Scheduled Maintenance: We are aware of an issue with Google, AOL, and Yahoo services as email providers which are blocking new registrations. We are trying to fix the issue and we have several internal and external support tickets in process to resolve the issue. Please see: viewtopic.php?t=158230

i386 vs custom compiled i686 kernel?

New to Debian (Or Linux in general)? Ask your questions here!
Benergy

i386 vs custom compiled i686 kernel?

#1 Post by Benergy »

Good evening.

This is my first time posting here so hello from south-east Queensland, Australia! :)

First, a little background. I work in IT as a technical support engineer for a small MSP. My experience is almost solely Windows and Windows Server, with intermittent short bouts of Mac and various Linux distros over the years.

I'm after a change. Windows gets worse with every release. I can't stand it any longer so I've done my research and Debian is where I've landed. I know it's not the first choice for somebody new to Linux, but I've got a little Linux experience already and I'm a want-to-be-retired Windows power user looking for a challenge.

The challenge gets more interesting: I've got an old Sharp Actius MP30 netbook from the early 2000s. It runs a Transmeta Efficeon TM8800 processor clocked at 1.6GHz, the fastest variant released to the public from what I'm aware. I've upgraded the ram to the maximum 1GB PC3200 single channel and 128GB SSD (IDE/PATA). The video card is a Radeon Mobility of the era. Again, not the easiest option for somebody new to Linux but I'm up for a challenge and keen to learn.