wine on debian

New to Debian (Or Linux in general)? Ask your questions here!

wine on debian

Postby fmp » 2017-09-09 04:04

i've been using debian as my daily driver for several months now and so far, photoshop is the only thing i miss.

for seasoned debian users, is it worth installing wine for one program?
if not, what are the cons/hassles opposed to sticking it out with gimp/inkscape?

gimp doesn't seem to be able to parse typical psd's from photoshop.
for example - a simple layered website mockup appeared jumbled. not sure if i'm missing a plugin, perhaps; or if this is common (searches on the web for this vague-sounding issue yield little help - i'm not sure specifically what to query that would give more targeted results)

does this sound familiar to anyone? can anyone clue me in on what i could be missing, to make gimp more photoshop-esque?
fmp

Re: wine on debian

Postby aplistir » 2017-09-09 15:26

fmp wrote:i've been using debian as my daily driver for several months now and so far, photoshop is the only thing i miss.
for seasoned debian users, is it worth installing wine for one program?
if not, what are the cons/hassles opposed to sticking it out with gimp/inkscape?
gimp doesn't seem to be able to parse typical psd's from photoshop.
for example - a simple layered website mockup appeared jumbled. not sure if i'm missing a plugin, perhaps; or if this is common (searches on the web for this vague-sounding issue yield little help - i'm not sure specifically what to query that would give more targeted results)
does this sound familiar to anyone? can anyone clue me in on what i could be missing, to make gimp more photoshop-esque?

That is what wine is made for. Running those windows programs, you really need. Some programs work really well, but not all.
I used to use photoshop in wine. Worked well, but it was an older version of photpshop.
Here is a link, which tells how well different versions of photoshop work in wine: