[SOLVED]Am I missing something here?

New to Debian (Or Linux in general)? Ask your questions here!

Re: Am I missing something here?

Postby Alamo1 » 2017-09-22 19:32

GarryRicketson wrote:If you like Cinnamon you can stay with that, if you want the "users and groups" feature on XFCE , you will need to install the additional "gnome-system-tools".


Tried 'gnome system tools' too......no change! I am competent enough to add/modify using CLI, but wanted to know why 'users and groups' wasn't available in Xfce when it obviously is in Cinnamon and others.
Alamo1
 
Posts: 10
Joined: 2017-09-21 16:38
Location: Ireland

Re: Am I missing something here?

Postby GarryRicketson » 2017-09-22 19:46

You would have to ask them at the XFCE developers and support ,
I have no idea why they don't include it.
https://forum.xfce.org
===================
https://forum.xfce.org/index.php

Xfce is not Cinnamon and others, ...........

Tried 'gnome system tools' too.

Sure didn't take you very long, I would expect it to work, but it would take some
time to read the Docs, and instruction, etc.... besides that there are a lot more
results in the search strings,..there seem to be many ways to solve this. But it
takes more the 2 or 3 minuets to read the info available.
User avatar
GarryRicketson
 
Posts: 4452
Joined: 2015-01-20 22:16
Location: Durango, Mexico

Re: Am I missing something here?

Postby Segfault » 2017-09-22 19:57

Bulkley wrote:Do a fresh install. This time create a root password when prompted to do so. Create the user account and password. You need them both.

What? Fresh install? O'brother. :shock:
All you need to do is:
Code: Select all
sudo -i

and you will be root.
If you really need separate password for root, then set it after sudo -i.
Segfault
 
Posts: 540
Joined: 2005-09-24 12:24

Re: Am I missing something here?

Postby stevepusser » 2017-09-22 20:14

Let's face it, xfce in Debian does not come out of the box with a lot of the customization and polish that other derivative distros give it. Examples are MX Linux, Xubuntu, SolydX, Sparky Linux, and so on. Instead of a customized car with a beautiful paint job, with Debian you get a sedan painted dull gray. So you have to do the work to pimp it out yourself, which can be a learning experience. Anyway, Xubuntu and MX at least have the settings-manager working the way you want it to, as in my screenshot. I'm still looking for what we did to tweak it.
The MX Linux repositories: Backports galore! If we don't have something, just ask and we'll try--we like challenges. New packages: Krita 3.3.2.1, Pale Moon 27.6.0, Audacity 2.2.0, mpv 0.27.0, Corebird 1.7.1, Firefox 57.0, SMPlayer 17.11.2
User avatar
stevepusser
 
Posts: 8937
Joined: 2009-10-06 05:53

Re: Am I missing something here?

Postby dilberts_left_nut » 2017-09-22 20:35

stevepusser wrote:Let's face it, xfce in Debian does not come out of the box with a lot of the cruft that other derivative distros give it.

Yay. (FTFY)
AdrianTM wrote:There's no hacker in my grandma...
User avatar
dilberts_left_nut
 
Posts: 4702
Joined: 2009-10-05 07:54
Location: enzed

Re: Am I missing something here?

Postby p.H » 2017-09-22 20:35

Bulkley wrote:
p.H wrote:Reinstall just because the OP did not set a root password ? You must be joking.

Because the OP is an admitted newbie and had nothing to lose by doing it over.

Nothing to lose but time and the opportunity to learn something. Yeah, really nothing.
p.H
 
Posts: 177
Joined: 2017-09-17 07:12

Re: Am I missing something here?

Postby GarryRicketson » 2017-09-22 21:45

If you the OP installed gnome-system-tools :https://packages.debian.org/search?suite=stretch&keywords=gnome-system-tools

They would still need to add it to the menu (panel), it could be tested first
by trying to start it from the command line: type the command (as normal user, NOT root or sudo ) :
Code: Select all
gnome-system-tools
and see if it starts.
To add it to the menu, RIGHT CLICK "applications" > panel > +add new items

IF gnome-system-tools shows in the list of available "plugins", or items, you can add it.
There still might be some other "tweaks" needed , maybe : "gnome-tweak-tool"
Like wise if Cinnamon has the feature, they might be able to now add it to XFCE panel,...
The best thing would be to ask them at XFCE, and get detailed instructions, from people using it. The links to their site I posted earlier.
User avatar
GarryRicketson
 
Posts: 4452
Joined: 2015-01-20 22:16
Location: Durango, Mexico

Re: Am I missing something here?

Postby Alamo1 » 2017-09-22 22:26

GarryRicketson wrote:Sure didn't take you very long, I would expect it to work, but it would take some
time to read the Docs, and instruction, etc.... besides that there are a lot more
results in the search strings,..there seem to be many ways to solve this. But it
takes more the 2 or 3 minuets to read the info available.


Please remember, I've been trying to find an answer to this for days, not just since I posted here! Tried adding "gnome-system-tools" two days ago.
Alamo1
 
Posts: 10
Joined: 2017-09-21 16:38
Location: Ireland

Re: Am I missing something here?

Postby GarryRicketson » 2017-09-23 00:05

So, what happened ? were you able to install it ?
Will it start from the command line like I showed ? If not what errors show ?
User avatar
GarryRicketson
 
Posts: 4452
Joined: 2015-01-20 22:16
Location: Durango, Mexico

Re: Am I missing something here?

Postby arid » 2017-09-23 16:36

Poor, poor OP! I have never even thought of using a GUI for such a simple function. But to each his own. I have 6 xfce installs on 3 computers and since it required only 5 additional packages, I just installed gnome-system-tools on one system. It works perfectly as advertised and I actually like it since I am the quicker-clicker. Of course, all my systems are up-to-the-second sid, since IMHO, it is rather absurd to use years old stable stuff. Just cooling off from my morning 3 hour hike. I think most of you should get out more. Might improve your thinking processes!
arid
 
Posts: 67
Joined: 2014-05-08 18:40
Location: Aridzona

Re: Am I missing something here?

Postby Bulkley » 2017-09-23 17:52

Segfault wrote:All you need to do is:
Code: Select all
sudo -i

and you will be root.
If you really need separate password for root, then set it after sudo -i.


So much for security. As one who never uses sudo I wasn't aware of that one. Thanks.
Bulkley
 
Posts: 5362
Joined: 2006-02-11 18:35

Re: Am I missing something here?

Postby Alamo1 » 2017-09-23 21:04

arid wrote:Poor, poor OP! I have never even thought of using a GUI for such a simple function. But to each his own.


I'd never planned on using a GUI for anything at all, just wanted to know why Xfce appeared to be the only one not to include 'users and groups'. Originally thought it may have been an error on my part so chose to ask here for answers.
Alamo1
 
Posts: 10
Joined: 2017-09-21 16:38
Location: Ireland

Re: Am I missing something here?

Postby GarryRicketson » 2017-09-23 21:20

arid wrote:--some text cut-- I just installed gnome-system-tools on one system. It works perfectly as advertised and I actually like it since I am the quicker-clicker. Of course, all my systems are up-to-the-second sid, since IMHO, it is rather absurd to use years old stable stuff. Just cooling off from my morning 3 hour hike. I think most of you should get out more. Might improve your thinking processes!


Thank you arid for confirming that the "gnome-system-tools" does work
to get this "feature".

I think most of you should get out more. Might improve your thinking processes!

Agreed, in fact I'm on my way out now,...

Time to feed the birds and take them for a walk.
Last edited by GarryRicketson on 2017-09-23 21:33, edited 1 time in total.
"What we expect you have already Done"

Before doing anything, read the Debian documentation:
Debian Documentation
How to ask the smart way
Debian Foro Español
======================
For the Birds
User avatar
GarryRicketson
 
Posts: 4452
Joined: 2015-01-20 22:16
Location: Durango, Mexico

Re: Am I missing something here?

Postby stevepusser » 2017-09-23 21:22

It should appear in your menu. The file that it installs for the "Users and Groups" menu entry is /usr/share/application/users.desktop, and there is nothing in it that prevents it from appearing in the System submenu (I'm using the Whiskermenu). Perhaps you need to restart the xfce panel for it to show:

Code: Select all
xfce4-panel -r
The MX Linux repositories: Backports galore! If we don't have something, just ask and we'll try--we like challenges. New packages: Krita 3.3.2.1, Pale Moon 27.6.0, Audacity 2.2.0, mpv 0.27.0, Corebird 1.7.1, Firefox 57.0, SMPlayer 17.11.2
User avatar
stevepusser
 
Posts: 8937
Joined: 2009-10-06 05:53

Re: Am I missing something here?

Postby Alamo1 » 2017-09-23 21:37

GarryRicketson wrote:So, what happened ? were you able to install it ?
Will it start from the command line like I showed ? If not what errors show ?


As mentioned, I attempted that several days, and a number of re-installs ago after reading something online. As I recall the necessary packages downloaded and installed ok, but the system became unresponsive after a reboot, so I gave up.

System is just an old HP Server I had lying around so thought I'd use it for file storage. Now using it both headless and GUI-less to play around with for a while.
Alamo1
 
Posts: 10
Joined: 2017-09-21 16:38
Location: Ireland

Previous

Return to Beginners Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests

fashionable