no wicd or networkmanager

New to Debian (Or Linux in general)? Ask your questions here!

no wicd or networkmanager

Postby Agvaniot » 2017-08-28 14:32

hello friends.
i reinstall my OS in order to put my /home directory in a different partition.
i know i need to configure my wireless card in order for him to work but i face 2 problems.
i got no working wicd or networkmanager ( though i still can connect to the internet through wire connection )
when i run the command wicd i get this error :
Code: Select all
unknown locale: en_IL
Default locale unavailable, falling back to en_US
Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "/usr/share/wicd/daemon/wicd-daemon.py", line 58, in <module>
    from wicd import networking
  File "/usr/lib/python2.7/dist-packages/wicd/networking.py", line 53, in <module>
    import misc
  File "/usr/lib/python2.7/dist-packages/wicd/misc.py", line 38, in <module>
    from wicd.translations import _
  File "/usr/lib/python2.7/dist-packages/wicd/translations.py", line 57, in <module>
    _ = get_gettext()
  File "/usr/lib/python2.7/dist-packages/wicd/translations.py", line 50, in get_gettext
    if (lc):
UnboundLocalError: local variable 'lc' referenced before assignment

so i apt-get networkmanager and change the NetworkManager.conf into "true" then restarted.
but still i cant see theh applet of network manager in the taskbar so i tried "nm-applet"
and i get the error message "command not found"
Agvaniot
 
Posts: 42
Joined: 2017-07-26 13:07

Re: no wicd or networkmanager

Postby deborah-and-ian » 2017-08-28 14:37

Very strange. nm-applet is in the package called network-manager-gnome
Debian GNU/Linux 9 Stretch w/Gnome 3.22

Acer Aspire E5-521G
AMD A8-6410 APU
4 GB RAM
integrated AMD Mullins
dedicated AMD Hainan Radeon R5 M240 2 GB
240 GB Toshiba Q300 SSD
Realtek RTL8111/8168/8411 ethernet
Qualcomm Atheros QCA9565 wireless
deborah-and-ian
 
Posts: 171
Joined: 2016-07-13 08:40

Re: no wicd or networkmanager

Postby Bulkley » 2017-08-28 15:25

You can't have both wicd and network-manager; they interfere with each other. Install one or the other but not both.
Bulkley
 
Posts: 5266
Joined: 2006-02-11 18:35

Re: no wicd or networkmanager

Postby stevepusser » 2017-08-28 18:18

I've also never heard of an "en_IL" locale, did the installer offer that choice? That seems to be confusing Wicd.
The MX Linux repositories: Backports galore! If we don't have something, just ask and we'll try--we like challenges. New packages: AzPainter 2.1.0, Pale Moon 27.4.2, Liquorix kernel 4.12-8, mpv 0.27.0, Kodi 17.3, 0ad 0.0.22, Mesa 13.0.6
User avatar
stevepusser
 
Posts: 8708
Joined: 2009-10-06 05:53

Re: no wicd or networkmanager

Postby kedaha » 2017-08-28 21:08

stevepusser wrote:I've also never heard of an "en_IL" locale, did the installer offer that choice? That seems to be confusing Wicd.

I just did a search for it and found this:
en_IL: English locale for Israel

So it must be that.
Mate DE & OSSv4.
LaMp, WordPress; ispmail
Debian Stable & Software

Words, as is well known, are the great foes of reality. Joseph Conrad.
User avatar
kedaha
 
Posts: 2789
Joined: 2008-05-24 12:26


Return to Beginners Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: golinux and 5 guests

fashionable