Scheduled Maintenance: We are aware of an issue with Google, AOL, and Yahoo services as email providers which are blocking new registrations. We are trying to fix the issue and we have several internal and external support tickets in process to resolve the issue. Please see: viewtopic.php?t=158230

Brackets on Debian? Solved - Bluefish

New to Debian (Or Linux in general)? Ask your questions here!
Wyght

Brackets on Debian? Solved - Bluefish

#1 Post by Wyght »

I am new to Debian, I have laptop that is 4 years old, 4 GB ram I am using debian 9.1 and would like to install Brackets on this so I can play around with HTML/CSS I looked on the debian site but do not find anything about Brackets. I have read where some say it will install and work other say no it will not.

Is there a URL I can go to and read the correct method of installing Brackets on this Debian laptop?
Last edited by Wyght on 2017-09-23 01:45, edited 1 time in total.

stevepusser

Re: Brackets on Debian?

#2 Post by stevepusser »

You mean like the "other downloads" link on their home page?

Pick the appropriate .deb file.
Install it with apt or gdebi.
Profit!
MX Linux packager and developer

Danielsan

#3 Post by Danielsan »

Wyght wrote:I am new to Debian, I have laptop that is 4 years old, 4 GB ram I am using debian 9.1 and would like to install Brackets on this so I can play around with HTML/CSS I looked on the debian site but do not find anything about Brackets. I have read where some say it will install and work other say no it will not.

Is there a URL I can go to and read the correct method of installing Brackets on this Debian laptop?
Beside the fact that there are plenty of editors already available on Debian, I would suggest you to try Atom Editor instead of Brackets.
Brackets and Atom are both heavy and fat editors but from my experience the latter is faster than the the former and has better and bigger community around it.

https://atom.io/

debiman

#4 Post by debiman »