monoblock monitor does not work

New to Debian (Or Linux in general)? Ask your questions here!

Re: monoblock monitor does not work

Postby debiman » 2018-04-07 10:26

dronnet wrote:
debiman
, When disconnecting or connecting a monitor, nothing new appears in the log dmesg -w.
yes, i can see that.
i just tried the same on my computer, and the only message i got was UNplugging it:
Code: Select all
[27400.437111] [drm] HPD interrupt storm detected on connector HDMI-A-2: switching from hotplug detection to polling

that's not very helpful, nevertheless i got something, whereas you got nothing (the one message you pasted is unrelated).

otoh, it is possible that the kernel simply isn't all that interested in monitors.

you could try to detect it with a utility like lshw (and please don't post its complete output here).

all in all, this is a tricky one and would require much more effort from your side: searching the web & reading results for hours, trying things on your machine, and also communicating results to us in detail.

Please stop dumping walls of raw output.
but how to shorten the log? suddenly I had something important to lose?
i gave you exact instructions how to shorten it; nothing more was required.
User avatar
debiman
 
Posts: 2586
Joined: 2013-03-12 07:18

Re: monoblock monitor does not work

Postby dronnet » 2018-04-07 18:34

Thank you, debiman.

This computer I have at work. I'll try to use the utility lshw.

It seems to me that nothing will turn out. I've already tried a lot.
I tried to collect the kernel, but I could not, little knowledge.
dronnet
 
Posts: 17
Joined: 2018-03-30 11:26

Re: monoblock monitor does not work

Postby dronnet » 2018-04-10 11:43

Found strange events.

1. If you load into the recovery mode (kernel 3.16.0-4)
Code: Select all
dron@dron:~$ cat /var/log/Xorg.0.log | grep connect
[    20.407] (II) modeset(0): Output VGA-1 disconnected
[    20.407] (II) modeset(0): Output HDMI-1 connected
[    20.408] (II) modeset(0): Output HDMI-2 disconnected
[    20.408] (II) modeset(0): Output DP-1 disconnected
[    20.408] (II) modeset(0): Output DP-2 connected
dron@dron:~$


later "startx"

Code: Select all
dron@dron:~$ cat /var/log/Xorg.0.log | grep connect
[    20.407] (II) modeset(0): Output VGA-1 disconnected
[    20.407] (II) modeset(0): Output HDMI-1 connected
[    20.408] (II) modeset(0): Output HDMI-2 disconnected
[    20.408] (II) modeset(0): Output DP-1 disconnected
[    20.408] (II) modeset(0): Output DP-2 connected
dron@dron:~$


2. If you load into the recovery mode (kernel 4.9.0.6)

Code: Select all
dron@dron:~$ cat /var/log/Xorg.0.log | grep connect
[    20.407] (II) modeset(0): Output VGA-1 disconnected
[    20.407] (II) modeset(0): Output HDMI-1 connected
[    20.408] (II) modeset(0): Output HDMI-2 disconnected
[    20.408] (II) modeset(0): Output DP-1 disconnected
[    20.408] (II) modeset(0): Output DP-2 connected
dron@dron:~$


later "startx"

Code: Select all
dron@dron:~$ cat /var/log/Xorg.0.log | grep connect
[    20.407] (II) modeset(0): Output VGA-1 disconnected
[    20.407] (II) modeset(0): Output HDMI-1 connected
[    20.408] (II) modeset(0): Output HDMI-2 disconnected
[    20.408] (II) modeset(0): Output DP-1 disconnected
[    20.408] (II) modeset(0): Output DP-2 disconnected
dron@dron:~$


What could be the reason?
dronnet
 
Posts: 17
Joined: 2018-03-30 11:26

Re: monoblock monitor does not work

Postby Segfault » 2018-04-10 13:23

Drop the whole log to a pastebin and give us the link.
Segfault
 
Posts: 684
Joined: 2005-09-24 12:24

Re: monoblock monitor does not work

Postby p.H » 2018-04-10 15:12

dronnet wrote:If you load into the recovery mode (kernel 4.9.0.6)

1) How can there be a fresh Xorg log before starting X ? That must be an old log. Check the file date.
2) How can you get the exact same timestamps for each line every time ?
p.H
 
Posts: 421
Joined: 2017-09-17 07:12

Re: monoblock monitor does not work

Postby dronnet » 2018-04-11 07:56

p.H wrote:
dronnet wrote:If you load into the recovery mode (kernel 4.9.0.6)

1) How can there be a fresh Xorg log before starting X ? That must be an old log. Check the file date.
2) How can you get the exact same timestamps for each line every time ?


1) I realized this is really an old log.
2) I tried to insert a photo, but the forum does not allow.

"Internal Server Error
The server encountered an internal error or misconfiguration and was unable to complete your request.

Please contact the server administrator, forum-admin@forums.debian.net and inform them of the time the error occurred, and anything you might have done that may have caused the error.

More information about this error may be available in the server error log.

Apache Server at forums.debian.net Port 80"
dronnet
 
Posts: 17
Joined: 2018-03-30 11:26

Re: monoblock monitor does not work

Postby p.H » 2018-04-11 08:09

A photo showing what ?
How does it relate with my question about different logs generated during different startups containing the same timestamps with a millisecond precision (which is nearly impossible in my experience) ?
p.H
 
Posts: 421
Joined: 2017-09-17 07:12

Re: monoblock monitor does not work

Postby dronnet » 2018-04-11 10:07

On the photo a millisecond log changes time.

http://ibb.co/iN2CKx
http://ibb.co/gXUbex

I understood my mistake. The log remains from the previous session X.
dronnet
 
Posts: 17
Joined: 2018-03-30 11:26

Re: monoblock monitor does not work

Postby Segfault » 2018-04-11 11:34

Segfault wrote:Drop the whole log to a pastebin and give us the link.

Do you want help or don't you?
Segfault
 
Posts: 684
Joined: 2005-09-24 12:24

Re: monoblock monitor does not work

Postby dronnet » 2018-04-11 11:50

Yes, I want help. But I do not know what to do.
dronnet
 
Posts: 17
Joined: 2018-03-30 11:26

Re: monoblock monitor does not work

Postby Segfault » 2018-04-11 13:34

As always, you have two options.
a) Do your homework, in this case you obviously need to learn what are the pastebins and how you can use them from your Debian.
b) Hire someone who will do it for you.
Segfault
 
Posts: 684
Joined: 2005-09-24 12:24

Re: monoblock monitor does not work

Postby dronnet » 2018-04-12 06:19

Segfault wrote:As always, you have two options.
a) Do your homework, in this case you obviously need to learn what are the pastebins and how you can use them from your Debian.
b) Hire someone who will do it for you.


Thank you of course, but how does this help? :)

https://pastebin.com/ We have not made use of such services.
Most often, the code is inserted directly into the forum.
dronnet
 
Posts: 17
Joined: 2018-03-30 11:26

Previous

Return to Beginners Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests

fashionable