Scheduled Maintenance: We are aware of an issue with Google, AOL, and Yahoo services as email providers which are blocking new registrations. We are trying to fix the issue and we have several internal and external support tickets in process to resolve the issue. Please see: viewtopic.php?t=158230

 

 

 

Update Buster Testing [SOLVED]

New to Debian (Or Linux in general)? Ask your questions here!
Post Reply
Message
Author
llewellen
Posts: 88
Joined: 2018-04-08 05:21
Location: Vancouver Island, Canada

Update Buster Testing [SOLVED]

#1 Post by llewellen »

I am running Buster-testing. As of May 21-18 there is a new build available. If I run the command "aptitude update" (without the quote marks) will I receive all the changes?
Last edited by llewellen on 2018-05-22 13:01, edited 1 time in total.

Bulkley
Posts: 6386
Joined: 2006-02-11 18:35
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 39 times

Re: Update Buster Testing

#2 Post by Bulkley »

It is Testing so why don't you test it? Let us know what happens.

llewellen
Posts: 88
Joined: 2018-04-08 05:21
Location: Vancouver Island, Canada

Re: Update Buster Testing

#3 Post by llewellen »

Bulkley wrote:It is Testing so why don't you test it? Let us know what happens.
I did run it and a lot of packages appeared to update. It did stumble, as I expectedk, on one package installed directly from the app's site (Vivaldi).

My initial question could have been asked in a better way. Is using "aptitude update" the best way to install each new build of testinig? Is it the wrong way? Is there a better way?
It is not that I am mad; it's only that my head is different from yours - Diogenes of Sinope

User avatar
Bloom
df -h | grep > 90TiB
df -h | grep > 90TiB
Posts: 504
Joined: 2017-11-11 12:23
Been thanked: 26 times

Re: Update Buster Testing

#4 Post by Bloom »

Code: Select all

aptitude update
or

Code: Select all

apt update
or

Code: Select all

apt-get update
only refresh the packages list so your system knows what's new or updated.
You need a second instruction to do the actual upgrade:

Code: Select all

aptitude safe-upgrade
or

Code: Select all

apt upgrade
or

Code: Select all

apt-get upgrade
if that finishes without errors, you can do

Code: Select all

aptitude full-upgrade
or

Code: Select all

apt dist-upgrade
or

Code: Select all

apt-get dist-upgrade
And that will keep Testing on its latest version. If you replace all 'buster' in /etc/apt/sources.list by 'testing', it will even rollover rather smoothly (in my experience) to the next testing once that arrives.

Wheelerof4te
Posts: 1454
Joined: 2015-08-30 20:14

Re: Update Buster Testing

#5 Post by Wheelerof4te »

And do not mix aptitude and apt. Stick to only one, preferably apt.

llewellen
Posts: 88
Joined: 2018-04-08 05:21
Location: Vancouver Island, Canada

Re: Update Buster Testing

#6 Post by llewellen »

@Bloom: Many thanks :) The commands you listed ran without any errors.

dcihon
Posts: 279
Joined: 2012-09-23 16:18
Been thanked: 3 times

Re: Update Buster Testing [SOLVED]

#7 Post by dcihon »

This is what I run on my testing machine daily. One issue with my method is I am cleaning a purging packages so I can't go back. Not a problem for me but it might be for someone else.

Code: Select all

cihonm@cihonm:~$ sudo apt update && sudo aptitude full-upgrade && sudo apt-get autoclean && sudo aptitude purge $(deborphan) && sudo apt-get autoremove


Wheelerof4te
Posts: 1454
Joined: 2015-08-30 20:14

Re: Update Buster Testing [SOLVED]

#8 Post by Wheelerof4te »

^Please don't use that command, it's dangerous. As I've noted in my previous post, mixing apt and aptitude (especially on Testing/Sid) may result in a broken system and unresolved dependencies.
On top of that, you are deleting everything from the cache every time, which is pointless.

Code: Select all

apt update && apt full-upgrade
and sometimes

Code: Select all

apt autoremove
is all that you need on Testing. Full upgrade is used to warn about possible package breakages. If apt out of the blue wants to nuke your system, you just don't upgrade. That means, never put -y after any command, always read everything first.

Post Reply