[SOLVED] Missing 'updatedb'

New to Debian (Or Linux in general)? Ask your questions here!

[SOLVED] Missing 'updatedb'

Postby banderas20 » 2018-07-01 11:12

Hello.

I am running Debian 9 and I try to issue '
Code: Select all
updatedb
' command.

It says:
Code: Select all
command not found
.

¿How can that be? ¿Such a basic command?

I can't event install it via apt-get install...

Thanks and regards.
Last edited by banderas20 on 2018-07-01 16:01, edited 1 time in total.
banderas20
 
Posts: 107
Joined: 2016-11-10 15:30

Re: Missing 'updatedb'

Postby Head_on_a_Stick » 2018-07-01 12:06

banderas20 wrote:I try to issue '
Code: Select all
updatedb
' command.

It says:
Code: Select all
command not found
.

¿How can that be? ¿Such a basic command?

What does this mysterious command actually do?

In which distribution did this command work for you?

There is no updatedb executable in the Debian package repositories (AFAICT):

https://packages.debian.org/search?sear ... e&arch=any
User avatar
Head_on_a_Stick
 
Posts: 7906
Joined: 2014-06-01 17:46
Location: /dev/chair

Re: Missing 'updatedb'

Postby arochester » 2018-07-01 12:48

Have you installed the package "locate"?

Synaptic says of locate
maintain and query an index of a directory tree

updatedb generates an index of files and directories. GNU locate can be used
to quickly query this index.


In Synaptic click on "Get Screenshot"
You will see the command
Code: Select all
sudo updatedb

Then
Code: Select all
locate kate
arochester
 
Posts: 1312
Joined: 2010-12-07 19:55

Re: Missing 'updatedb'

Postby dilberts_left_nut » 2018-07-01 13:00

AdrianTM wrote:There's no hacker in my grandma...
User avatar
dilberts_left_nut
 
Posts: 4869
Joined: 2009-10-05 07:54
Location: enzed

Re: Missing 'updatedb'

Postby banderas20 » 2018-07-01 16:00

arochester wrote:Have you installed the package "locate"?

Synaptic says of locate
maintain and query an index of a directory tree

updatedb generates an index of files and directories. GNU locate can be used
to quickly query this index.


In Synaptic click on "Get Screenshot"
You will see the command
Code: Select all
sudo updatedb

Then
Code: Select all
locate kate


Installing "locate" did the trick. Thanks you so much! :D
banderas20
 
Posts: 107
Joined: 2016-11-10 15:30


Return to Beginners Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests

fashionable