Update Buster Testing [SOLVED]

New to Debian (Or Linux in general)? Ask your questions here!

Update Buster Testing [SOLVED]

Postby llewellen » 2018-05-22 04:45

I am running Buster-testing. As of May 21-18 there is a new build available. If I run the command "aptitude update" (without the quote marks) will I receive all the changes?
Last edited by llewellen on 2018-05-22 13:01, edited 1 time in total.
llewellen
 
Posts: 88
Joined: 2018-04-08 05:21
Location: Vancouver Island, Canada

Re: Update Buster Testing

Postby Bulkley » 2018-05-22 04:50

It is Testing so why don't you test it? Let us know what happens.
Bulkley
 
Posts: 5598
Joined: 2006-02-11 18:35

Re: Update Buster Testing

Postby llewellen » 2018-05-22 04:58

Bulkley wrote:It is Testing so why don't you test it? Let us know what happens.


I did run it and a lot of packages appeared to update. It did stumble, as I expectedk, on one package installed directly from the app's site (Vivaldi).

My initial question could have been asked in a better way. Is using "aptitude update" the best way to install each new build of testinig? Is it the wrong way? Is there a better way?
It is not that I am mad; it's only that my head is different from yours - Diogenes of Sinope
llewellen
 
Posts: 88
Joined: 2018-04-08 05:21
Location: Vancouver Island, Canada

Re: Update Buster Testing

Postby Bloom » 2018-05-22 08:52

Code: Select all
aptitude update
or
Code: Select all
apt update
or
Code: Select all
apt-get update

only refresh the packages list so your system knows what's new or updated.
You need a second instruction to do the actual upgrade:

Code: Select all
aptitude safe-upgrade
or
Code: Select all
apt upgrade
or
Code: Select all
apt-get upgrade

if that finishes without errors, you can do
Code: Select all
aptitude full-upgrade
or
Code: Select all
apt dist-upgrade
or
Code: Select all
apt-get dist-upgrade


And that will keep Testing on its latest version. If you replace all 'buster' in /etc/apt/sources.list by 'testing', it will even rollover rather smoothly (in my experience) to the next testing once that arrives.
User avatar
Bloom
 
Posts: 58
Joined: 2017-11-11 12:23

Re: Update Buster Testing

Postby Wheelerof4te » 2018-05-22 10:37

And do not mix aptitude and apt. Stick to only one, preferably apt.
User avatar
Wheelerof4te
 
Posts: 1074
Joined: 2015-08-30 20:14

Re: Update Buster Testing

Postby llewellen » 2018-05-22 13:01

@Bloom: Many thanks :) The commands you listed ran without any errors.
llewellen
 
Posts: 88
Joined: 2018-04-08 05:21
Location: Vancouver Island, Canada

Re: Update Buster Testing [SOLVED]

Postby dcihon » 2018-05-23 10:46

This is what I run on my testing machine daily. One issue with my method is I am cleaning a purging packages so I can't go back. Not a problem for me but it might be for someone else.
Code: Select all
cihonm@cihonm:~$ sudo apt update && sudo aptitude full-upgrade && sudo apt-get autoclean && sudo aptitude purge $(deborphan) && sudo apt-get autoremove

dcihon
 
Posts: 229
Joined: 2012-09-23 16:18

Re: Update Buster Testing [SOLVED]

Postby Wheelerof4te » 2018-05-23 12:20

^Please don't use that command, it's dangerous. As I've noted in my previous post, mixing apt and aptitude (especially on Testing/Sid) may result in a broken system and unresolved dependencies.
On top of that, you are deleting everything from the cache every time, which is pointless.

Code: Select all
apt update && apt full-upgrade

and sometimes
Code: Select all
apt autoremove

is all that you need on Testing. Full upgrade is used to warn about possible package breakages. If apt out of the blue wants to nuke your system, you just don't upgrade. That means, never put -y after any command, always read everything first.
User avatar
Wheelerof4te
 
Posts: 1074
Joined: 2015-08-30 20:14


Return to Beginners Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests

fashionable