Scheduled Maintenance: We are aware of an issue with Google, AOL, and Yahoo services as email providers which are blocking new registrations. We are trying to fix the issue and we have several internal and external support tickets in process to resolve the issue. Please see: viewtopic.php?t=158230

Screen Resolution (New to Debian)

New to Debian (Or Linux in general)? Ask your questions here!
icecold7777

Screen Resolution (New to Debian)

#1 Post by icecold7777 »

Heya. After months of thinking my very high spec gaming rig would never run Linux I surprisingly found out that Debian Actually works on my system now. I'm new to Linux and wanted some suggestions and possible help from the Community. So I Installed Debian everything works great.. But my screen is stuck at 1024x768 and I can’t go any higher and im not sure why.. So I Installed Screenfetch and it says my GTX 970 is my GPU and that my CPU is Intel Core i7-6700K like it should be. Which is where im confused.. If it says my GPU is my “GTX 970” Wouldn’t I be able to use a higher Screen-Resolution then 1024x768? I know for a fact my Monitor supports 1920x1080.. Ive looked all over and can’t seem to find a answer, But anyways all Responses are appreciated, thank you. :D

https://i.imgur.com/vZFmFVb.png (Ignore the top Corner that was just some App-Store Nvida GPU Temperature monitor I added)

https://i.imgur.com/Fo5mA1z.png (Incase you wanted me to click on the Nvida GPU App)

debiman

Re: Screen Resolution (New to Debian)

#2 Post by debiman »

please post output of

Code: Select all

lspci -k | grep -iEA5 'vga|3d|display'

icecold7777

#3 Post by icecold7777 »

debiman wrote:please post output of

lspci -k | grep -iEA5 'vga|3d|display'
1:00.0 VGA compatible controller: NVIDIA Corporation GM204 [GeForce GTX 970] (rev a1)
Subsystem: ASUSTeK Computer Inc. GM204 [GeForce GTX 970]
Kernel modules: nouveau
01:00.1 Audio device: NVIDIA Corporation GM204 High Definition Audio Controller (rev a1)