Scheduled Maintenance: We are aware of an issue with Google, AOL, and Yahoo services as email providers which are blocking new registrations. We are trying to fix the issue and we have several internal and external support tickets in process to resolve the issue. Please see: viewtopic.php?t=158230

Best Laptop for Debian

New to Debian (Or Linux in general)? Ask your questions here!
nemanja

Best Laptop for Debian

#1 Post by nemanja »

Hi everyone,

I am new to Debian, and would like to buy a new laptop which I will be using on Debian. Does anyone has a suggestion on which laptop is the best choice, in terms of hardware compatibility with Debian?

Thanks!

Nemanja

Segfault

Re: Best Laptop for Debian

#2 Post by Segfault »

New or refurbished?
In what part of world? There may be different suggestions for Namibia, Finland or Japan. Etc. In some countries you may want a bulletproof version for instance.

nemanja

#3 Post by nemanja »

Didn't understand you well. Few years ago, a friend of mine told me that there was one great laptop for Debian on the market, and they were fully compatible. I am wondering if there is something similar today as well, new of course.

PS I am living in Switzerland.

stevepusser

#4 Post by stevepusser »

What sort of price are you thinking of?

Also, what is your intended use of the laptop? Light Web browsing and email, or gaming, or school and programming, can require different hardware.

Do you need to keep Windows on it?

How long do you need the battery to last?

How heavy can it be?

Do you need an optical drive?

Do you do graphics work and need a really color-accurate screen?
MX Linux packager and developer

stevepusser

#5 Post by stevepusser »

nemanja wrote:Didn't understand you well. Few years ago, a friend of mine told me that there was one great laptop for Debian on the market, and they were fully compatible. I am wondering if there is something similar today as well, new of course.

PS I am living in Switzerland.