Scheduled Maintenance: We are aware of an issue with Google, AOL, and Yahoo services as email providers which are blocking new registrations. We are trying to fix the issue and we have several internal and external support tickets in process to resolve the issue. Please see: viewtopic.php?t=158230

Is a Transparent Terminal possible like on ubuntu?

New to Debian (Or Linux in general)? Ask your questions here!
r4son

Is a Transparent Terminal possible like on ubuntu?

#1 Post by r4son »

Hellow guys, :D I'm pretty new to everything I just like to mess around now. I'm still in my learning phase.
I wanted to ask if it is possible to somehow make Debian 9 Terminal transparent like on ubuntu? and thank you for your help :)
I kinda don't find it :c
PS.: Can I move the Minimize, Maximize, Exit buttons to the left? xd Sorry I'm really bad at things and google doesn't want to be my friend today.

bw123

Re: Is a Transparent Terminal possible like on ubuntu?

#2 Post by bw123 »

yes on the transpareny, not sure on the window settings, but probably. Depends what the desktop environment / window manager is.
resigned by AI ChatGPT

MALsPa

#3 Post by MALsPa »

Hm: https://bugs.debian.org/cgi-bin/bugrepo ... bug=763383

I don't think Debian has the patch that's mentioned, still.

And, see: https://wiki.gnome.org/Apps/Terminal/FA ... sparent.3F

I haven't tried any of that myself, so I have no transparency in gnome-terminal in Debian (I can live without it). Terminator is an option; transparency works fine with that one.

r4son

#4 Post by r4son »

bw123 wrote:yes on the transpareny, not sure on the window settings, but probably. Depends what the desktop environment / window manager is.
Gnome 3. GDM and gnome-terminal --> 3.22.2

r4son

#5 Post by r4son »

MALsPa wrote:Hm: https://bugs.debian.org/cgi-bin/bugrepo ... bug=763383

I don't think Debian has the patch that's mentioned, still.

And, see: https://wiki.gnome.org/Apps/Terminal/FA ... sparent.3F