Virtual Box Now fails

New to Debian (Or Linux in general)? Ask your questions here!

Virtual Box Now fails

Postby Data007 » 2018-01-12 17:13

Hi I have been using linux now for a number of months on this machine and all of a sudden Virtualbox fails, I use it to run virtual linux control machines
Firstly I belive I have buster installed rather than stretch, Ive had virtual box running before no problems then now a week latter
second I have tried to un install virtualbox and reinstall again .
thirdly the script now says.

"● virtualbox.service - LSB: VirtualBox Linux kernel module
Loaded: loaded (/etc/init.d/virtualbox; generated; vendor preset: enabled)
Active: failed (Result: exit-code) since Fri 2018-01-12 17:54:40 GMT; 8ms ago
Docs: man:systemd-sysv-generator(8)
Process: 1644 ExecStart=/etc/init.d/virtualbox start (code=exited, status=1/FAILURE)

Jan 12 17:54:40 debian systemd[1]: Starting LSB: VirtualBox Linux kernel module...
Jan 12 17:54:40 debian virtualbox[1644]: Loading VirtualBox kernel modules...No suitable module for running kernel found ... failed!
Jan 12 17:54:40 debian virtualbox[1644]: failed!
Jan 12 17:54:40 debian systemd[1]: virtualbox.service: Control process exited, code=exited status=1
Jan 12 17:54:40 debian systemd[1]: virtualbox.service: Failed with result 'exit-code'.
Jan 12 17:54:40 debian systemd[1]: Failed to start LSB: VirtualBox Linux kernel module.
cna someone help pls.
Data007
 
Posts: 18
Joined: 2017-12-01 19:59

Re: Virtual Box Now fails

Postby Head_on_a_Stick » 2018-01-12 17:32

You need to rebuild the VirtualBox kernel modules for your new kernel version.

There may be a DKMS service you can enable to automate this.

Why not try QEMU/KVM instead?

That offers hardware acceleration for guests OOTB with no need for any custom kernel modules.

https://wiki.debian.org/KVM
"Only the mediocre are always at their best." — Jean Giraudoux
User avatar
Head_on_a_Stick
 
Posts: 7413
Joined: 2014-06-01 17:46
Location: /dev/chair

Re: Virtual Box Now fails

Postby Data007 » 2018-01-12 17:43

Hi thanks for the reply Iam newish just how do I do that please.
please be persise in commands and as verbose as possible plz. I posted in newbie for a reason. :oops:
Data007
 
Posts: 18
Joined: 2017-12-01 19:59

Re: Virtual Box Now fails

Postby Head_on_a_Stick » 2018-01-12 17:44

Data007 wrote:just how do I do that please

No clue, I wouldn't touch VirtualBox with a barge pole, it's a blobby pile of shite :D

Seriously, try KVM.
"Only the mediocre are always at their best." — Jean Giraudoux
User avatar
Head_on_a_Stick
 
Posts: 7413
Joined: 2014-06-01 17:46
Location: /dev/chair

Re: Virtual Box Now fails

Postby Data007 » 2018-01-12 17:54

Hi Install of kvm was simple but I prefer a gui such as VirtualBox under KVM just how to bring up a gui for virtual machine installation.
Thanks HOnStick by verbose I ment it.
Data007
 
Posts: 18
Joined: 2017-12-01 19:59

Re: Virtual Box Now fails

Postby Head_on_a_Stick » 2018-01-12 17:55

Data007 wrote:by verbose I ment it.

https://wiki.debian.org/KVM#Managing_VM ... with_a_GUI

Please read my links before complaining :roll:
"Only the mediocre are always at their best." — Jean Giraudoux
User avatar
Head_on_a_Stick
 
Posts: 7413
Joined: 2014-06-01 17:46
Location: /dev/chair

Re: Virtual Box Now fails

Postby Data007 » 2018-01-12 18:01

I am afraid I did look at youtr link and got the install but was then COMPLETLY lost further on.
For Example if one simply types virsh start VMGUEST
error: failed to get domain 'VMGUEST'
error: Domain not found: no domain with matching name 'VMGUEST'

Iam none the wiser taken from your links on how to do it from the compandline, scratches head is virsh a command is it installed or what is it GUI man pls
Data007
 
Posts: 18
Joined: 2017-12-01 19:59

Re: Virtual Box Now fails

Postby Head_on_a_Stick » 2018-01-12 18:09

In which case you should use Debian stable instead.

Debian testing will have much more frequent kernel upgrades and so this will happen often.

Why are you using one of Debian's development branches anyway?

Do you like broken systems or something?

Do you know that buster's kernel version is still vulnerable to Meltdown? :shock:
"Only the mediocre are always at their best." — Jean Giraudoux
User avatar
Head_on_a_Stick
 
Posts: 7413
Joined: 2014-06-01 17:46
Location: /dev/chair

Re: Virtual Box Now fails

Postby Data007 » 2018-01-12 18:18

With each post we get further ay from the problem Iam not interested in meldown only virtual machines.
Can we have some Good old advice here instead of converstion drift.
I tried what YOU yourself suggested when asked simple NEWBIE questions I am at a loss please Someone some concrete advise on a gui method like Virtual box I am familiar with the same.

If there is a virtual gui method then exeplain same I attempt to follow your answers. :shock:
Data007
 
Posts: 18
Joined: 2017-12-01 19:59

Re: Virtual Box Now fails

Postby Head_on_a_Stick » 2018-01-12 18:27

Data007 wrote:Can we have some Good old advice here instead of converstion drift

No! I refuse to help you infest your machine with blobs, don't you know that RMS has ninja swords? :mrgreen:

Also, have you tried Ubuntu? :twisted:
"Only the mediocre are always at their best." — Jean Giraudoux
User avatar
Head_on_a_Stick
 
Posts: 7413
Joined: 2014-06-01 17:46
Location: /dev/chair

Re: Virtual Box Now fails

Postby Data007 » 2018-01-12 18:57

Anyone any help on the virtual box front?
Some people are a trial
Data007
 
Posts: 18
Joined: 2017-12-01 19:59

Re: Virtual Box Now fails

Postby Dai_trying » 2018-01-12 23:13

I think what you need is this
Code: Select all
/usr/lib/virtualbox/vboxdrv.sh setup

there are some instructions here to automate building them.
Dai_trying
 
Posts: 411
Joined: 2016-01-07 12:25


Return to Beginners Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

fashionable