Posts: 71
Joined: 2017-08-05 15:42
Location: Skag Gully, Borderlands


Return to Beginners Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests

fashionable