Scheduled Maintenance: We are aware of an issue with Google, AOL, and Yahoo services as email providers which are blocking new registrations. We are trying to fix the issue and we have several internal and external support tickets in process to resolve the issue. Please see: viewtopic.php?t=158230

Debian 6 SFTP update query

New to Debian (Or Linux in general)? Ask your questions here!
dirtydiesel

Debian 6 SFTP update query

#1 Post by dirtydiesel »

Hello All,

I am new to Debian/Linux and the person who use to look after this has left so please bear with me.

A job has been given to me at work to upgrade our Debian 6 SFTP server to the latest OS for security reasons. From my research on Google and around the Debain website I am assuming you can not do an upgrade from Debian 6 straight to Debian 9 we will have to go incremental, can you someone please confirm?

I have seen the post on the forum that was on Debian 3 and wanted to go to 8 but they were advised to rebuild the OS, would that we a better idea for us or would 3 upgrades be ok?

I also would like to backup our SFTP settings before starting any work and i've found this article https://www.debian.org/doc/manuals/debi ... d_recovery but found it a bit over powering. My question is, which directories would you advise I backup so i don't lose our SFTP settings?

Thankyou in advance for you help.

James

Ardouos

Re: Debian 6 SFTP update query

#2 Post by Ardouos »

dirtydiesel wrote:From my research on Google and around the Debain website I am assuming you can not do an upgrade from Debian 6 straight to Debian 9 we will have to go incremental, can you someone please confirm?
Yes, you are correct, you will need to upgrade to 7, 8 and then 9.
dirtydiesel wrote: I have seen the post on the forum that was on Debian 3 and wanted to go to 8 but they were advised to rebuild the OS, would that we a better idea for us or would 3 upgrades be ok?