Can't use command line, need help

New to Debian (Or Linux in general)? Ask your questions here!

Can't use command line, need help

Postby jbander » 2017-09-05 00:34

* is not in the sudoers file. The * is my name, I've followed directions to fix this for linux in general and Ubuntu but It still comes up and I can't do anything in the command line. Can't get into the subdoers.d file, you have to be root and I can't do that. I'm lost at this point. Can anyonehelp me out. Thank you. I'm in Debian 8.8.0
jbander
 
Posts: 58
Joined: 2011-03-10 19:11

Re: Can't use command line, need help

Postby bryanmc » 2017-09-05 02:24

Assuming the terminal is functional, but you just can't use sudo...
open a terminal
su <enter> enter root password <enter>
usermod -aG sudo username <enter>
exit the terminal, then log out and log back in
bryanmc
 
Posts: 65
Joined: 2016-11-18 12:21

Re: Can't use command line, need help

Postby Lysander » 2017-09-05 10:50

Gott im Himmel, could you not work this out for yourself. Is this your system?

bryanmc is on the money. Read this too:

https://wiki.debian.org/sudo
User avatar
Lysander
 
Posts: 330
Joined: 2017-02-23 10:07
Location: London

Re: Can't use command line, need help

Postby Head_on_a_Stick » 2017-09-05 17:09

jbander wrote:Can't get into the subdoers.d file, you have to be root and I can't do that.

Use the init=/bin/bash kernel command line parameter to boot to a passwordless root shell then remount the root filesystem rw and add your user to the "sudo" group then reboot.
"Only the mediocre are always at their best." — Jean Giraudoux
User avatar
Head_on_a_Stick
 
Posts: 6666
Joined: 2014-06-01 17:46
Location: /dev/chair

Re: Can't use command line, need help

Postby sunrat » 2017-09-05 21:49

jbander wrote: you have to be root and I can't do that.

Ummm, you probably can. sudo is not necessary to use in a Debian system. Try typing su in a terminal and enter your root password.
If you feel you must use sudo, follow advice above to enable it. sudo is not configured by default unless you specifically do it during installation.
“ computer users can be divided into 2 categories:
Those who have lost data
...and those who have not lost data YET ”
Remember to BACKUP!
User avatar
sunrat
 
Posts: 2035
Joined: 2006-08-29 09:12
Location: Melbourne, Australia


Return to Beginners Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests

fashionable